We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Live like a chic local in this amazing city”
Review of Hayete

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hayete
Ranked #7 of 45 Beirut B&B and Inns
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Live like a chic local in this amazing city”
Reviewed August 29, 2011

Great place to stay in one of the nicest neighborhoods of Beirut. Hayete is in a beautiful Beirut apartment building: high ceilings, original floors, decorated brilliantly by the fantastic Swiss owner (check out the photography on the walls). The West room is brilliant - its huge and decorated in a cool mid-century vibe (the furniture was found in antique stores in Syria). Staying at Hayete is a very different Beirut experience - its like having your own little home to come back to at the end of a day in brilliant Beirut. Its not the Four Seasons, and it doesnt pretend to be, but you'll probably find that it is much more special.

The neighborhood has some great restaurants and Germmayze - a strip full of bars and restaurants - is an easy 10 minute walk away. People have mentioned that people dont walk in Beirut and you have to get a taxi everywhere - thats not exactly true but if you do need a taxi the office of a local taxi company is about 50 metres away from Hayete - they always have cars on hand and the rates are cheap.

Stayed February 2011, traveled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank IST-GRU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    10
    4
    0
    3
See reviews for
3
15
8
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2011

This is the kind of place you'll stay if you value authentic experience over identikit luxury hotels. This small guesthouse is situated in the trendy Achrafieh district over a Mexican-Lebanese restaurant (good if you arrive in Beirut late and need a tasty bite to eat) and a 5 min walk from the famous ABC mall. The rooms are quirky and not fussy with lovely mosaic floors and unmatching furniture. Breakfast is traditional Lebanese and served on the balcony.

Downsides are the noise of the road - but that's what you get if you want to be in the thick of it - and not a huge amount of service (because it is a guest house).

All in all a great choice for the more adventerous culture seeker.

  • Stayed March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RachelStLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed March 4, 2011

We were very happy with Hayete.

The location is excellent - in an affluent residential neighbour which is very French, key F&B, night life areas are 10 minutes away on foot. (small city, simple road systems, no one walks so it was very pleasant to walk around Beirut)

The rooms we stayed, both with bathrooms, were nicely decorated, with sufficient space. We love the North Room, plenty of space. The cleaner/housekeeper was very friendly and polite, did a good job at keeping the place clean and tidy. The owner, who we just spoke on the phone the entire time we were there (4, 5 days) was very friendly and pleasant. We didn't mind not meeting the owner in person/ seeing her every night. We just used the apartment like it was our own.

It is quite expensive for the region but I supposed it was the way the owners screen her guests. And, don't forget, it is a posh neighbour. For us, it was perfect, almost...

A few suggestions of improvements -
Breakfast - we enjoyed it very much but just being greedy (and after a few days it did got a bit boring), we thought it would be nice to have more variety of bread.. train the housekeeper to make proper coffee.

Have a hairdryer in each room (instead of 1 to share by 4 rooms)

Double gazed window as the traffic gets a bit noisy early in the morning (drivers are quite quick to horn in Beirut) (though the noise didn't bother us as we were well prepared - we used ear plugs.

Sound proof walls/doors as well if possible? It was nice and quiet when we were there, there was only 1 other guest. but if there were more guests, the place might be a bit crowded and noisy during "peak hours".

We were pleasantly surprised by how lively and fun Beirut was and we would surely go back. And when we do, we will stay at Hayete again (well, maybe not in high season but definitely in low season).

Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank levid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florence, Italy
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 28, 2011

The hotel is nicely located, very close to Place Sassine/ABC Mall. It was very clean and the owner and house keeper were friendly and helpful. There is a fast internet connection included in the rate (which I find expensive). Breakfast is nicely served on the balcony - though last morning we spent there it was heavy raining and cold so the balcony breakfast was a little unpleasant.. I have to say the rooms are nicely furnished but quite small - no tv, no minifridge, no closet, no night table, no night table lamp (if you like to read before sleeping) no decent light in the room. In the common living room there is a nice cage with birds - If your sleep is not very deep, be aware that you will be waked up by the birds very early in the morning. I suggest this place for short stay wth early wake up.

Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank TuristaFa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seattle
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2010

I was shocked to read the reviews and complaints about Hayete. We stayed for one week at the begining of our trip and two days more on our way home. Our trip to Beirut was ENHANCED by our stay at Hayete! The owner met us, talked to us and got a sense of the type of travel we liked to do and made day trip and restaurant recommendations that we would have never found in the guide books.

As for the place itself. This IS NOT A YOUTH HOSTEL! I am so troubled to read this description because if you want a youth hostel you won't find it here. And youth hostel travellers will not want to pay the price. The price is well matched to the accomodations.

Hayete is a lovely 4 room B and B. Key word,"B and B". There is a shared bathroom for two of the rooms. One does need to thus, leave their room to use it. I don't understand why this is seen as a negative. This is very typical!

The common area and surroundings: I will post photos. Beautifully and artfully decorated. Personal touches to the decor.

The birds..........we loved them. They talk to you and chirp away. They are well cared for in a floor to ceiling cage and bring life and a homey feel to the place.

Breakfast: Freshly squeezed orange juice,deliciously strong coffee,fresh traditional arab breads with zatar , cheese and vegetables and yogurt. Delightful, fresh, local!

As to breakfast being "cold". In a B and B with 4 rooms the staff does their best to ask people when they need their breakfast and the warm and sweet caretaker goes to the bakery and serves breakfast for the 4 guests every morning.

We had many lovely mornings and evenings on the balcony and in the internal common area-reading and visiting with other travelers and the owner. The furthest thing from dark and hostel like!

Dirty? One of the things we appreciated was how clean and peaceful the place was! Towels and linens in many hotels these days are not changed everyday in efforts to be more green, not because of poor service. We appreciated this. Of course the caretaker is there every day if one needs more linens, different time for breakfast etc.

All this said, the take away is "B and B".Hayete is a small , intimate guest house run by the owner, who is not Arab,(as one guest complained), but knows Beirut and Lebanon very well and literally changed our trip with the wonderful recommendations she made for us in and outside of the city. The personal touch in staying in this guest house may not suit the traveller who expects clerks behind a desk 24 hours and more traditional chain hotel or 5 star services.

I found the negative reviews so mean spirited. I hope that guests who have the standards for traditional hotels will not stay at Hayete , it's not for you.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank robinSeattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2010

It is so nice to finally have a place to stay in beirut that has personality and charm. The rooms are beautifully decorated – the owner has a great sense for interior design, mixing turn-of-the-century oriental and contemporary design with a light touch. The whole feel of the place is homey and relaxed.
It's lovely to sit on the balcony and have breakfast, or wine in the evening. breakfast ist simple, but great, and again, delivered with a knack for local customs: in which other place would you get fresh manouche, a sort of flat bread filled with herbs and spices, the traditional lebanese breakfast, delivered freshly every morning? Yum! (Oh, and to the reviewers referring to this as "cold pizza": maybe try to be tad more open-minded and culturally aware next time when you travel, will you?).
Booking was easy per email and the owner – who, by the way, is a great conversationalist – went out of her way to make our stay comfortable, providing us with lots of information about where to shop, eat and go out.
If you want to feel comfy and at home, this is the place for you. If you need to be pampered by staff and if your demands are fussy, it's not. It's a guest house, not a hotel, after all – albeit the most charming I've probably been to.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank silviatschui
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2010

I've stayed 3 weeks at the Hayete, while studying a little bit of Arabic in Beirut. While looking for a nice place to stay, I luckily found this charming guesthouse.
I was looking for a place to call „home“ while staying in this big city and the website gave me this impression. That's where it starts.
I am happy I chose the Hayete over the Crowne Plaza, the Casa d'Or, or some midrange hotel in Hamra. I stayed at these places in town, since it's my third time here, but when you wake up in the morning, with the curtains drawn, you might as well be in Singapore, Zurich, Chicago or Shelbina MO ...

I met many guests in this period, all of them happy being here. And it's definitely not a youth hostel. None of the hostels I stayed at, while a bit younger, featured original and beautiful floor tiles, with taste picked furniture and accessoires, privacy and an individual touch.

As of the services, I was very happy about them. The breakfast was always ready, even very early in the morning. (oh, btw, the cold „pizza“ they serve is the local breakfast/snack called manoosh; take it or ask for croissants instead ... I myself enjoyed it. But I am sure some global fast food chain will serve you a global breakfast somewhere in town … for sure the Radisson will.) Also the laundry service was just fine, and the housekeeper is more than happy to give ideas how to move around, get things done, etc. Also she keeps the place tidy and clean just perfect.

Strategically the guesthouse is located nicely near Rue Gourod and Monot, if you look out for restaurants and bars of all kind. If you care, there's a big shopping mall nearby, offering brands you find everywhere around the globe. If you care …
Even the public bus will pick you up just a 5-minute-walk away to take you to Hamra.

I strongly recommend the Hayete to individual travellers who want to remember their stay in this amazing city as a special one. Next I will return, I know where to turn to. This is Beirut.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank beenthereBeirut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Beirut hotels
0.5 mi away
O Monot Luxury Boutique Hotel
0.2 mi away
Sofitel Beirut Le Gabriel
0.9 mi away
The Smallville Hotel
The Smallville Hotel
#8 of 117 in Beirut
528 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Royal Tulip Achrafieh
Royal Tulip Achrafieh
#49 of 117 in Beirut
14 reviews
0.7 mi away
Le Gray Beirut
Le Gray Beirut
#1 of 117 in Beirut
589 reviews
0.5 mi away
Saifi Suites
Saifi Suites
#21 of 117 in Beirut
178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hayete? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hayete

Property: Hayete
Address: Furn El Hayek, Beirut 166206, Lebanon
Location: Lebanon > Beirut
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 45 B&Bs / Inns in Beirut
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hayete 2.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hayete (Arabic for "my life") is a cozy guesthouse situated between the Gemmayze and Ashrafieh areas at the heart of Beirut. It is located in an early 20th-century building, where we offer our visitors a first hand experience of this marvelous city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hayete reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hayete Hotel Beirut

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing