We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Utilitarian function”
Review of Ibis Salmiya

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Ibis Salmiya
Ranked #13 of 69 Hotels in Kuwait City
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
73 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Utilitarian function”
Reviewed December 30, 2012

Only stayed here for one night.
Positives: friendly staff, great location, quiet, clean and decent breakfast.
They met my requested room type and check in was fast and efficient.
They only suggestions I have is to replace the towels: they were old and fraying and fix the seal on the shower so the bathroom floor doesn't get wet.
There's a food store named "Sultan Center" just to the right of the hotel and I'd suggest eating here (at the grocery store, not restaurant). They sold a whole BBQ chicken with bread and dipping sauce for pretty cheap.

Room Tip: Ask for a room to the right of the elevator at the end of the hall for Gulf views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marcus K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ibissalmiya1, Manager at Ibis Salmiya, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your positive and constructive comment posted on Tripadvisor website.

It is trully appreciated.

We all look forward to welcome you again soon.

Yours sincerely

Bruno Debray
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

452 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    100
    239
    88
    15
    10
See reviews for
27
22
86
304
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed December 26, 2012

The hotel is located right beside a 24h supermarket, several restaurants, cafés and malls. It's maybe a half an hour's taxi trip from the city center, and there's an abundance of taxis offering their services whenever one leaves the hotel - it's very easy to catch one. The sea is right behind the hotel, though a very busy street needs to be crossed to reach it, but the walkway along the strand is worth that trouble. The staff is very friendly and speak very good English. There is a good wi-fi connection from the rooms and three Internet computers in the lobby. The rooms are clean and though there is (as always) some confusion about whether towels on the hooks should be changed or not, the chance the cleaners actually let them hang in order to save water (as advertised in all the IBIS hotels I've been in) was good 50%, which is way above the average.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Seralya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ibissalmiya1, Manager at Ibis Salmiya, responded to this review, December 30, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your positive comment posted on Tripadvisor.

It is appreciated and it will be shared with the team indeed.

We all look forward to welcome you again in near future.

Yours sincerely

Bruno Debray
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed December 24, 2012

The Ibis hotel provided us with a great value. The room was sufficiently large to accommodate two people for over two weeks. In fact, the entire hotel was immaculate and fresh. I was especially pleased with the senior room staff who ensured that the rooms were made up each day and kept clean and spotless. As for the full breakfast buffet, I give Ibis high marks for the quality and quantity of the breakfast items. And the front desk was extremely friendly and helpful. Salmiya is a great area, with two supermarkets within a block of the Ibis and a roadway full of shopping malls and fast food eateries. Most of the sit down restaurants were across the Gulf Highway along the corniche or sea wall. Getting across the 8 lane superhighway with cars whizzing by at 70 mph is a bit crazy. But there is a pedestrian overpass in a large mall about 6-8 blocks away. So all in all, Ibis is in a great neighborhood. I would definitely stay at the Ibis again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room looking seaward. Great view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maiku365
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ibissalmiya1, Manager at Ibis Salmiya, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your positive comment posted on Tripadvisor website.

It is very appreciated and it will be shared with the team indeed!

We all look forward to welcome you again soon.

Yours sincerely

Bruno Debray
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts, USA
1 review
Reviewed December 15, 2012

I like the room rates including business breakfast. However, there is no variation in the items offered from day to the next. So when you stay for more than a few days it gets really boring however. So I would like to recommend changing the main items from day to the next

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sena_123_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ibissalmiya1, Manager at Ibis Salmiya, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your positive comment posted on Tripadvisor website.

It is very much appreciated.

Your point regarding the variety in breakfast menu is taken.

We all look forward to welcome you again soon.

Yours sincerely

Bruno Debray
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed December 9, 2012 via mobile

The title says it all. An above average Ibis in a very handy location with good value rooms. I had sea view which I think most rooms do, the Internet was good and the location is handy for loads of places to eat especially the Marina Mall crescent - a few good restaurants with a nice setting.
It's a little bit of a trek to the city especially with Kuwait's notoriously bad traffic but I think worth it to be in Salmiya.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RBagnold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ibissalmiya1, Manager at Ibis Salmiya, responded to this review, December 11, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your positive comments posted on Tripadvisor.

It is very much appreciated and the same will be shared with the team.

We all look forward to welcome you in near future.

Yours sincerely

Bruno Debray
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
184 reviews
94 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
Reviewed December 6, 2012

Not exciting but you know exactly what Ibis offer, and they do it quite well. Rooms are small but functional, internet speed is excellent and free. Breakfast is good and served from the early hours which is very convenient. Staff are very good and well trained, always important.
Position of the hotel is pretty good to with loads of shops and malls on the same road and its only a stroll away from the sea.
I usually stay here when I come to Kuwait as it is near my distributors offices but its good value and as an Accor card holder I will probably stay again anyway.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Keith1955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ibissalmiya1, Manager at Ibis Salmiya, responded to this review, December 8, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your positive comments posted on Tripadvisor website.

It is truly appreciated.

Looking very much forward to welcome you again soon.

Yours sincerely

Bruno Debray
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tasmania
Level Contributor
739 reviews
143 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 369 helpful votes
Reviewed November 30, 2012

The hotel car was not at the airport to pick me up, so not a great start. Also my room and transfers had been booked by the local company I work for and they had pre-paid with a voucher. However, the receptionist did not seem to understand this and I had to twice clarify during my stay that the room was paid for and they did not need to take a large pre-authorisation from my credit card.

However, in spite of these niggles, the stay was good overall. I was very happy to see a kettle and tea bags in the room (unlike last year). Note that the room is small but has a good TV with many channels, small bar fridge, a safe and adequate hanging space.

The breakfast is good with a better range than ibis in Europe or Australia. There is free wifi in rooms and the lobby.

The key selling point is location - lots of food nearby and a supermarket (Sultan Center) really close. You can walk to the Corniche and down to Marina Mall if you have the energy.

Room Tip: Ask for non-smoking if you want this before you arrive A sea view over Gulf is good
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wombatdavid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ibissalmiya1, Manager at Ibis Salmiya, responded to this review, December 1, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your very positive comments.

In another end, I would like to apologize for the misunderstanding with our reception.

The Team and I, look very much forward to welcome you again soon.

Your faithfully.

Bruno Debray
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kuwait City hotels
5.5 mi away
Ibis Sharq Kuwait
Ibis Sharq Kuwait
#11 of 69 in Kuwait City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 341 reviews
2.9 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Kuwait
4.4 mi away
Mirage Suites
Mirage Suites
#31 of 69 in Kuwait City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 17 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.8 mi away
Movenpick Hotel Kuwait
Movenpick Hotel Kuwait
#9 of 69 in Kuwait City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 590 reviews
1.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Kuwait
Holiday Inn Kuwait
#6 of 69 in Kuwait City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 434 reviews
1.0 mi away
Best Western Plus Salmiya
Best Western Plus Salmiya
#5 of 13 in Salmiyah
4.0 of 5 bubbles 33 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis Salmiya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Salmiya

Property: Ibis Salmiya
Address: Salem Al Mubarak Street | Salmiya, Kuwait City 24755, Kuwait
Phone Number:
Location: Kuwait > Kuwait City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Kuwait City
#13 Business Hotel in Kuwait City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Ibis Salmiya 3*
Number of rooms: 175
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ibis Salmiya is located in Kuwait's fashionable Salmiya, overlooking the seafront. Perfectly located close to the heart of the business area on Salem Mubarak street, the most famous and lively shopping and entertainment center. It has 175 airconditionedrooms, interactive TV, Wifi Internet, one restaurant and BBQ terrace, and one bar open 24/7.- Free WiFi, Free Coffee & Tea making facilities and Mini-fridge in every room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, ACCOR, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Ibis Salmiya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis Salmiya Hotel Kuwait City
Ibis Kuwait City
Accor Kuwait City
Ibis Salmiya Kuwait/Kuwait City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing