We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good overall”
Review of Holiday Downtown

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Holiday Downtown
Ranked #18 of 70 Hotels in Kuwait City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 3, 2013

Stayed here one night on a business trip to Kuwait. The room was very good, as were the general facilities of the hotel. The staff were all attentive, polite, and very customer focused. I would not hesitate to stay here again. The only minor point is that the wifi facility is definitely in need of improvement.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnDowntownQ8, General Manager at Holiday Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded November 3, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for taking time in reviewing our hotel, your comment is so important to us and will be taken in consideration.

Assuring you our best attention at all time

Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (378)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

248 - 254 of 378 reviews

Reviewed October 29, 2013

The room was ok, clean
TV channels was ok, but some channels were distorted
Wifi connection in the room was very bad, most of the time I got disconnected.
The LAN was not usable at all.
Internet connection is a must for business travellers.
Food at the Italian restaurant was not really good. There was a 20% voucher that I tried to use, but couldn't because the waitress was very quick to collect the money and punch them into the cashier machine. She could have asked me if I might have the voucher, and if I wanted to use it or not.
Reception was good.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Raznan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnDowntownQ8, General Manager at Holiday Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded November 3, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your review and comments on our hotel, Your review are so important to us and will be taken in consideration,

In order to investigate more in the points you have mentioned,
Kindly contact us on this email: david.boulos@ihg.com

Assuring you our best attention at all time and looking forward to see you soon at our hotel.

Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2013

I stayed for 4 days in October 2013 . Room was quite good and very clean.Clean bathroom and toilet . I got a sea facing room , the view was nice . Breakfast was excellent , quite a lot of variety . Overall i can say is that i was very happy with my stay in Holiday INN

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank NIdhicherry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnDowntownQ8, General Manager at Holiday Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded October 26, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for taking time in reviewing our hotel, Your review and comments are so important to us.

We are glad to know that you loved your stay with us and we assure you our best attention and service at all time.

Looking forward to see you soon again staying with us.

Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2013

Just had seven nights at Holiday Inn Downtown, Kuwait City - one of the best hotels I've stayed in. Food was good, if a little too 'International',and the room/suite really well equipped - and clean. But best of all were the staff - from Manager to Security staff, they couldn't have done more for you - especially Raj, who runs the Business /Conference centre on the 20th Floor.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank rogeandout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mohammedali147, General Manager at Holiday Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded October 19, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for taking time in reviewing our hotel, Your comments are so important to us and we assure you our best attention at all time.

Looking forward to see you soon again staying with us at our hotel

Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2013

The location is a short drive away from Kuwait's Business district. However, not much around if you want to walk around. Breakfast was excellent! Room was very clean and quiet. The only down sides were the pillows were not comfortable (very small) and the wifi was a bit weak.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Alaeddin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnDowntownQ8, General Manager at Holiday Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded October 7, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for taking time in reviewing our hotel, your review and comments are so important to us and will be taken in consideration.

We at the Holiday Inn Kuwait Downtown provide a pillow menu for our guest to choose what they like, we hope your next stay to be more comfortable.

Assuring you our best attention at all time,

Looking forward to see you soon again staying with us.

Many Thanks,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2013

I stayed three nights there. The personnel was very nice, friendly, and helpful. I had my breakfasts at the hotel. Food was fine, but the number of choices are as low as a standard UK hotel. Much better than a 5-star US hotel, but worse than any other middle-eastern hotel of the same class. Room was big enough and clean. The bathroom was very small, but clean though.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Muskirac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnDowntownQ8, General Manager at Holiday Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded October 7, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for taking time in reviewing our hotel, your review and comments are so important to us and will be taken in consideration.

Assuring you our best attention at all time,

Looking forward to see you soon again staying with us.

Many Thanks,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2013

I stayed in this hotel for about a night and I enjoyed my stay. The staffs were very helpful and my check in formalities were fast. The only area that needs improvement is the gym as it lacks modern equipment and the space. Overall, it was a pleasant stay

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Bonfrancism
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnDowntownQ8, General Manager at Holiday Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded October 8, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for taking time in reviewing our hotel, your review and comments are so important to us and will be taken in consideration.

Assuring you our best attention at all time

Looking forward to see you soon staying with us

Many Thanks,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kuwait City hotels
6.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Kuwait
Holiday Inn Kuwait
#9 of 70 in Kuwait City
448 reviews
15.9 mi away
Safir Hotel and Residences Kuwait
5.3 mi away
Movenpick Hotel Kuwait
Movenpick Hotel Kuwait
#8 of 70 in Kuwait City
680 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.7 mi away
The Regency Hotel Kuwait
The Regency Hotel Kuwait
#1 of 13 in Salmiyah
579 reviews
8.3 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Kuwait
7.6 mi away
Movenpick Hotel & Resort Al Bida'a Kuwait
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Downtown

Address: Abdulla Al Ahmed Street | Dasman, P.O Box 22604, Kuwait City 13087, Kuwait
Location: Kuwait > Kuwait City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#12 Business Hotel in Kuwait City
#16 Luxury Hotel in Kuwait City
Price Range: $148 - $245 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Downtown 4*
Number of rooms: 169
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
I Enjoy great service in the vibrant heart of Kuwait city center at the sleek Holiday-Downtown hotel.A towering high-rise in Kuwait's thriving business district, Holiday Downtown is easily reached via our complimentary shuttle from Kuwait International Airport, 18km away. Our Fitness Inn Center and pool afford sweeping views across the Arabian Gulf and Kuwait City. Tantalize your taste buds with our restaurants (Downtown International cuisine,Enjoy,The Square Cafe & Restaurant and ) .Choose a stylish Executive room or Suite at Holiday-Downtown to enjoy access to our exclusive Executive Lounge. We offer function space for up to 400 people in our 3 elegant ballrooms and 7 high-tech meeting rooms and there's plenty of complimentary parking for your guests. It's just a short stroll from the hotel to meetings at government offices and leading city center businesses.Head to the enormous Sharq Mall next to the hotel for some serious retail therapy and the biggest in-mall food court in Kuwait. There's even a huge artificial lake behind the mall, where you can hire jet skis and small motor boats.Plan your day with complimentary wireless Internet in Holiday-Downtown's chic marble Lobby, also home to a boutique gift shop and cafe. Massage treatments in our extensive Fitness Center mean you can wind down after a day's business or sightseeing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Agoda, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Holiday Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Kuwait Downtown Hotel Kuwait City
Holiday Inn Kuwait City
Kuwait City Holiday Inn
Holiday Downtown Kuwait/Kuwait City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing