We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Crown”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Kuwait Al Thuraya City
Ranked #9 of 69 Hotels in Kuwait City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 30, 2010

The hotel was really nice, didnt have a good chance to enjoy the place as we where only there for a few hours to get some rest but service and facility was really nice and would go back and enjoy a longer stay.

Stayed: March 2010, traveled on business
Thank ncmedic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (528)
There are newer reviews for Holiday Inn Kuwait Al Thuraya City
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

478 - 484 of 528 reviews

Reviewed September 7, 2009

I stayed at the Crowne Plaza Hotel for 3 weeks whilst on business and thought that the hotel was great. The lobby looks spectacular and the hotel resturants are also great, I would reccomend the steakhouse.

Rooms were nice and big and cleaned daily. Nice sized swimming pool and an excellent fittness center.

You have to go through airport type security when you enter and leave the hotel but such is expected due to the location

All in all a top hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Flyerstarter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2009

I was in Kuwait for 20 days course at the university in Kuwait city
i booked 2 rooms on my credict card for me and my friend
on arrivel the receptions check are booking then she took my passport
and my friend to the back then Manager a male from Sirya come out
he ask me to seat at the Lobby then he start Question me and my friend
why we was going to stay in hes hotel , and how we supose to pay
are room .. which this questioning ,make no sence since i have give them
my credict card and passports.

no only that im embassador club member from Intercontinental hotels

then he start saying to my male Collegue ,to remember you can no bring
no body into this hotel . like if my friend was brining any body
after so much FBI questioning to be able to stay in a room
i decide and i reply to the Manager , look i never been question
like this in my life for me to stay in hotel and i have to be a the university
in 2 hours so i have no time to waste here ,
im going to check into another hotel then i ask him to give me my passport
and my credict card , the he throw are European passports in the floor
ask sercurity to throw us out that we was no welcome to stay in hes hotel.
then sercurity did throw us out . i call the police but the police dont speak english
so it was like calling a no body .

after few minutes i call friend from kuwait city which i study with in london uk
and he them took me and my friend to the JW marriot where we check in
without all the harrastment with got a the crowne plaza with nasty manager from
Sirya ... no sure how that hotel run with that man .

i complaint to the crowne plaza and i was given 25.000 points back into my account
but that was no enough i though that man will at least write at letter to appolygize

this hotel i dont recomende to no body that travel to kuwait specialy if you are woman
traveling with you university Colleagues.

Nasty hotel , Nasty manager and my worts experience for me and my friend
traveling

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Service
2  Thank miss_hyatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2009

Crowne Plaza Kuwait
Airport Road | PO Box 18544, Farwaniya 81006, Kuwait.

This is one Hotel which is well located and nearest to the airport.

Location: near the airport, and shopping malls around the area Cinema Halls and quite close to the main City too.


Hotels Facilities: Hotel Provides a great living experience and is well equipped with a Health Club which include Light Workout Heavy Workouts, Swimming pool, Saunas, Squash, and many more.

Has a huge selection of restaurants and a great ambiance good experience for the family as well as business guests.
Quality of food is as the standards mention good food, my personal ranking would be A or 9.5 out of 10.

Staff: the Staff out there always have a smile on their face and will guide you in what ever you require very cooperative staff.

They Also Provide Limousine Services to travel around the city and from the airport on extra charges or depending on the package bought.

To know more you will need to experience the feeling yourself.

Is a little Pricey but worth the money.

  • Stayed: December 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank djvikkid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2009

I'm not recomended at all this hotel, its too noisy, services very bad, for example sleeper was out of stock , manager said sorry we dont know, Swiming pool under maintenance and in booking they are not informing.

Stayed: March 2009, traveled on business
1  Thank moe001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2009

Lovely business hotel (rather expensive if you're paying for yourself!). Undergoing a lot of construction at the moment, so make sure you get a room on the left hand side and on the outside of the hotel (if you have a lobby facing room you risk the sound of lift music for the entirety of your stay!)

Fab restaurants, the Sushi restaurant and the Italian were my favourites, and the steak in the French restaurant was perfect! Only complaint is that they don't really give you enough time to order (this is the same in any of the restaurants) and if you don't order straight away they seem to forget about you a bit!

Excellent fitness centre which is a good thing as the hotel is somewhat in the middle of nowhere!

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sun_seeking_ginner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 6, 2008

Have stayed here a few times due to convenience of proximity to airport, but I will not be staying here again. First off, the rooms are way too expensive for what you get- The only thing smaller than the rooms was the TV! If I am going to pay up to and over 300 a night I want more than a 19" TV!! The TVs are about 15 years old- maybe 21". I was still content with this, as I will say the rooms were clean and the beds were nice, but the staff is very nosy! I was asked where I lived, where I worked, what was my business there, if I was married, what I would be doing- this didn't bother me the first time, but on my next visit with my girlfriend I was told we were not allowed to stay in the same room!! We were bombarded with the same questions and asked if we were married! When I told them no we were told they could not allow us to stay in the same room, but if we paid extra we would be given access to their executive lounges where we could visit together! No thanks!! We left and will not be returning to this hotel. Rediculous!

  • Stayed: November 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank AFrequentTraveller55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kuwait City
7.5 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Kuwait
9.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Kuwait
Holiday Inn Kuwait
#10 of 69 in Kuwait City
441 reviews
8.1 mi away
Movenpick Hotel & Resort Al Bida'a Kuwait
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.6 mi away
Ibis Sharq Kuwait
Ibis Sharq Kuwait
#11 of 69 in Kuwait City
364 reviews
7.9 mi away
The Regency Hotel Kuwait
The Regency Hotel Kuwait
#2 of 13 in Salmiyah
560 reviews
0.0 mi away
Crowne Plaza Kuwait Al Thuraya City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Kuwait Al Thuraya City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Kuwait Al Thuraya City

Address: P.O. Box 18544 Farwaniya, Kuwait City 81006, Kuwait (Formerly Crowne Plaza Kuwait City)
Phone Number:
Location: Kuwait > Kuwait City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Kuwait City
#5 Business Hotel in Kuwait City
#6 Spa Hotel in Kuwait City
#9 Luxury Hotel in Kuwait City
Price Range: $195 - $256 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Holiday Inn Kuwait Al Thuraya City 5*
Number of rooms: 296
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn Kuwait Al Thuraya City is the authentic urban resort and business hotel in Kuwait. We are conveniently located within 20 minutes from the major government & corporate offices, and only 5 minutes to The Grand Avenues Mall, and 360 Shopping Mall and Golf Club. Kuwait International Airport is only a 5-minute drive away. Business and leisure travelers alike will appreciate the lush grounds and the prestigious High ways in which you will find many experiences to last a lifetime. Enjoy the largest free-form swimming pool. Holiday Inn Kuwait Al Thuraya City offers 300 guestrooms with a variety of Pool view, suites and club floor rooms. The Hotel is equipped to host business meetings & social gatherings with eighteen flexible function rooms, and three grand ballrooms that accommodates up to 500 guests. 24-hour business centre with high-speed Internet access and Free Wi-Fi in all the guest rooms and meeting rooms that make doing business a snap. We offer wide choice of restaurants serving International cuisine, Iranian, Japanese, Middle Eastern, Far Eastern, American and seafood specialties. The renowned Spa and health Club invites guests to a variety of marvelous experiences with outstanding recreational facilities including a 24-hour gym, tennis, squash, swimming pools and numerous massage treatments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your Holiday Inn Kuwait Al Thuraya City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Hotel Kuwait City
Crowne Plaza Kuwait City
Holiday Inn Kuwait Al Thuraya City Kuwait City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing