We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfectly fine”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ramada Beirut Downtown
Ranked #20 of 116 Hotels in Beirut
Certificate of Excellence
Nicosia, Cyprus
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Perfectly fine”
Reviewed November 4, 2010

First of all, my travel agent got me a very good deal, so my stay was off to a very good start, and it basically stayed that way.
The room was good, and nothing was wrong with it. Maybe an overall deep clean would not go amiss, but that's the case in most hotels I stayed in. But everything worked, and it was a comfortable room with a nice bed. The photos on the site of the hotel are exactly what you get, by the way! No misleading elements anywhere.
Breakfast is very good, very friendly people serving, and the time slot for breakfast is very big: 6:30 to 10:30, I believe. Very convenient.
The location is pretty OK, in the middle between Hamra and the CBD, everything within walking distance (10 minutes or so). I can't say much about the facilities like bar, swimming pool and so on, the top bar is supposed to be nice but I was out and about my whole stay.
As for construction works: yes, they are working next door, both sides actually, starting at 7 am every day (incl Fri-Sat-Sun). But the noise is not terrible, and if you had a party night, you'll probably sleep straight through it, and if not, well, you should be out to enjoy this beautiful city anyway! (People on business trip will be up by then, I reckon.)
I do have to say that some people working at the checkin were either a bit curt or disorganised. I had to book my taxi to the airport three times. But in general, people were friendly.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yahoodingen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ramadadowntown, General Manager at Ramada Beirut Downtown, responded to this review, November 11, 2010
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience on Trip Advisor with regards to your stay at Ramada Downtown Beirut. I am glad to note that you enjoyed your stay with us and was satisfied from our Staff and Services.

Again, thank you for recommending our property on Trip Advisor and I look forward to welcoming you back.
Kind Regards
Yasmine Maalouf -General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

298 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    105
    125
    46
    15
    7
See reviews for
28
53
40
106
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Camberley, Surrey
Level 6 Contributor
192 reviews
101 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 211 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2010

Stayed 2 nights here in October 2010. Firstly, the staff were all very helpful and very friendly and I cannot fault them. However, the location of the hotel is in the middle of several massive construction sites surrounding the place. Access to the hotel is very poor and limited. The construction starts around secen AM and ends around 7.30pm. DO NOT EXPECT TO HAVE A LONG LIE IN THE MORNING OR SIT ON THE BALCONY IN THE EARLY EVENING!!! As for the rest, the room was roughly what you would expect although the balcony door would not lock, the toilet had leaked and was constantly flooded around it, several lights, including the balcony did not work, the shower was rubbish going from too hot to cold constantly and on my last morning at the hotel, the bathroom was entirely flooded by some leak from some rooms above. All in all, nice hotel but as so often in Lebanon, they just haven't got it sorted properly!!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Craigie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ramadadowntown, General Manager at Ramada Beirut Downtown, responded to this review, March 18, 2011
Dear Guest,

First, I would like to apologize for the delay of our answer, we usually thank all our guests who post their comments on Trip Advsior. We are sorry but it seems we did not see yours earlier.

I am happy to notice that you were satisfied from our Staff Service. All your comments regarding the room, the balcony door , the toilet leaks, lights, and shower water temperature were forwarded to the concerned departments for their immediate actions and improvement.

As for the noise, we have finalized our double glazed project in all rooms in December 2010, which decrease the noise to 70% from outside. And indeed for the location, we are working on it and we do hope to receive soon the authorization to place some signage to have access to the Hotel.

I hope this will not refrain you from coming back and we all look forward to welcoming you again to the Ramada Downtown assuring you of our best care and quality services.

If I can be of assistance to you, don't hesitate to contact me directly

Best regards

Yasmine Maalouf
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riyadh, Saudi Arabia
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2010

This hotel is in downtown Beirut. There is a lot of constuction around but if you are out all day touring as I was you will barely notice. It was a convenient walk to many great stores, restaurants and placs of historical interest. Vestiges of the war are still apparent in downtown Beirut but I felt perfectly safe. The hotel staff was very friendly and very helpful. I could see the harbor from outside my window. I would recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Lebanon and Beirut in particular.

Christine

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cyoung0329
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2010

As others have said, it is surrounded by construction so can't recommend if you intend to spend much time in your room during the day. However, for business travelelrs or tourists out and about this is a good find. It does have a boutique feel in the public areas with a good bar/lounge. The rooms are well equipped (although only a shower in my room). Free wifi throughout is always welcome. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gary11110
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, CA
Level 6 Contributor
121 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 197 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2010

While I would not go so far as the previous reviewer, who described this as a "boutique hotel," I do agree that it's a pleasant place with a nice staff. And it has a decent, central location in Beirut--the immediate areas is kind of sterile with few shops or restaurants, but perhaps a 10 minute walk away from such features and from the sea. The room was fine, though nothing special. Some cheesy music playing in the hallways, but you couldn't hear it in the room. Decent breakfast buffet.

The place is literally surrounded by construction sites, however. While I was there, they did not seem very active, so I can't say that I was bothered much--perhaps because part of the time I was outside of the room during the day, at meetings. But they could be a problem for other visitors.

More generally, for folks like me who had not been to Beirut before, the positive side of all the construction is that it's incredible how the city is being rebuilt after years of fighting. And there are many pleasant, beautiful and fun aspects to the town. I just hope it can remain free of further combat in the future.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Southside
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ramadadowntown, General Manager at Ramada Beirut Downtown, responded to this review, August 21, 2010
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience on Trip Advisor with regards to your stay at Ramada Downtown Beirut. I am glad to note that you enjoyed your stay with us and was satisfied from our Staff.
Thank you once again for recommending our property on Trip Advisor and I look forward to welcoming you back.
Kind RegardsYasmine Maalouf
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
1 review
Reviewed March 27, 2010

I am a Canadian traveler and been at the Ramada Downtown Beirut for about 7 weeks now. When I first arrived, I was surprised the find that the hotel was not your typical, utilitarian business traveler Ramada. Instead, I found a boutque hotel with modern designs and furnishings.

The staff are SUPER nice and accomodating, I can't say enough about that. The front desk staff are extremely helpful and pleasant, as are the bar staff, and the same can be said of the roomservice. My room is comfortable and modern with free wifi.

The location is very strategic, in the heart of the downtown, just a five minute walk from trendy and authentic restaurants, first-class shopping, and the Jimmaizeh club disrict.

All in all, my experience at the Ramada has been an extremely pleasant and comfortable one. Everyone remembers your name and are genuinely happy that you're there. I would recommend the hotel to anyone planning on visiting Beirut for business or pleasure, and I plan to come back whenever I'm in town.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank karabia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 6 Contributor
344 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed February 27, 2010

I stayed for 2 nights at the Ramada this week. I thought the attention and friendliness of the staff was really good and I enjoyed my stay. I arrived quite late at night and requested an iron and ironing board - it arrived within 5 minutes. I was busy busy and on both nights I ate at the hotel restaurant . . .Confit du Canard on the first night, and Confit du Canard on the 2nd night because the Confit du Canard was so nice the first time. They arranged my taxi transfers from the airport (15 mins).

If there was one downside, it is that there is a lot of new construction going on in Beirut including the close vicinity of the hotel. It didn't bother me because I was in meetings all day and the work had finished when I got back . . .it could bother someone wanting just to relax.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank africantravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Beirut hotels
0.4 mi away
Radisson Blu Martinez Hotel, Beirut
1.7 mi away
Ramada Plaza Beirut Raouche
1.0 mi away
Midtown Hotel and Suites
Midtown Hotel and Suites
#21 of 116 in Beirut
230 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Markazia Suites
Markazia Suites
#26 of 116 in Beirut
97 reviews
1.2 mi away
Coral Beirut Al Hamra Hotel
1.1 mi away
Le Bristol Beyrouth
Le Bristol Beyrouth
#6 of 116 in Beirut
153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ramada Beirut Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramada Beirut Downtown

Property: Ramada Beirut Downtown
Address: Mina El Hosn Chateaubriand Street, Beirut, Lebanon
Phone Number:
Location: Lebanon > Beirut
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#14 Romantic Hotel in Beirut
#20 Luxury Hotel in Beirut
#29 Business Hotel in Beirut
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Ramada Beirut Downtown 4*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located in the heart of Solidere Area, 15 minutes’ drive from Beirut International airport and within a walking distance from the commercial and financial district of the Downtown Area, Ramada Downtown Beirut is the perfect location to fulfill all your needs. If you are visiting for business, the property is close to the main banking districts, the major exhibition ground BIEL, and all main corporations. If you are on medical tourism then you are in few minutes distance to the city’s major hospitals and clinics such as AUBMC, CMC, Najjar and Trad. For the holidays, the hotel is a perfect location close to all shopping stores, restaurants, night clubs, and kids attraction such as the famous “kidzmundo” Main areas Hamra, Gemayzeh or Achrafieh are all located within 10 to 15 minutes from the Hotel. Ramada Beirut Downtown has 99 rooms and suites well-furnished to assure you the quality of services and hospitality on which we have built our good reputation. Two restaurants & one in-room dining facility are available including the Terrace, to welcome you in a well-designed venue offering a delightful fusion of continental and traditional buffet breakfast,a la carte lunch and dinner or for a simple drinks. With its 3 meeting rooms, Ramada Beirut Downtown welcomes small to medium types of events. The hotel offers 24 hours business and leisure assistance, high speed WIFI internet access in rooms and public areas, modern amenities and thoughtful personal touches to help you relax during your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ramada Beirut Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Beirut Downtown Hotel Beirut

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing