We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just like home”
Review of Socrate

Socrate
Ranked #83 of 837 Restaurants in Beirut
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Lebanese, International, Grill
Dining options: Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations, Takeout
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations, Takeout
Beirut, Lebanon
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Just like home”
Reviewed April 1, 2013

Great "home-cooked" lebanese classics. It has become a little pricey in the past couple years, but it's still a reliable meal. Their desserts (cakes especially) are among the better ones in Beirut. We appreciate that they do not overbake their cakes.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank DrMAH2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WassimZe, Owner at Socrate, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Thank you for your kind words.

As for the prices, we truly try to maintain them as affordable as possible.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    28
    18
    3
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stuttgart, Germany
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wow”
Reviewed March 7, 2013

I've been there twice during my vacation and it was best food I've eaten in this two weeks stay in Beirut. Veeeery nice food, fresh and good service! Adorable to recommend :)

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Zatar_w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beirut, Lebanon
Level 6 Contributor
208 reviews
137 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“The taste is getting worse”
Reviewed June 20, 2012

I am a big fan, I live very close by, but some dishes has lost their good taste

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank WissBeirut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beirut, Lebanon
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“The place to go for the real lebanese cuisine”
Reviewed May 6, 2012

With my respect to ALL hotels and restaurants that serves lebanese cuisine, Socrates has the professional lebanese cuisine.
The best caterer in Lebanon.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Rachid H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beirut, Lebanon
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Well known catering”
Reviewed January 25, 2012

Socrates is a catering company having a couple of restaurants in Beirut. It is a nice spot to have a diner with friends in a not expencise setting.

Helpful?
2 Thank Juraj_Beirut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Socrate also viewed

 

Been to Socrate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing