We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would go back”
Review of Ibis Salmiya

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Ibis Salmiya
Ranked #16 of 72 Hotels in Kuwait City
Reviewed January 19, 2013

I stayed at the Ibis in September 2012 and again in January 2013. The hotel has friendly staff, who are really keen to assist in any way to make your stay more comfortable.

The rooms are a perfect size, comfortable beds although the pillows are a bit crap and unsubstantial. The bedsheets are very clean and crisp but the additional blanket was really old and knobbly, could be looked after a bit better. There is also a choice of a smoking or non-smoking room.

I remembered their food being much better in September. this past visit the breakfast was disappointing, I usually only have 2 small croissants and a cup of tea. The croissants were bone dry and hard as they had been in the warmer too long. I loved their Margharita pizza in September, but when I ordered it this time it was tasteless as was the salad dressing on the greek salad. You actually have to go down to the 3rd floor and get your food as there is no room service (reduces costs I guess), but not a huge inconvenience.

I love that the hotel has wifi all over (great when you are a traveller). The access card system makes the hotel feel safe and secure. It is also in a great location, next to a 24 hour supermarket and two shopping centres opposite, and loads of shops and restaurants on the same side.

Room Tip: Sea view is best! Ask for a non-adjoining room otherwise you may get woken up at 6am by people in th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mushie78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ibissalmiya1, Manager at Ibis Salmiya, responded to this reviewResponded January 22, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for the positive and constructive comment posted on Tripadvisor website.

It is appreciated and it will be shared with the team.

I have taken the point with regard to breakfast and food in general which will be addressed accordingly.

Looking forward to welcome you again soon.

Yours sincerely


Bruno Debray
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (491)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

304 - 310 of 491 reviews

Reviewed January 19, 2013

This is a small and functional hotel that meets most of business travelers needs. It is weird to get to the 3rd floor of a building in order to enter the lobby, but it is OK. The lobby is too crowded and noisy in the evenings because most people use tables in the lobby. The TV set is equiped with a USB outlet that lets you charge your phone, a big plus. The rooms are standard IBIS rooms, small but clean. The view from the window is also nice. The guy staying next to my room snoozed the alarm clock from 6 am to 8 am in every 1 minute, i was so pissed of and was about to call the reception but did not and got up. That is why i did not rate sleep quality 5 stars. Other than that everything was all right.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yusuf690
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ibissalmiya1, Manager at Ibis Salmiya, responded to this reviewResponded January 23, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your positive comment posted on Tripadvisor website

It is very much appreciated.

Looking forward to welcome you again in near future.

Yours sincerely

Bruno Debray
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2012

Only stayed here for one night.
Positives: friendly staff, great location, quiet, clean and decent breakfast.
They met my requested room type and check in was fast and efficient.
They only suggestions I have is to replace the towels: they were old and fraying and fix the seal on the shower so the bathroom floor doesn't get wet.
There's a food store named "Sultan Center" just to the right of the hotel and I'd suggest eating here (at the grocery store, not restaurant). They sold a whole BBQ chicken with bread and dipping sauce for pretty cheap.

Room Tip: Ask for a room to the right of the elevator at the end of the hall for Gulf views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marcus K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ibissalmiya1, Manager at Ibis Salmiya, responded to this reviewResponded January 8, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your positive and constructive comment posted on Tripadvisor website.

It is trully appreciated.

We all look forward to welcome you again soon.

Yours sincerely

Bruno Debray
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 26, 2012

The hotel is located right beside a 24h supermarket, several restaurants, cafés and malls. It's maybe a half an hour's taxi trip from the city center, and there's an abundance of taxis offering their services whenever one leaves the hotel - it's very easy to catch one. The sea is right behind the hotel, though a very busy street needs to be crossed to reach it, but the walkway along the strand is worth that trouble. The staff is very friendly and speak very good English. There is a good wi-fi connection from the rooms and three Internet computers in the lobby. The rooms are clean and though there is (as always) some confusion about whether towels on the hooks should be changed or not, the chance the cleaners actually let them hang in order to save water (as advertised in all the IBIS hotels I've been in) was good 50%, which is way above the average.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Seralya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ibissalmiya1, Manager at Ibis Salmiya, responded to this reviewResponded December 30, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your positive comment posted on Tripadvisor.

It is appreciated and it will be shared with the team indeed.

We all look forward to welcome you again in near future.

Yours sincerely

Bruno Debray
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 24, 2012

The Ibis hotel provided us with a great value. The room was sufficiently large to accommodate two people for over two weeks. In fact, the entire hotel was immaculate and fresh. I was especially pleased with the senior room staff who ensured that the rooms were made up each day and kept clean and spotless. As for the full breakfast buffet, I give Ibis high marks for the quality and quantity of the breakfast items. And the front desk was extremely friendly and helpful. Salmiya is a great area, with two supermarkets within a block of the Ibis and a roadway full of shopping malls and fast food eateries. Most of the sit down restaurants were across the Gulf Highway along the corniche or sea wall. Getting across the 8 lane superhighway with cars whizzing by at 70 mph is a bit crazy. But there is a pedestrian overpass in a large mall about 6-8 blocks away. So all in all, Ibis is in a great neighborhood. I would definitely stay at the Ibis again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room looking seaward. Great view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank maiku365
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ibissalmiya1, Manager at Ibis Salmiya, responded to this reviewResponded January 8, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your positive comment posted on Tripadvisor website.

It is very appreciated and it will be shared with the team indeed!

We all look forward to welcome you again soon.

Yours sincerely

Bruno Debray
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 15, 2012

I like the room rates including business breakfast. However, there is no variation in the items offered from day to the next. So when you stay for more than a few days it gets really boring however. So I would like to recommend changing the main items from day to the next

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sena K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ibissalmiya1, Manager at Ibis Salmiya, responded to this reviewResponded December 17, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your positive comment posted on Tripadvisor website.

It is very much appreciated.

Your point regarding the variety in breakfast menu is taken.

We all look forward to welcome you again soon.

Yours sincerely

Bruno Debray
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2012 via mobile

The title says it all. An above average Ibis in a very handy location with good value rooms. I had sea view which I think most rooms do, the Internet was good and the location is handy for loads of places to eat especially the Marina Mall crescent - a few good restaurants with a nice setting.
It's a little bit of a trek to the city especially with Kuwait's notoriously bad traffic but I think worth it to be in Salmiya.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RBagnold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ibissalmiya1, Manager at Ibis Salmiya, responded to this reviewResponded December 11, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your positive comments posted on Tripadvisor.

It is very much appreciated and the same will be shared with the team.

We all look forward to welcome you in near future.

Yours sincerely

Bruno Debray
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kuwait City hotels
5.5 mi away
Ibis Sharq Kuwait
Ibis Sharq Kuwait
#11 of 72 in Kuwait City
382 reviews
1.8 mi away
Movenpick Hotel & Resort Al Bida'a Kuwait
1.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Kuwait
Holiday Inn Kuwait
#10 of 72 in Kuwait City
453 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
Best Western Plus Salmiya
Best Western Plus Salmiya
#5 of 14 in Salmiyah
43 reviews
5.8 mi away
City Tower Hotel Sharq
City Tower Hotel Sharq
#23 of 72 in Kuwait City
42 reviews
9.8 mi away
Movenpick Hotel Kuwait
Movenpick Hotel Kuwait
#8 of 72 in Kuwait City
692 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis Salmiya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Salmiya

Address: Salem Al Mubarak Street | Salmiya, Kuwait City 24755, Kuwait
Phone Number:
Location: Kuwait > Kuwait City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Kuwait City
#13 Business Hotel in Kuwait City
Price Range: $103 - $134 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ibis Salmiya 3*
Number of rooms: 175
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ibis Salmiya is located in Kuwait's fashionable Salmiya, overlooking the seafront. Perfectly located close to the heart of the business area on Salem Mubarak street, the most famous and lively shopping and entertainment center. It has 175 airconditionedrooms, interactive TV, Wifi Internet, one restaurant and BBQ terrace, and one bar open 24/7.- Free WiFi, Free Coffee & Tea making facilities and Mini-fridge in every room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, getaroom.com, Cancelon, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ibis Salmiya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis Salmiya Hotel Kuwait City
Ibis Kuwait City
Accor Kuwait City
Ibis Salmiya Kuwait/Kuwait City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing