We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It really needs some expert help”
Review of Kuwait Zoo

Kuwait Zoo
Ahmadi, Kuwait
Level 6 Contributor
66 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“It really needs some expert help”
Reviewed August 29, 2013

Although the conditions of the zoo have somewhat improved it is still a terrible place to be an animal. There grounds are a little better but there is still no respect for the security employees trying to keep locals from feeding the animals bread and chips. Several animals have died due to eating plastic bags given to them by visitors which is sad but without teaching children the value of animals nothing will ever change. The government does not give funding to keep the zoo up to standards, I don't think they really care.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank crazyinkuwait
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

128 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    36
    48
    16
    14
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kuwait City, Kuwait
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“I love zoos, but I was expecting more!”
Reviewed August 5, 2013

Excellent location and plenty of parking spaces. Little greenery, money could be spent to make it greener in a very hot country like Kuwait but other hot Gulf countries managed it. A variety of animals and birds. Bring your own food. Drinks are available. limited seating areas. Can take memorable pictures with the kids feeding the giraffes :-)

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank THE_PILGRIM7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“So bad it made me cry”
Reviewed July 31, 2013

honestly, the animals were in terrible condition. The elephants were obviously starving: They were soooo desperate to get the little monkey nuts people were throwing to them that they were literally trying to climb over the 6ft high walls of their enclosure. Children were trying to get into the enclosure and tormenting the elephants so I had a go at both them and the parents - which they took offence at. Security didn't do anything.

The chimps are in a tiny cage and the people in Kuwait are SO DISGUSTING that both adults and children were tormenting the chimps (up close and personal) by throwing things/rubbish at them, banging on the cages and trying to poke things through the mesh at them. Some parents even let their kids climb on top of the cages. I spoke to security about it and they said there was nothing they could do as they couldn't stand up to Kuwaitis - they'd get fired. The wolves were insane, walking back and forth, back and forth across their enclosure. There was litter EVERYWHERE and filling the cages/enclosures.

There was only one small food place open to buy ice cream.

Yes, it've inordinately cheap to get in - but this simply means they don't have the funds to look after the animals.

I actually felt physically sick and cried at the conditions the animals were in.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
6 Thank wensdazechyld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuwait/egypt
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“mini zoo”
Reviewed July 29, 2013

Sorry to say it is a poor place to visit as we didnot visit it except maybe for 3 times during winter times and no improvememt was seen ! My child got sick from poor cleanliness as the doctor said . ( although i still remember a nice camel ride there ) hope they got better by now !!

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Yosef_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuwait
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Fair enough for the amount i"ve paid...”
Reviewed July 9, 2013

Its fun for my 4 year old son and its fun to kill an hour or two of your time before heading to the mall nearby which is the Avenues mall.We've been here during the winter and I think this is the best time to visit this place because of the weather and the animals are more rather than in the summer some of the animals are not present during summer time like the lion and others.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Star O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kuwait Zoo also viewed

Kuwait City, Kuwait
Kuwait City, Kuwait
 
Kuwait City, Kuwait
 

Been to Kuwait Zoo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing