We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Mozart Hotel
Ranked #18 of 46 Beirut B&B and Inns
Reviewed June 22, 2011

I stayed here during a ten-day visit to Lebanon in May/June 2011 - the first night as part of an organised tour for eight people, then again solo for three nights at the end of the trip. The hotel is pretty well located just off the western end of Hamra Street, so it's only a ten-minute walk to shops and restaurants. Ten minutes in the other direction is the Corniche. To go Downtown or to the National Museum (the only other areas of Beirut most tourists are likely to visit) you would need a taxi (and you should negotiate the price before setting off - don't pay more than half the original asking price).

The hotel is very average. The area immediately around it is a bit rough and ready (but perfectly safe), and there's noise at night - Beirut is a busy city which goes on late. There's air conditioning and a TV in the rooms, but otherwise no real add-ons that I noticed. Bedrooms and bathrooms could do with sprucing up a bit. There's adequate hot water. One day my room wasn't made up - no idea why not.

Breakfast is adequate without being luxurious. It doesn't get going till after 7 a.m., and there doesn't seem to be any alternative if (like me) you want an early start to travel any distance.

Contrary to what some other reviewers have said, I found the staff helpful enough - like anywhere else in the world in my experience, if you're pleasant to them, they're pleasant to you, and they will give you additional info. if you ask. They will allocate your taxi journey to known contacts, and you shouldn't pay more than $25, but there's no need to tip on top of that.

The things that surprised me more than anything was the price. The turn-up price for rooms with breakfast was approx. $105 double, $70 single. If you can get it cheaper, you should - it simply not worth these prices, and although I didn't shop around, I would be amazed if you couldn't get better value for money in nearby hotels.

So as I say, it's OK, but nothing special, and definitely overpriced.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PurpleHankyMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (39)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

21 - 27 of 39 reviews

Reviewed January 28, 2011

It's a place where u can only use for a sleep nothing else ,Showers are dirty ,Rooms has strange smell ,No Vallet ,Receptionist is kind guy who is trying to help .

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank The_Zawati
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 15, 2010

Hotel is in a good location in Hamra, 10 minutes walk from the Corniche, however, it is 20 minutes by taxi from downtown. Lots of construction going on, so you cannot get a proper night's sleep. Front desk service is surly and they are after your money all the time. Stayed here on my last night in Lebanon. Having been to 80 countries I was dismayed with the constant efforts of the front desk staff to make a fast buck. They try to charge US$35 for a taxi to the airport - on the street the rate is $15-20 - if you insist they drop the price to $25 - I am fine with paying a bit of a premium when booking through the hotel desk. Any time you deal with money at the front desk they gave me (and every other group member complained too) incorrect change and you have to argue before getting your money back.

  • Stayed: December 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank marientoronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2010

I stayed at the Mozart last week, on a weekend break, all arranged by a tour operator from the UK. The only plus was the location, at one end of a very busy street so we found a few places to eat. My bathroom ceiling was a piece of modern art with all the flaking paint,but the major minus was the 5am wake up call, which came for none of the group. Of course the man at the front desk said he had placed the calls, but none of us received one. My Arabic is limited to Good Morning and Thank You,but working in a hotel one needs to know that 'Give me your passport' does not work as well as 'May I have your passport', even without the 'Please'. Don't expect much, because you are not going to get it.

  • Stayed: November 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank butler69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2010

Good location - rooms ok.
Service extremely arrogant: the receptionist on duty wanted only to change our foreign currency and once he found out it would not be the case we did not exist any more. We had 2 rooms, 1 in front of lift when I asked if it was possible to change he started yelling at me in Arab, to the point that the other staff went outside, and he showed me to clear the area. As there was a little misunderstanding with the booking we needed 1 night extra, he said no problem and a price was agreed. Next morning I had to contact the reception, here I found out that the hotel was fully booked and we had to leave the rooms.
Breakfast service is next to nothing. Changing the male receptionist is a question of survival of this hotel. As a crew member since 20 years I never have been treated like this and would prevent humanity of this type of persons. I will follow up and post a new comment when this person is fired. Have a nice trip to Beirut.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LudwigPortugal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2010

It is not easy to find a decent hotel around Al Hamra street, they are either overpriced for what they offer or completely dissapointing. The rooms in this hotel are larger than average, though the service leaves much to be desired, they won't really care about you, be careful when asking them for taxis because they have a driver who charges you twice the regular rate. Also on my last day something happened in the bathroom and my room was flooded with water. They did not change it but just wiped it clean saying that there is no use moving me to another room since I was leaving the next day...

The breakfast is ok too. Overall for a short stay i would recommend it.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ami_travels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: La 302 rumorosa, vecchia e malfunzionante
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank LUNA L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Beirut hotels
0.3 mi away
Embassy Hotel Lebanon
Embassy Hotel Lebanon
#100 of 114 in Beirut
116 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Mayflower Hotel
The Mayflower Hotel
#42 of 114 in Beirut
331 reviews
0.2 mi away
Napoleon Hotel
Napoleon Hotel
#102 of 114 in Beirut
121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
City Suite Hotel
City Suite Hotel
#59 of 114 in Beirut
169 reviews
0.3 mi away
Coral Beirut Al Hamra Hotel
0.4 mi away
Bella Riva
Bella Riva
#52 of 114 in Beirut
86 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mozart Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mozart Hotel

Address: Beirut, Hamra, Sadat Street Intersection, Beirut, Lebanon
Location: Lebanon > Beirut
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 46 B&Bs / Inns in Beirut
Price Range: $48 - $68 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Mozart Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mozart Hotel is a 3 star bed and breakfast, offering a comfortable, affordable, stay in central Beirut with true Lebanese hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Mozart Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing