We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Kuwait Al Thuraya City

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Holiday Inn Kuwait Al Thuraya City
Ranked #10 of 66 Hotels in Kuwait City
Certificate of Excellence
Jeddah
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Very good stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

Nice hotel and good selection of foods. Excellent service. Will come back again. I was upgraded and that was nice. Hotel lounge is also nice. Overall happy with the stay. Restaurants offer a wide variety. Did not try the spa but heard good things about it. Internet is also good.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Khaled A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrownePlazaKuwait, Director of Front Office Operations at Holiday Inn Kuwait Al Thuraya City, responded to this review, February 16, 2013
Dear Khaled A,

Greetings from Crowne Plaza Kuwait!

Thank you so much for sharing your recent stay with us here on Tripadvisor. We are happy to hear that you liked our hotel, our wide selection of food from our different restaurants, the internet and most especially the service you have received from us.

We look forward to welcoming you again at Crowne Plaza Hotel Kuwait.

Best Regards,

Maya Taher
Director of Front Office Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

469 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    281
    145
    26
    6
    11
See reviews for
32
17
22
361
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (136)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Riyadh, Saudi Arabia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

This hotel is one of my top favorites, and my #1 choice when visiting Kuwait. Location is perfect. Staff are amazing, specially "Jouda" on the check-in desk, who was very friendly and did a great job of explaining the stay details. Rooms & food are excellent.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mosaab R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrownePlazaKuwait, Director of Front Office Operations at Holiday Inn Kuwait Al Thuraya City, responded to this review, February 16, 2013
Dear Mosaab R,

Thank you for sharing your feedback here on Tripadvisor with regard to your recent stay at Crowne Plaza Hotel Kuwait.

We are very glad to hear that we are one of your top favorites and number one choice when visiting Kuwait and that you liked our rooms and the food that we serve. Your great feedback with regard to Jouda’s service will be shared with the team especially to her.

We look forward to welcoming you again at Crowne Plaza Kuwait.

Best Regards,

Maya Taher
Director of Front Office Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

I have stayed in many 5-star Hotels in Kuwait but I really liked the sest-up and atmosphere of the Crown Plaza Hotel. There are plenty of restaurants to choose from (I think there were 6) and I really liked the Steak house restaurant known from the IHG Hotel chain.
I stayed on the executive floor in club room and I must say that the lounge representatives were very polite, smiling all the time and very helpful when asking questions. In particular thanks to Mirasol who was always very helpful with arranging transportation to Mina Abdulla Industrial area and airport. The room was spacious and included with all requirements what a busy HSE practitioner needs to have during his work in the early mornings. I have alreay booked this Hotel for my next trips to Kuwait which is basically once a month.

Room Tip: Choose a room with a KING size bed...and if possible you should select a club room. If you do so yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ad v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrownePlazaKuwait, Director of Front Office Operations at Holiday Inn Kuwait Al Thuraya City, responded to this review, February 16, 2013
Dear ad v,

Thank you for sharing your feedback here on Tripadvisor with regard to your recent stay at Crowne Plaza Hotel Kuwait.

It gives us great pleasure to know that we have provided you with what you needed during your stay. Here at Crowne Plaza, one of our aims is to ensure we give all the support our guests' needs to succeed in their purpose of visit.

Also, your feedback with regard to Mirasol’s service will be shared to the team especially to her. Currently we have 9 restaurants to choose from and on your next visit, we would be more than happy to show you around at your other choices within the hotel.

We look forward to welcoming you back at Crowne Plaza Hotel Kuwait.
Best Regards,

Maya Taher
Director of Front Office Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Germany
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

I stayed here on the 8th floor, in a club room. Some of the reviews I had read about it being an old hotel in need of renovation were found to be false, It is presently in a very good condition and offers all modern facilities. It has seven restaurants but I mostly visited the Espresso Cafe which is lovely ... rooms are excellent and very comfortable.

The Reception staff is well behaved and helpful at all times.Special thanks for Abdullah the Night in-charge who make my stay very comfortable from the check-in to the check-out.

Room Tip: Club Room is excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank david k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrownePlazaKuwait, Director of Front Office Operations at Holiday Inn Kuwait Al Thuraya City, responded to this review, February 9, 2013
Dear david k,

Thank you for taking your time in sharing your feedback with regard to your recent stay at Crowne Plaza Hotel Kuwait.

We are happy to know that you liked the facilities we have to offer you as well as the variety of restaurants we have available for you.

Your positive feedback with regard to our colleague Abdullah will be shared to the team as well as to him. It was our pleasure to know that you had a very comfortable stay with us.

We hope to welcome you again and thank you for choosing Crowne Plaza Kuwait.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

One of the finest hotels in Kuwait with facilities perfectly suited for both Business and Personal travelers. The Spa, multiple restaurants, location and above all the Staff are the positives.
I frequently visit Kuwait and choose Crown Plaza every-time because of all the above facts which makes it a Home Away Home.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RaveeKumar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrownePlazaKuwait, Director of Front Office Operations at Holiday Inn Kuwait Al Thuraya City, responded to this review, February 9, 2013
Dear RaveeKumar,

Thank you so much for your continuous loyalty to Crowne Plaza Hotel in Kuwait.

Our valued guest’s comfort is our top priority and making them feel at home is our goal. With your comments above, you have made us feel we are right on track!

We hope to welcome you back again on your next visit in Kuwait.

Best Regards,

Maya Taher
Director of Front Office Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

I spent 3 nights in this hotel for a business trip and I will be back for any other trip to Kuwait.
very nice reception staff (Jouda) when they keep smiling to people /
very good seafood restaurant and service quality

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sahbi Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrownePlazaKuwait, Director of Front Office Operations at Holiday Inn Kuwait Al Thuraya City, responded to this review, February 9, 2013
Dear Sahbi Z,

Thank you for taking your time in sharing your feedback here in Tripadvisor.

We are always pleased to hear positive feedbacks about our colleagues and rest assured this will be shared with the team especially Jouda. We’re also glad to hear that you liked Al Nhoukaza restaurant which has a good variety of seafood dishes. You are most welcome to try other 8 more restaurants we have available at the hotel, whichever suits your taste.

We are looking forward to welcoming you again at Crowne Plaza Kuwait.

Best Regards,

Maya Taher
Director of Front Office Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

I am currently still staying at this hotel and I've got to say that it's brilliant. From the moment that I arrived the service has been excellent. I've tried a couple of the eight restaurants offering Indian cuisine and the steak bar. The quality of the food has been very high and the level of service the same. The breakfast buffet is vast and caters for all tastes. The food, whilst expensive, is not ridiculously so. The general facilities are very good and the spar is well worth a visit. My room is spacious and well equipped and the bed very comfortable. I am coming back.m returning here in three weeks time and am already looking forward to

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Roy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrownePlazaKuwait, Director of Front Office Operations at Holiday Inn Kuwait Al Thuraya City, responded to this review, February 9, 2013
Dear Roy W,

Thank you for taking your time in sharing your feedback with regard to your stay at Crowne Plaza Kuwait.

We are glad to hear that you’re very happy with the service we are providing you with. It also gives us great pleasure to know that you liked the quality of food we have at our newly opened Indian Restaurant Jamawar and our Rib Eye Steak house.

As our valued guest, we believe that you deserve only the best and we hope to welcome you again at Crowne Plaza Hotel Kuwait.

Best Regards,

Maya Taher
Director of Front Office Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kuwait City hotels
6.4 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Kuwait
5.1 mi away
Movenpick Hotel Kuwait
Movenpick Hotel Kuwait
#5 of 66 in Kuwait City
4.5 of 5 stars 458 reviews
6.5 mi away
The Regency Kuwait
The Regency Kuwait
#2 of 12 in Salmiyah
4.5 of 5 stars 441 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.8 mi away
Jumeirah Messilah Beach Hotel & Spa
6.3 mi away
Ibis Salmiya
Ibis Salmiya
#16 of 66 in Kuwait City
4.0 of 5 stars 392 reviews
5.2 mi away
Ibis Sharq Kuwait
Ibis Sharq Kuwait
#12 of 66 in Kuwait City
4.0 of 5 stars 264 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Kuwait Al Thuraya City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Kuwait Al Thuraya City

Property: Holiday Inn Kuwait Al Thuraya City
Address: P.O. Box 18544 Farwaniya, Kuwait City 81006, Kuwait (Formerly Crowne Plaza Kuwait City)
Phone Number:
Location: Kuwait > Kuwait City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Kuwait City
#5 Business Hotel in Kuwait City
#7 Spa Hotel in Kuwait City
#10 Luxury Hotel in Kuwait City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Holiday Inn Kuwait Al Thuraya City 5*
Number of rooms: 296
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn Kuwait Al Thuraya City is the authentic urban resort and business hotel in Kuwait. We are conveniently located within 20 minutes from the major government & corporate offices, and only 5 minutes to Avenues, 360 Shopping Mall and Golf Club. Kuwait International Airport is only a 5-minute drive away. Business and leisure travelers alike will appreciate the lush grounds and the prestigious High ways in which you will find many experiences to last a lifetime. Enjoy the largest free-form swimming pool. Holiday Inn Kuwait Al Thuraya City offers 300 guestrooms with a variety of Pool view, suites and club floor rooms. The Hotel is equipped to host business meetings & social gatherings with eighteen flexible function rooms, and three grand ballrooms that accommodates up to 500 guests. 24-hour business centre with high-speed Internet access and Free Wi-Fi in all the guest rooms and meeting rooms that make doing business a snap. We offer wide choice of restaurants serving International cuisine, Iranian, Japanese, Middle Eastern, Far Eastern, American and seafood specialties. The renowned Spa and health Club invites guests to a variety of marvelous experiences with outstanding recreational facilities including a 24-hour gym, tennis, squash, swimming pools and numerous massage treatments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire, Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Holiday Inn Kuwait Al Thuraya City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Hotel Kuwait City
Crowne Plaza Kuwait City
Holiday Inn Kuwait Al Thuraya City Kuwait City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing