We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good staying”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Kuwait Al Thuraya City
Ranked #7 of 69 Hotels in Kuwait City
Certificate of Excellence
Pavia, Italy
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good staying”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2011

The hotel is very good.
Facilies in the room are very nice, for example dvd player and bose hi-fi in the room.
Unfortunately the location is not so good, is near the airport, so outside the hotel there is almost nothing, moreover a Kuwaiti-friend tell me that area is dangerous for foreigners (robbery).
Anyway I had more than one month very pleasure stay, restaurant are very good inside the hotel and very wide choice, SPA is very nice as well.
Only weak point is about organisation... every morning for more than one month I had to ask to the waitress for coffee spoon at breakfast (just as example), or often I ask a transport for certain time and there was some delay.
Anyway very good hotel.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cheche_80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrownePlazaKuwait, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Kuwait Al Thuraya City, responded to this review, November 21, 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience through tripadvisor. We do appreciate hearing from our valued guest, as their comments are vital for us to continue improving our facilities and services offered.

The restaurant experience that you mentioned has been brought to the attention of our Director of Food and Beverage and the Outlet Manager for an immediate revision, while the lack of service is unusual and not the standard of Crowne Plaza Kuwait and we thank you for candid feedback.

Having said and as part of our commitment towards the safety of our guest, the hotel surrounding will be further observed and reinforced.

Once again, thank you for your thoughtful comments and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Crowne Plaza Hotel, where you may be assured of our best service at all times.

Best regards,

Elezi Zekirija
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

509 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    307
    158
    27
    6
    11
See reviews for
36
17
23
392
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (146)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kuwait City, Kuwait
Level Contributor
809 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 523 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2011

clean hotel , calm, normal furniture.
near the airport .
Great location if you like walk to small shopping area near the hotel.


i do not like restaurants because some p[people smoke citrate and hookah smoke espically
in Lebanon restaurant (Ayam Zaman) in sipte of i like sea food restaurant travelzad (النوخذة)
bad pool, weak internet,bad Gym very crowded

Room Tip: I stay one day to celebrate in special occasion
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TaherAlbaghliJulian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrownePlazaKuwait, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Kuwait Al Thuraya City, responded to this review, November 13, 2011
Dear Guest,

It is with great concern and disappointment to read about your experience at the pool, health club and our internet speed.

Indeed it is not an intention to provide average experience and every effort are being made to ensure that it is not repeated. The speed of the internet connection has been re-checked as well as the comments regarding our gym have been shared with the management. Rest assured that all the measures have been tuned for an immediate revision.

Thank you for bringing these shortfalls to our attention, as with out that we cannot hope to be the hotel of choice in Kuwait.

Best regards,

Elezi Zekirija
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuwait City, Kuwait
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2011

Wow what a great hotel and staff! From the first greeting at the front desk the staff was always polite with a smile on there face with a relax demeaner that didn't seem forced. Shows that there must be a good supervisorary staff also that workers seem to like being there. The room was nice and always stocked every day with some nice fruit and water. The resteraunts were also very good I was able to try several of them out in the resteraunt amd in room service which was very fast.
Like to thank Elena for her proffesionalism and her helpfulness. Many times during my eight day stay she helped out. She was a saver with her suggetions when looking for Krispy Crems to take to a meeting!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrownePlazaKuwait, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Kuwait Al Thuraya City, responded to this review, November 13, 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking time to let us know of your experience during your recent stay at the Crowne Plaza Kuwait.

We are always pleased to receive praise and acknowledgement and it is truly rewarding when a guest recognizes the efforts of our team and takes the time to say Thank you.

Your comments will be shared with the Front Desk team and Elena as reinforcement to continue their efforts to make the Crowne Plaza Kuwait a leader in excellence.

Once again, thank you for your positive review. We look forward to the opportunity of serving you in the future. Thank you for choosing IHG InterContinental Hotels Group.

Best regards,

Elezi Zekirija
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2011

Honestly, I can't believe how professional the room service staff were. From my extensive travels, they're the first waiters I've encountered that don't rudely wait for a tip, a big deal if you're traveling and don't have small currency on hand. Even the language and tone they use, i.e. their communication skills, were better than that of many directors and managers I know. And, yes I did tip them well :)
In addition, they actually take you through the menu which is great to make sure that it's what you've ordered and you don't have to call room service again.
The people answering the phones are also amazing as they are always enunciate the menu perfectly and accommodate whatever weird order you have.
The lavender spray for the pillow is awesome.
I just wish the hotel is more welcoming when you arrive - I felt like a security threat at first!

Room Tip: Make sure you don't get the side room view unless you love ghettos.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ammar K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgnorth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2011

This was my first trip to Kuwait and hopefully not my last as I really enjoyed my stay at this beautiful hotel. Staff were pleasant and efficient and could not do enough. I was working delivering training so it was fantastic to come back to the hotel and try out one of the restaurants. There are 7 altogether and all have tasty food and great service. Next time I would love to try the spa. My room was spacious and had a panoramic view over the city. Could not be better for my first trip. Thank you Crowne Plaza.

Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Jill M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrownePlazaKuwait, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Kuwait Al Thuraya City, responded to this review, November 6, 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your positive comments in particular pointing out the efficiency of the staff, restaurants and the food experience you had. Your comments are indeed very much appreciated.

Your satisfaction is our most important goal and it will not only make our hotel successful but also our work more satisfying.

The team and I are looking forward to welcoming you back at your home away from home.

Best regards,

Elezi Zekirija
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2011

My family and I have just retuned after a 5 night stay at the Crowne Plaza Kuwait. We booked our stay through my priority club points; (I’m a platinum card holder) We were greeted on check-in by Elena, guest services repersentive who was expecting us and escorted us to our club rooms on the 8th floor. The rooms are well appointed, beds very comfortable with ample tea and coffee provided with fresh fruit and bottled water supplied daily. For a great meal at a reasonable price try the Ayam Zaman Lebanese Restaurant

Throughout our stay Elena kept in touch making sure everything was OK for us and even arranged for a cake and handwritten card to be placed in my daughters bedroom on her birthday, nice touch. The girls made use of the gym and new Spa Aquatonic and said it was “awesome”

I spend a considerable amount of time in hotels and always try and stay at an IHG hotel which possible. The Crowne Plaza Kuwait offers the highest standards I have come across and all members is staff really went out of their way to make our stay special.

A word of caution, Michael at National car hire looked after us with car hire, but driver beware if you intend driving in Kuwait!!!

An awesome trip for our girls to show them where they went to school and spent part of their childhood, made all the more special by our stay at the Crowne Plaza Kuwait. Thank You.

Room Tip: Ask for a room which overlooks the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mick C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2011

This is by far the best hotel, I've stayed in a long time. It is great for business, with courteous staff and in a secure location. Many restaurants inside the hotel, I didn't have to venture outside the city.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jayjo_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrownePlazaKuwait, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Kuwait Al Thuraya City, responded to this review, November 6, 2011
Dear Guest,

We are grateful to receive such remarkable comments on the services provided to you during your stay, wonderful and positive remarks about the staff and the hotel atmosphere.

Rest assured that your feedback will inspire us to continue to give the best experience to all our guests.

We look forward to the opportunity of serving you again in the near future.

Best regards,

Elezi Zekirija
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kuwait City hotels
6.2 mi away
Movenpick Hotel Kuwait
Movenpick Hotel Kuwait
#8 of 69 in Kuwait City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 577 reviews
9.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Kuwait
Holiday Inn Kuwait
#6 of 69 in Kuwait City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 426 reviews
7.6 mi away
Ibis Sharq Kuwait
Ibis Sharq Kuwait
#11 of 69 in Kuwait City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 330 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.5 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Kuwait
7.3 mi away
Jumeirah Messilah Beach Hotel & Spa
7.9 mi away
The Regency Kuwait
The Regency Kuwait
#2 of 13 in Salmiyah
4.5 of 5 bubbles 499 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Kuwait Al Thuraya City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Kuwait Al Thuraya City

Property: Holiday Inn Kuwait Al Thuraya City
Address: P.O. Box 18544 Farwaniya, Kuwait City 81006, Kuwait (Formerly Crowne Plaza Kuwait City)
Phone Number:
Location: Kuwait > Kuwait City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Kuwait City
#4 Spa Hotel in Kuwait City
#5 Business Hotel in Kuwait City
#7 Luxury Hotel in Kuwait City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Holiday Inn Kuwait Al Thuraya City 5*
Number of rooms: 296
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn Kuwait Al Thuraya City is the authentic urban resort and business hotel in Kuwait. We are conveniently located within 20 minutes from the major government & corporate offices, and only 5 minutes to Avenues, 360 Shopping Mall and Golf Club. Kuwait International Airport is only a 5-minute drive away. Business and leisure travelers alike will appreciate the lush grounds and the prestigious High ways in which you will find many experiences to last a lifetime. Enjoy the largest free-form swimming pool. Holiday Inn Kuwait Al Thuraya City offers 300 guestrooms with a variety of Pool view, suites and club floor rooms. The Hotel is equipped to host business meetings & social gatherings with eighteen flexible function rooms, and three grand ballrooms that accommodates up to 500 guests. 24-hour business centre with high-speed Internet access and Free Wi-Fi in all the guest rooms and meeting rooms that make doing business a snap. We offer wide choice of restaurants serving International cuisine, Iranian, Japanese, Middle Eastern, Far Eastern, American and seafood specialties. The renowned Spa and health Club invites guests to a variety of marvelous experiences with outstanding recreational facilities including a 24-hour gym, tennis, squash, swimming pools and numerous massage treatments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Kuwait Al Thuraya City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Hotel Kuwait City
Crowne Plaza Kuwait City
Holiday Inn Kuwait Al Thuraya City Kuwait City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing