We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“No frills, good for a short stay” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ibis Salmiya

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Ibis Salmiya
Ranked #14 of 69 Hotels in Kuwait City
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
165 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“No frills, good for a short stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2013 via mobile

If you are on business and are looking for clean, relative quality, free Internet plus a good breakfast look no further. Kuwait is a small country, therefore navigation if easy from this location. The staff are good, provide a good service just what a business person requires. Beware, this is not a vacation location, nor a vacation hotel!

Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Winstone7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ibissalmiya1, Manager at Ibis Salmiya, responded to this review, April 7, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for the comment posted on Tripadvisor website.

It is truly appreciated.

We all look forward to welcome you again in near future.

Yours sincerely

Bruno Debray
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

434 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    91
    232
    86
    15
    10
See reviews for
27
21
85
288
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2013

This is probably one of the worst hotels I've ever stayed at, especially considering how much it charges. The rooms are small, and the washrooms are even smaller. Lighting is too dim. And because they are smoking rooms and the windows are forever sealed, the room was very very smelly. What's worse, the walls are too thin and you can hear your neighbours all night. Location is good. When I got there I realised that I didn't get my travel plug so I called the lobby and asked for a plug. They said they didn't have one, which was shocking (first time I've heard of a hotel not having a travel plug). They then sent me something entirely different and useless. When I told the man who delivered it he said that's all theyve got, and that if I can make do with it great, if not then there's nothing they could do (!!). I called the lobby again and told them to arrange it or I'd have to leave the hotel early since I can't do without charging my phone. Five minutes later he someone else was sent with the right plug that had a "front desk" sticker on it. Don't stay at this horrible hotel.

Room Tip: Stay in a non-smoking room, even if you're a smoker
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Abbas62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ibissalmiya1, Manager at Ibis Salmiya, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback posted on Tripadvisor website.

I have taken note of all the points you mentioned in it.

Please accept my apologies for the misunderstanding with regard to the adaptor you requested.

Nevertheless, we look forward to have the opportunity to welcome you again.

Do not hesitate to contact me should you need any assistance prior to your visit.

Yours sincerely

Bruno Debray
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2013

We booked the hotel from Canada and stayed for a week for a family visit. After a long trip, we were warmly welcomed at the hotel by highly professional staff. The reception was excellent and the evening meal at the hotel restaurant was perfect.
The room was comfortable, clean with a view of the Gulf.
The hotel location is right at the city centre, the service was excellent, and the staff was very friendly and helpful.
The morning breakfast was included and we enjoyed it very much.
We felt secure at the hotel and had great value for a very reasonable price.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
1 Thank Safe_Trip777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ibissalmiya1, Manager at Ibis Salmiya, responded to this review, March 24, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you so very much for your comment posted on Tripadvisor website.

It is truly appreciated.

We all look forward welcoming you again in a not too distant future.

Yours sincerely

Bruno Debray
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Al Muharraq, Bahrain
Level Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2013

This is not my first stay at ibisb salmiya I am very frequent, but this time I have noticed that I have been facing the same problem every time. The front desk always has one person assisting people to check in and are very slow at doing that. It may take me up to 20 -30 mins to check in and out sometimes and I find it ridiculous . why aren’t both desk available to assist travellers ? why arnt the staff quick in processing ? and whats up with the attitude ?!

One more thing , I do understand the rules and regulations of Kuwait regarding the need to provide a marriage certificate but since I come here every time I should have a record that has the certificate saved !, the manager who was Egyptian who I suggested this too gave me attitude and while processing our check in he was occupied with another traveller behind us.

I do not understand the front desk ! since everything about the hotel is pleasant why would the hotel ruin it with this !

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hala89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ibissalmiya1, Manager at Ibis Salmiya, responded to this review, March 23, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comment posted on Tripadvisor website.

As mentioned to you earlier, we do respect and follow the State of Kuwait rules and regulations by all means.

However we do apologize for any inconvenience caused during your check in.

We all look forward to welcome you again soon.

Yours sincerely

Bruno Debray
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horsham
Level Contributor
75 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013

The hotel is in a good location with shops, restaurants and coffee bars all around you. Short walk to the water front and just a little further to the marina mall.

Staff were polite and friendly. I was given a sea view room. It was clean, well maintained with complementary tea/coffee and small bottle of water. A reasonable size with en suite featuring a shower (no bath) and a comfortable double bed. Free wifi throughout the hotel. Nice lounge area on the check in level and good security with access by key card to the rooms.

This hotel is great value for money and highly recommended going by my experience during this visit.

Room Tip: Try and get a sea view room. Be aware there is noise from the roads on the weekends (friday and satu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank horshamsussex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ibissalmiya1, Manager at Ibis Salmiya, responded to this review, March 16, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your positive comment posted on Tripadvisor website.

It is tryly appreciated.

We all look forward welcoming you again soon.

Yours sincerely

Bruno Debray
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doha, Qatar
Level Contributor
114 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2013

Typical well-run Ibis Hotel inside, quiet, smooth, clean, efficient, well-maintained. They carried through on their 15-minute promise: fixed a non-working coffeepot, cheerfully no problem. Yes, the rooms are small, but just fine for a couple, and very efficiently and pleasantly designed. We had a great ocean view. The location is great for shopping and walk on the Corniche, and people-watching.
Breakfast was extra, but worth the price, fresh quality breads and hot dishes, friendly good service with lots of choices for seating -- sunny or dark, quiet or talkative, small table large table, couches, etc. Only quibble -- lack of signage at ground level: the lobby is on the 3rd floor, but that's not obvious at the groundlevel entrance. When driving there, GoogleMaps showed 2 locations--we picked the wrong site, and spent 30 minutes looking for it -- when I reported it to the desk clerk, he snappily replied "I'll report that to our I.T. staff right away sir." That is service. Parking is difficult--4 spots outside, and a mysterious valet parking system below. The Ibis website is vague about parking; but otherwise an excellent experience.

Room Tip: Ask for an ocean view
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeffrey T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ibissalmiya1, Manager at Ibis Salmiya, responded to this review, March 8, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for the positive and constructive comment posted on Tripadvisor website.

It is truly appreciated.

We all look very much forward to welcome you again soon.

Yours sincerely

Bruno Debray
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California, USA
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2013

This hotel is located in good location, close to shops, restaurants and a fairly big grocery store. The front desk personal are very courteous and helpful, especially Mary.
The hotel is clean as soon as you enter and so are the staff. The breakfast menu is impressive and food is warm and fresh. The beds are comfortable especially when you have traveled from the U.S.
I enjoyed my stay and will definitely stay there again even though cheaper hotels are around the corner.
I.A.N.
San Francisco, California

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bg777pilot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ibissalmiya1, Manager at Ibis Salmiya, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you so very much for the comment posted on Tripadvisor website.

I am pleased to hear that you have liked our new "sweet-bed" which has been introduced accross the brand in 2013.

We all look forward to welcoming you again in near future.

Yours sincerely

Bruno Debray
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kuwait City hotels
5.5 mi away
Ibis Sharq Kuwait
Ibis Sharq Kuwait
#11 of 69 in Kuwait City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 318 reviews
4.4 mi away
Mirage Suites
Mirage Suites
#31 of 69 in Kuwait City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 17 reviews
2.9 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Kuwait
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.8 mi away
Movenpick Hotel Kuwait
Movenpick Hotel Kuwait
#8 of 69 in Kuwait City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 553 reviews
1.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Salmiya
BEST WESTERN PLUS Salmiya
#5 of 13 in Salmiyah
4.0 of 5 bubbles 30 reviews
5.1 mi away
Jumeirah Messilah Beach Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis Salmiya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Salmiya

Property: Ibis Salmiya
Address: Salem Al Mubarak Street | Salmiya, Kuwait City 24755, Kuwait
Phone Number:
Location: Kuwait > Kuwait City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Kuwait City
#13 Business Hotel in Kuwait City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Ibis Salmiya 3*
Number of rooms: 175
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ibis Salmiya is located in Kuwait's fashionable Salmiya, overlooking the seafront. Perfectly located close to the heart of the business area on Salem Mubarak street, the most famous and lively shopping and entertainment center. It has 175 airconditionedrooms, interactive TV, Wifi Internet, one restaurant and BBQ terrace, and one bar open 24/7.- Free WiFi, Free Coffee & Tea making facilities and Mini-fridge in every room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, ACCOR, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Booking.com so you can book your Ibis Salmiya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis Salmiya Hotel Kuwait City
Ibis Kuwait City
Accor Kuwait City
Ibis Salmiya Kuwait/Kuwait City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing