We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice but overpriced”
Review of Le Royal Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Le Royal Hotel
Ranked #26 of 70 Hotels in Kuwait City
Reviewed September 29, 2013

Very nice hotel, stayed here for three nights, Lobby area didn't smell good, smoking all over obviously, took me more than 30 minutes to check-in as the only staff at the reception was handling other guests issues and some seemed frustrated as well. They wanted to charge me extra for the extra child bed although it was mentioned in the booking we are coming with a child, but decided later on to give it to me for free "this time". I loved the location of the hotel, very close to many places. For the hotel being ex Le Meridian, you can still feel some of its good standards are there but vanishing obviously as I noticed it being a bit outdated and you can instantly tell by the hotel's big but very old signs. For the price I paid, next time I might consider other better options near by.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mohammed A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (90)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

63 - 69 of 90 reviews

Reviewed September 3, 2013

Stayed there for four night on BB basis. It's staff we're very friendly. The room was nicely furnished and clean. The breakfast was very very nice. It is a little bit expensive. It is a little far away from city center and from shopping centers.

Stayed: November 2012, traveled solo
Thank Sherifsoadia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2013

The location is somewhat out of town, on the way to the airport, and rooms in front have a view of the gulf. It is medium-sized (5 stories) and resembles a midrange seaside hotel in the South of France (it was formerly a Meridien). The lobby is nicely appointed.
The hotel staff are well trained. We hosted a business lunch buffet that was beautifully presented.
The facilities are limited -- no shop, gym or spa; a tiny pool; a hairdresser for men only. The regular rooms are extremely small; I was upgraded to a junior suite that was comfortable in size, but dated.

There doesn't seem to be any way to access the beach because across the road is a private officers' club.

Cigarette smoke seeped copiously into my non-smoking room on a non-smoking floor -- perhaps through the ventilation system. This was a major annoyance.

The breakfast was so-so - the buffet was not properly serviced - and and dinner in the restaurant was poor value for money. The restaurant is rather gloomy, being in the basement.

Room Tip: FAcing the Gulf is better, but can hear noise from the main road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Spadina2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2013

Very nice, super-clean hotel, rooms a spacious and, at least on the Gulf side, have a nice view of the Towers (presumably the other side has good city views, but I was never in a room there.) Restaurant was good, buffet breakfast middle-east hearty, lunches ordered of the menu featured local seafood and were very good. Staff was courteous and attentive. WiFi worked well, business center computers worked well and were easily accessible. Elevators small, but seemed able to handle the traffic while I was there.

A walk of about a mile brings you to the Kuwait Towers; there are several restaurants, western and "eastern," within a very easy walk (a very good Lebanese place is about a block north, an excellent Kuwaiti place about 3 blocks south, both reachable without crossing Arabic Gulf Street. Across the street are western chains like Fridays, Chilli's and the ubiquitous KFC.)

A few negative points: expect traffic to be intermittently quite loud on the Gulf side, the "heated" pool was so cold I would more readily believe it was chilled, and if you require an extra "roll away" bed for your room, it is likely to be essentially a wooden slat frame with some blankets over it: no mattress. The last was the only serious drawback, and was mitigated by requesting extra blankets to build a "mattress" out of.

As I was the guest of a very hospitable host, have no idea what the costs are like -- but I would definitely recommend staying here if it fits your budget..

Room Tip: Arabian Gulf Street has heavy traffic at times, and intermittent "I'ma race down this stree...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JMartJr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2013

The best part of the hotel is the Bed , very confy and also the big LCD TV... the fact that is facing the Gulf is good but as long as you get a room facing it, otherwise the view is terrible. There is a new lebanese on the corner and a fudruckers is just opening. On the sea shore you can walk around and you will also find some good restaurants. The hotel is loosing a lot of revenues from the poor quality of the restaurant and the food served, I would definetely advise the management to shut down the restaurant for renovation and hire a consultando to review the revenues from the restaurants, all days I did not have any food other than the breakfast in the hotel , usually I have at least two dinners a day in the hotel that I am . By the way you can not find any shops immediately around and not serviced easily by Taxi.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brazukajo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 24, 2012

This hotel has an excellent location facing the famous gulf road that holds the country's Cornish with a lot of cafes and restaurants , it's also near the famous Kuwait water towers.
To me if you want to see Kuwait , that's the place to be.
The hotel management are really professional and the hotel staff are just great , the rooms are very small , so I recommend booking the junior suite that faces the see because the normal standard rooms have a bad view.
All the rooms come with free breakfast and free wifi.

BUT !!

They seriously have to do something about the noise isolation !!
The noise coming from the windows and the bathroom is unbelievably un acceptable , especially with the location of the rooms facing the gulf road.

Stayed: December 2012, traveled solo
Thank Faiz1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2012

I came here for a nice weekend break and really enjoyed the hotel - it's lobby, the design of being like a town house collection, the bed was spacious, the soap in the bathroom was very nice and I slept well. The staff is very helpful, I liked the wooden floors in the room. I did have a small problem using the in-room safe but that was quickly managed with a friendly guy. The restaurant in the hotel - the Kuwaiti seafood restaurant - had fantastic food, just outstanding and I have the best lunch there. Wonderful staff, good service in the hotel and restaurant. I also really appreciated the airport pickup and drop off -- excellent stay.

Room Tip: My room was in the back, away from the main road and I just think that would be recommended for thos...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ellemindc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kuwait City hotels
2.7 mi away
Le Royal Tower Hotel
Le Royal Tower Hotel
#19 of 70 in Kuwait City
165 reviews
0.8 mi away
Ibis Sharq Kuwait
Ibis Sharq Kuwait
#11 of 70 in Kuwait City
368 reviews
4.4 mi away
Marina Royal Hotel Suite
Marina Royal Hotel Suite
#36 of 70 in Kuwait City
15 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Mirage Suites
Mirage Suites
#34 of 70 in Kuwait City
17 reviews
0.4 mi away
Safir International Hotel
Safir International Hotel
#28 of 70 in Kuwait City
51 reviews
4.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Salmiya
Best Western Plus Salmiya
#5 of 13 in Salmiyah
43 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Royal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Royal Hotel

Address: Arabian Gulf Road, Bnied Al Gar, Kuwait City 15451, Kuwait
Location: Kuwait > Kuwait City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#23 Luxury Hotel in Kuwait City
Price Range: $128 - $207 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Le Royal Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Le Royal Hotel is a splendid retreat in the heart of Kuwait's capital city, ideally located on the Arabian Gulf Road overlooking the famous Kuwait Towers. It is only 5 minutes from the heart of the business district and the Ministry complex, making it an ideal Kuwait hotel for business visitors, and is near to Souq Sharq Mall and the Grand Mosque. A hotel shuttle ensures quick airport transfers. A stay at Le Royal Hotel is characterized by comfort and high quality service. Its facilities include meeting rooms, an outdoor pool and a Fitness center. Guests can dine on a selection of exciting local and international cuisine at the Bonsai and Al Marsa restaurants. Part of the Worldhotels Deluxe Collection. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and Hotwire so you can book your Le Royal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Meridien Dasman
Dasman Le Meridien
Le Royal Hotel Kuwait/Kuwait City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing