We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Palms Beach Hotel and Spa
Ranked #24 of 72 Hotels in Kuwait City
Reviewed March 13, 2014

Nice location, very wide rooms, nice spa and wonderful food. Good wifi in the rooms. Two nice pools, calm beach and very close to an elite gathering of restaurants and attractions. The rooms are actually suites!

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hussien H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (134)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

72 - 78 of 134 reviews

Reviewed February 7, 2014

while listed as a 5 stars hotel, the palms hotel is a complete disappointment.

1. Reservations
As a starter when you call to check your reservation, you are handed a mobile number to call instead of the hotel! when calling several times with no luck then calling the hotel back , the girl on the phone seemed annoyed and told me that the "reservation person" already left since his hours are over!! when I repeated i want to check my reservation since i'm on my way, she confirmed as if she's doing me a favor.

2. Reception
Upon reaching the hotel already annoyed, after the reception guy (Kareem) asked us "when did you book" I complained to my friend that my reservation was cancelled, With a fighting attitude the reception guy repeats "Did i tell you it was cancelled?" and he kept repeating it with a nasty attitude until i asked him if he's here to argue or to log us in

3.Rooms
While the rooms are in fact spacious and big the style is really outdated. Walls are really thin you can hear your neighbors activities very clearly, i ran to the bathroom at some point thinking that i left the water running, it was my next door neighbor taking a shower!

4.Hot water
while attempting to take a bath, the hot water turns cold all the sudden, upon calling reception, the maintenance guy informs me that i only have 8 liters of hot water, then i have to wait for 20 minutes to get hot water!!!

5.Little details
the attitude of the staff in general, even the waiters when asked to bring tea in the buffet. attention to details "tea" and "coffer" were hand written on a piece of paper and taped to the containers. We were giving "coupons" to enter the spa and for breakfast.

This hotel is a nice hotel is you are looking for a 2/3 starts hotel, but as a 5 stars hotel charging as much as movenpick it NOT worth it.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aisha M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 1, 2013

Had a terrible experience right from the start. Sent the wrong visa paper to immigration and let me stranded in the airport for an hour. Pick up cab was late. Didn't have a single vegetarian menu in the kitchen that boasted international cuisine. Pathetic Jacuzzi, ordinary rooms and furniture, and service was poor too. Reception were very rude and un-responsive most of the times.

Cab to nearby holiday Inn (pre-booked) got delayed by 45 minutes. Got dropped in a school van kind of a vehicle. Just to reach your room from the reception you'll have to walk a mile. The keys didn't work most of the times. Noisy as well,

Only saving grace was the complimentary beach club access and swimming pools. Nice beach view from the hotel and the gym and pools are good. Even that can't save a hotel that is below par in the essentials.

And most importantly, too expensive, for what they provide.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rajagopalan V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 30, 2013

one word: this hotel needs a real whole renewing.
we was obliged to stay at this hotel, and I changed my room from the first night.
the bathroom is like a swimming pool, water is everywhere and I fell down twice.

noisy, cold, poor food, old furniture, bad smells ...... never again!!

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tripmira
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 29, 2013

This hotel is not good for business guests or indeed anyone without a family. It is an aparthotel and not a hotel.

The apartments are old and in need of a serious clean and update in style and facilities. WiFi access was weak and intermittent at the best of times. The bathroom was mouldy and unclean looking. Even the towels were not clean and full of stains. The hair dryer on the wall was just that - the wired were not even connected and this rendered it useless.

The AC in the apartments is really loud and makes sleeping very difficult. The wardrobe doors in my apartment were impossible to slide open and the safe was so small that you could just about get an iPad inside.

The windows leaked in heavy rain and as the floors are all tiled, I had to put towels under each window. The most worrying problem was that the fire stairs were obstructed with fold up beds and cots.

I don't think the management have been in the apartments in a very long time and they could certainly do with a visit. It wouldn't take too much to change all the negative issues I had with this hotel, so hopefully that is done soon.

On the plus side, the pool area is very nice and the staff are very helpful with any queries.

I won't be returning.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank JennyO79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2013

The rooms are very spacious, this is more of a hotel apartment where has it has beautiful spacious living room, kitchen and bedroom and some are over looking the sea. Has a large swimming pool and a nice beach. The food is good and has lot of options near by as this is not far away from the downtown. In short this is a good hotel apartment even though it is called as a hotel and good value for money. I lived here for almost 6 months

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RadhakrishnaRao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2013

Been working in Kuwait for seven years and wanted to end my time with relaxing and not having to worry about clearing flats and inventories at last minute so spent last 5 days here (cost £250 per person).
Did some research on which hotel to choose as many in Salmiya and this was very reasonable on cheap website.
A friend was also leaving so we chose a suite which was cheaper than a room at another hotel down the road and was perfect. Twin room, bathroom with bath, kitchenette, living room, desk area and lounge. Plenty of room for the six large suitcases we were leaving with.
Breakfast was included and was a good spread and there are some nice restaurants in the complex to choose from for evening meal.
Spent day by pool and had a hot stone massage which was lovely (given money off voucher on arrival)
Only issue would be that on the outside it does look tired but cannot fault the accommodation as well maintained.

Room Tip: Use the last minute holiday websites as our suite was ideal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LorraineQ844
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kuwait City hotels
1.2 mi away
Movenpick Hotel & Resort Al Bida'a Kuwait
10.9 mi away
Movenpick Hotel Kuwait
Movenpick Hotel Kuwait
#8 of 72 in Kuwait City
698 reviews
8.3 mi away
Safir Hotel and Residences Kuwait
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Kuwait
2.3 mi away
Jumeirah Messilah Beach Hotel & Spa
1 mi away
The Regency Hotel Kuwait
The Regency Hotel Kuwait
#1 of 14 in Salmiyah
613 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Palms Beach Hotel and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Palms Beach Hotel and Spa

Address: Al Ta'awon St. Road 25, Bida'a Area | PO Box 24079, Safat, Kuwait City 13101, Kuwait
Location: Kuwait > Kuwait City
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Kuwait City
#10 Spa Hotel in Kuwait City
#21 Luxury Hotel in Kuwait City
Price Range: $262 - $324 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Palms Beach Hotel and Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 179
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Palms Beach Hotel and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Palms Beach Hotel And Spa Kuwait/Kuwait City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing