We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lapsed but otherwise the best hotel I have ever stayed @”
Review of Talal Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Talal Hotel
Ranked #9 of 45 Beirut B&B and Inns
bucharest
Level Contributor
44 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“lapsed but otherwise the best hotel I have ever stayed @”
Reviewed April 8, 2014

we had our penthouse with roof terrace, ok no elevator. the owner served tea or coffee the whole day, thus creating a multicultural center. Rooms and bathroom are clean. Between a Syrian refugee, an iranian spy and some Southamericain tourists + the lebanese people spending time there we had a great time and I learned much more about the country than from any guide. It is between port and Gemmayzeh, two interesting areas and close enough to downtown. Hamra and Americain University are an hours walk, but through interesting areas and Beirut is at night as safe as during the day

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank daniellaroumanesc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

145 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    56
    45
    23
    6
    15
See reviews for
9
26
51
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Istanbul
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2014

Excellent helpful staff and great sympathetic owner who would go a lot of extra miles to help customers. Centrally located hostel, and very affordable rates. Family friendly & family atmosphere, felt like I'm staying in my brother's house. Mr. Zaher: God bless you, and Mlhim you areawsome, thank you both for allowing everybody to use the extra clean kitchen. Thumps up.
Susan Selman & Family
USA

Room Tip: great view from third floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dana J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cancun, Mexico
Level Contributor
49 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2014

I stayed at this hotel for 7 nights and it quickly became my home in Beirut. From the first moment we arrived, the staff made us feel safe and welcome, and made sure that we enjoyed our time there. For 20 USD, they can arrange an airport pick up. I highly recommend taking this option because southern Beirut isn’t very safe at the moment and there is no public transportation from the airport, so you’ll end up taking a taxi anyway. The hotel has a great location, just 5 minutes from the really secured downtown area, and right next to the Charles Helou Station. Gemmayzeh Street is also a few steps away. There is a small convenience store right down the street, there are bakeries with delicious local pizzas and coffee one street behind, and ATM’s across the main avenue. The hotel is spread on several levels, each of them interconnected by stairs (no elevator). The reception area is on the second level. On that level there are dorms, a communal kitchen, a balcony where you will often find friendly guests and people enjoying arghila, and a fridge with beverages (including bottles of water) on sale. They also have a washing machine, but we never used it. Our room was located on the 4th level. At first we had booked two beds in a dorm (each for 15 USD), but when we arrived we were offered a private room for a good rate. We took the private room and were extremely happy we did. The room had a small balcony with views of the nearby buildings on one side, and on the other side we could see the port. The room had a decent size, a nice bed with comfortable pillows, a TV with cable (some channels in English and French) and an armoire. We also got two large towels and blankets. On each level there is a clean shared bathroom with hot water at all times. There is really fast Wi-Fi available for a very decent price, especially for Lebanon standards. The best part of staying at Talal was the staff. Wissam is really nice and friendly, and helped us so much by providing a city map, tips on where to eat cheap local food (there is a delicious bakery right around the corner where we had breakfast and dinner several times), and advice on travelling around Lebanon (we did many daytrips from Beirut with his help). For 15 USD he programmed a taxi to the airport on the day of our departure. It is also worth mentioning that my wife had a good time there and always felt comfortable with the staff and other people there. Next time we go to Beirut we will definitely come back to Talal. Thank you very much for everything Wissam!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Daniel A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul, Turkey
Level Contributor
24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed January 10, 2014

It is my home at Beirut. Clean, safe, comfortable, central location, friendship..
To feel Beirut it is the best choice for me. Every hour there is hot water. Comunal kitchen every time clean. And you can make arabic cafe and tea. I recommend.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tulaykaracaorenli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ulm, Germany
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed December 30, 2013

A very good and cozy place with nice rooms and clean bathrooms. The staff is superfriendly and helpful and will answer any question you have...
You can use the very clean and neat kitchen for cooking.
And for all the girls and women travelling in Lebanon> Talalhotel is a safe place for you! Go for it and enjoy Beirut!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bernadette-Rollmops1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 11, 2013

cheap price, but not cheap sevice, all the staff there are nice and friendly, the room is clean and calm, and the owner will give you valuable suggestions for your journey,anyhow, i love it so so so much!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rena S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Noisy-le-Sec, France
1 review
Reviewed November 14, 2013

very cheap hostel and professional as well as very friendly staff, very clean, lowest price but quality service, they can even call the taxi for you at a lower price or give you advice to avoid costly tour operators

Room Tip: de préférénce chambre au rez de chaussé (pas de bruit de circtulation)
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank zaimou93130
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Beirut hotels
2.6 mi away
Embassy Hotel Lebanon
Embassy Hotel Lebanon
#102 of 117 in Beirut
3.0 of 5 bubbles 115 reviews
1.1 mi away
Le Gray Beirut
Le Gray Beirut
#2 of 117 in Beirut
4.5 of 5 bubbles 574 reviews
1.9 mi away
Radisson Blu Martinez Hotel, Beirut
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Coral Beirut Al Hamra Hotel
1.8 mi away
Phoenicia Hotel
Phoenicia Hotel
#3 of 117 in Beirut
4.5 of 5 bubbles 708 reviews
2.6 mi away
The Mayflower Hotel
The Mayflower Hotel
#37 of 117 in Beirut
3.5 of 5 bubbles 304 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Talal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Talal Hotel

Property: Talal Hotel
Address: Ave Charles Helou | Gemmayzeh, Beirut, Lebanon
Location: Lebanon > Beirut
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 45 B&Bs / Inns in Beirut
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Talal Hotel 1*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline and Expedia so you can book your Talal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing