We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Value in Expensive Beirut!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Talal Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Talal Hotel
Ranked #7 of 45 Beirut B&B and Inns
Cairo, Egypt
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Excellent Value in Expensive Beirut!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2013

Beirut is not the cheapest city to visit, but Talals made it so good value, not just in terms or room prices, but the rooms were air conditioned,(godsend in times of a Lebanese Summer) and hot water was available too!
The kitchen is a good place to do self catering and Gemmayzeh is good for food and clubbing options.
Best was the staff (I dunno whether it was Talal himself) who gave great and precise intructions for visiting all the nice places in Lebanon, even Baalbeck cheaply by public transport.

Room Tip: Be nice to Talal, haha
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KennethSeah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

143 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    56
    44
    23
    6
    14
See reviews for
9
26
49
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Tours, France
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2013

My friend and me have slept five nights in Talal Hotel.
The decoration is overlooked but the rooms are definitely clean.
The service is very good, people here are very helpful and smily.
The hotel is located along a kind of highway which leads to the very Center (just few minutes away by a "service car", and more than ten minutes by foot)
If you are used to Palace hotels (with pool and gilded moldings), you'll be probably disturbed by the ambiance inside ; otherwise, you will appreciate the place and the price.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sylvainvain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town, South Africa
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2013

My girlfriends and I stayed at Talal Hotel for 3 nights. Over this time, we really felt like Talal's was our home away from home. The staff were incredibly accommodating, providing us with everything we needed and going the extra mile for us. (One of them fixed my heel when it broke, and the manager helped me to locate my lost wallet which had been floating around Beirut somewhere!) We loved staying in the room with the little balcony, where we spent mornings chatting and drinking coffee before walking into the neighbourhood next-door, Gemaiyzah. Thank you to the management and the housekeeping staff for your hospitality and graciousness. We will be back!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hannah M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2013

We have rarely seen such a cute and nice hostel. The staff is extremely helpful and courteous. If one turns with a request or question to the staff, they always try to make everything possible. We have witnessed something so rare in this form worldwide. The standard of the rooms is the price reasonable. The location between the port, the shopping area and bus station is perfect. Special Tip: the double room with twin beds has a huge rooftop balcony with a wonderful sea view.

Kind regards from germany: Stefan and Martin

Room Tip: Special Tip: the double room with twin beds has a huge rooftop balcony with a wonderful sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Martin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oran, Algeria
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 6, 2013

i booked only three days at first but once at hotel talal i changed my mind to stay more for the service given by melhem and welcomed nicely and friendly from zaher who guided me at every travel . Actually nothing more to add but just say thanks for all what u did
i promise next year inchallah i 'll come back and will tell my coleagues to book at talal


good luck

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank noria408
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
38 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2013 via mobile

This is a no-frills basic hostel. We were in a private double which had a little ensuite. The shower was good and the quality of the towels was excellent. The beds are extremely firm and our room was really noisy - but Beirut is noisy! However, if you are on a tight budget this would be perfect - the staff were very polite and friendly and the location is excellent. It is almost a shame that they don't do up a couple of the rooms and charge more!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cbego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beirut
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2013

I came to Beirut in August 2012 to study. My plan was to spend a few days at Talal and then rent a flat. But now it is March 2013 and since then I'm at Talal; live here.
There's nothing more to say...
Just 5 minutes to Gemmayzeh, 5 minutes to Downtown, 3 minutes to Charles Helou bus station (where you can take buses to Byblos, Jounieh, Tripoli and Syria)...
You can use the kitchen... (well, if you're in Lebanon go and taste the traditional food, don't spend time on cooking)
The owners are so friendly and helpful. You can get all tips about Lebanon; where to go, how to go *in the cheapest and easiest way*
It feels like home.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chaalar J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Beirut hotels
1.7 mi away
Embassy Hotel Lebanon
Embassy Hotel Lebanon
#103 of 119 in Beirut
3.0 of 5 bubbles 113 reviews
0.3 mi away
Le Gray Beirut
Le Gray Beirut
#1 of 119 in Beirut
4.5 of 5 bubbles 559 reviews
1.0 mi away
Phoenicia Hotel
Phoenicia Hotel
#3 of 119 in Beirut
4.5 of 5 bubbles 683 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Radisson Blu Martinez Hotel, Beirut
1.8 mi away
The Mayflower Hotel
The Mayflower Hotel
#43 of 119 in Beirut
3.5 of 5 bubbles 290 reviews
1.8 mi away
Coral Beirut Al Hamra Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Talal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Talal Hotel

Property: Talal Hotel
Address: Ave Charles Helou | Gemmayzeh, Beirut, Lebanon
Location: Lebanon > Beirut
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 45 B&Bs / Inns in Beirut
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Talal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing