We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“GOOD HOTEL FOR BUSINESS”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Holiday Inn Kuwait Al Thuraya City
Ranked #8 of 69 Hotels in Kuwait City
Certificate of Excellence
Toulouse
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“GOOD HOTEL FOR BUSINESS”
Reviewed April 29, 2013

Stayed 3 nights in the Crowne Plaza Hotel Kuwait City for business.

Good hotel, good service.
Great breakfast.
Room was nice. I had a view on the street. No so nice.
I tried 3 restaurants. All great with fantastic food.

I will recommend this hotel for business as it is also possible to meet and invite customers without being annoyed.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dagarc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrownePlazaKuwait, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Kuwait Al Thuraya City, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Dear dagarc,

Warm Greetings from Crowne Plaza Kuwait!

Thank you so much for sharing your experince during recent stay with us here on Tripadvisor. I am happy to hear that you liked our hotel, the room, the food from our wide selection of restaurants and especially the service that you received from us.

Once, again thank you and looking forward to welcoming you back again at Crowne Plaza Hotel –Kuwait!

Respectfully yours,

Alberto Saadeh
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

519 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    312
    163
    27
    6
    11
See reviews for
37
17
23
400
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (147)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2013

My husband Nd I just spent 6 night here for a meeting. the room was excellent and so was the food. The best part is the beautiful outdoor pool. it is so refreshing to take an early morning or late night swim. We will come back. It featured a full breakfast. It is close to the airport with a free shuttle.

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor overlooking the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Grandma2012_2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrownePlazaKuwait, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Kuwait Al Thuraya City, responded to this review, May 3, 2013
Dear Grandma2012_2013

Warm Greetings from Crowne Plaza Kuwait!

Thank you for sharing your feedback here on Tripadvisor during your recent stay with us.
I’m so glad to know that you appreciated the room and the food that we have it available for you. It is also good to hear that you enjoyed swimming at our outdoor pool.
It is our pleasure to welcoming you back again soon here at Crowne Plaza Hotel-Kuwait.

Respectfully yours,

Alberto Saadeh
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed April 27, 2013

I stayed here for a week and was excited to be returning. I used this hotel a lot several years ago and it was a personal favourite in the region.

Well what a disappointment! Standards at all levels have dropped dramatically. Here is a sample of my issues:

1) hotel stinks of cigarette smoke - everywhere
2) first 'non-smoking' room I was given stank of cigars, pipes, shisha!
3) new room, no hot water for 3 days - six engineer visits
4) do not disturb sign ignored three times
5) one day room not cleaned at 3:30 pm - eventually cleaned after 2 calls
6) check-in no special welcome as Platinum guest
7) restaurants - quality dropped - prices haven't
8) breakfast 'chef' (sic) could not cook a poached egg
9) service rushed, rude, and staff most miserable I've seen in GCC hotel
10) all issues given to several 'managers' - no real restitution - just lame 'sorry' often followed by a smirk
11) rooms are old and renovations limited -at best 3 star standard
12) I have to mention the stink of tobacco again - with the indoor (!!) shisha bars, cigar shop, smoking allowed and encouraged everywhere - I now know what living in an ashtray would be like

I rarely write bad reviews, as most places try. But this is the worst experience I have had in 20 years of business travel (averaging last year 200 hotel nights).

Avoid like the plague - I dread returning

Room Tip: If you can stay anywhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank tonyb_174
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrownePlazaKuwait, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Kuwait Al Thuraya City, responded to this review, May 3, 2013
Dear tonyb,

Greetings from Crowne Plaza Kuwait!

I would like to thank you for taking the time to share your feedback during your recent stay here on TripAdvisor. It is our aim that all our valued guests enjoy every aspect of their stay here at the Crowne Plaza Hotel in Kuwait. However, we regret that we have failed you on this occassion.

We value your comments and have certainly discuss all your feedbacks with the entire Management Team in order to ensure that an immediate resolution concerning areas of concern will be dealt with.

Rest assured, we are taking all the necessary steps in order to remedy the situation so that in the future, none of our valued guests like you will encounter similar issues.

Thank you once again for your feedback and I look forward to the opportunity of having you once again here at the Crowne Plaza Hotel, Kuwait in order for us to have the chance to demonstrate the real meaning of service that you expect from us.

Respectfully yours,

Alberto Saadeh
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
1 review
Reviewed April 27, 2013

I'm a frequent flyer to Kuwait since the last 3 years. I have been to different 5 stars hotel in Kuwait City, but I found Crowne Plaza is the best on every aspect. convenient, clean, Excellent staff and service, good food with different varieties of resturants, a place where you can have individual and/or group meeting. I have never felt uncomfort, which I do tell to all my peers and colleagues.
Because of Crowne Plaza in Kuwait, I personally prefer Crowne Plaza wherever I go ; Jordan, Qatar, UAE, Accra, etc..

Room Tip: Be a priorty club member
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Arif E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrownePlazaKuwait, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Kuwait Al Thuraya City, responded to this review, May 1, 2013
Dear Arif E,

Warm Greetings from Crowne Plaza Kuwait!

Thank you for sharing your feedback during your recent stay with us here on Tripdavisor. Im so glad that you consider us as one of the best hotel on every aspect especially our staff and the service. I have noted as well that you liked the food and variety of our restaurants.

Once, again thank you for patronizing Crowne Plaza Hotel and looking forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Respectfully yours,

Alberto Saadeh
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wervik
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 17, 2013

Only stayed for one night but is was a great pleasure and enjoyed the great hospitality and service of their dedicated staff. Recommend this hotel when traveling for business. The rooms are nice,clean and most of all very quit to ensure a good night sleep.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sander H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrownePlazaKuwait, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Kuwait Al Thuraya City, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
Dear Sander H

Warm Greetings from Crowne Plaza Kuwait!

Thank you for sharing your inspiring feedback during your recent stay with us here on Tripadvisor.

It is more than our pleasure to hear from you that you had enjoyed our great hospitality and service that we provided you with. I’m also glad that you appreciated the cleanliness of our rooms and most of all thank you for recommending our hotel to all business travelers.

Looking forward to welcoming you back again soon at Crowne Plaza Hotel – Kuwait!

Respectfully yours,

Alberto Saadeh
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 6 Contributor
247 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed April 17, 2013

We conducted a product workshop and meeting in one of the hotels meeting room which is ideal for a group of 8 - 10 particpants. Meeting facilities are okay and the location seems to be okay with the local particpants. Rates were good as per my distributors comments and there are plenty of restaurant choices ( Iranian, International,Lebanese, Japanese, Indian & Seafood )for the dinner after the meeting. The staff are very friendly and accomodating and frequenbt travellers are treated well as they give out airport lounge invitation for club members.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marvin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrownePlazaKuwait, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Kuwait Al Thuraya City, responded to this review, April 21, 2013
Dear Marvin M,

Warm Greetings from Crowne Plaza Kuwait!

Thank you for your sharing your feedback during your recent stay with us here on Tripadvisor.
I noted that you liked the variety of restaurants that we have it available for your. I’m glad to hear as well that you appreciated the service that we provided you with.

Once again,Thank you and looking forward to welcoming you back again at Crowne Plaza Hotel-Kuwait!

Best regards,

Alberto Saadeh
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, Dubai, United Arab Emirates
1 review
Reviewed March 22, 2013

I enjoyed my stay and altogether enjoyed the meal in the Indian restaurent. The meeting ball room has full faciliity. We had a trade show and it could accomodate more than 30 booth. It is close to Airport and it is in the comfortable location. Easy to travel around and Hotel organise pickup and drop off to Airport.

Room Tip: Choose a room facing the central foyer. It is a very lively place to have a look.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ramaprasad G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrownePlazaKuwait, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Kuwait Al Thuraya City, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Dear Ramaprasad G.

Thank you for sharing your experience with regard to your recent stay at Crowne Plaza Hotel in Kuwait!

It gives us a pleasure to know that you liked the quality of food we have offer at our newly opened Indian Restaurant Jamawar . I’m glad that you appreciated our meeting ball room facilities and one of our aims is to ensure we give all the support to our guests needs to succeed in their purpose of visit.

Once again, thank you and looking forward to welcoming you again on your next visit to Kuwait!

Best regards,

Alberto Saadeh
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kuwait City
7.5 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Kuwait
7.9 mi away
The Regency Kuwait
The Regency Kuwait
#2 of 13 in Salmiyah
531 reviews
9.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Kuwait
Holiday Inn Kuwait
#6 of 69 in Kuwait City
439 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Crowne Plaza Kuwait Al Thuraya City
7.6 mi away
Ibis Sharq Kuwait
Ibis Sharq Kuwait
#11 of 69 in Kuwait City
349 reviews
8.8 mi away
Symphony Style Hotel Kuwait
Symphony Style Hotel Kuwait
#3 of 69 in Kuwait City
502 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Kuwait Al Thuraya City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Kuwait Al Thuraya City

Property: Holiday Inn Kuwait Al Thuraya City
Address: P.O. Box 18544 Farwaniya, Kuwait City 81006, Kuwait (Formerly Crowne Plaza Kuwait City)
Phone Number:
Location: Kuwait > Kuwait City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Kuwait City
#5 Business Hotel in Kuwait City
#5 Spa Hotel in Kuwait City
#8 Luxury Hotel in Kuwait City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Holiday Inn Kuwait Al Thuraya City 5*
Number of rooms: 296
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn Kuwait Al Thuraya City is the authentic urban resort and business hotel in Kuwait. We are conveniently located within 20 minutes from the major government & corporate offices, and only 5 minutes to The Grand Avenues Mall, and 360 Shopping Mall and Golf Club. Kuwait International Airport is only a 5-minute drive away. Business and leisure travelers alike will appreciate the lush grounds and the prestigious High ways in which you will find many experiences to last a lifetime. Enjoy the largest free-form swimming pool. Holiday Inn Kuwait Al Thuraya City offers 300 guestrooms with a variety of Pool view, suites and club floor rooms. The Hotel is equipped to host business meetings & social gatherings with eighteen flexible function rooms, and three grand ballrooms that accommodates up to 500 guests. 24-hour business centre with high-speed Internet access and Free Wi-Fi in all the guest rooms and meeting rooms that make doing business a snap. We offer wide choice of restaurants serving International cuisine, Iranian, Japanese, Middle Eastern, Far Eastern, American and seafood specialties. The renowned Spa and health Club invites guests to a variety of marvelous experiences with outstanding recreational facilities including a 24-hour gym, tennis, squash, swimming pools and numerous massage treatments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Kuwait Al Thuraya City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Hotel Kuwait City
Crowne Plaza Kuwait City
Holiday Inn Kuwait Al Thuraya City Kuwait City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing