We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Poor”

Kuwait National Museum
Ranked #34 of 83 things to do in Kuwait City
Attraction details
Kuwait City, Kuwait
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Poor”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2013

It needs a lot of renovation and maintenance ..very old. Sadly for a national museum, thought it has so many useful information

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Rawan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    14
    23
    7
    7
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
ne england
Level Contributor
177 reviews
70 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“limited to Failaka island + some tableaux of Kuwaiti life”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 4, 2013

our taxi driver didn't know where it was...well it's behind the Sadu museum, you can see the big boat from the road...pity not all the tableaux are labelled in English as when they were it was interesting. In another room the Failaka exhibition was excellent. Doesn't take long to go round as there isn't a lot, but I was glad to have done it

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank roeyNeEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
39 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Strange but indicative of the rest of the country”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2013

If you want to get a good feel for how Kuwaitis prioritize their heritage (i.e. not at all) over frenzied "a la Western" consumerism, then go to this museum... All the previous reviewers have said it already, the place is a mess but it's still worth a visit.
I did learn there that Failaka island was inhabited long ago and by the Greeks under Alexander the Great, which I had no idea about, and there were a few interesting artefacts of that period and objects from the digs on the island.
The Heritage Museum part contains many scenes of daily traditional life, mainly centered around souk life and the traditional trades, so young kids will enjoy these, and there were some odd objects and old photographs of Kuwait there to interest adults too now and then. Even my 12 year old found it interesting, despite the obvious lack of financial means put into creating those scenes and the questionable accuracy of some of the displays, I'm sure.
Currently, the traditional house (Bayt), which is also in the enclosure of the museum, is closed for renovations. No telling how long it will stay that way, of course...

We didn't get to see the Planetarium because even though the museum is open late (until 20h30), the last show in the planetarium is at 18h30.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Geraldine R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Dull”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2013

Not much to see, poorly labelled and explained. No fault of the Kuwaitis - this is due to their artefacts being commandeered by Iraq during the war - but really there's not much to see.

It does have a planetarium and my students quite liked it.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank wensdazechyld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
318 reviews
75 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 200 helpful votes
“Unusual, somewhat unsettling experience”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2013

The previous reviewers have captured the main points: The museum is free of charge, but if it wasn't I can't imagine too many people paying to visit it. Most of the site is essentially a dilapidated, ransacked ruin. The exhibits which are open have an odd feel about them, with much of the material on display not being particularly old, nor particularly unique to Kuwait (much of it is of western origin). There is one room that contains a collection of pottery fragments, coins and cookware from the Greek period on Failaka Island. This would be more interesting with some improved explanation.

However, I found the experience of walking around the complex somehow worth the trip, if only to get a feel for what much of Kuwait must have been like after the invasion. But the invasion was 23 years ago and it's a sad testimony to the priorities in Kuwait that the museum is still in a state of ruin, while banks, palaces, and other buildings stand around in beautiful condition with obviously enormous amounts of money having been spent on them.

Apparently what survived the invasion is currently in other museums (London and New York); perhaps another visit in 10 or 20 years time might show the museum in a better light.

Opening hours, which seemed to be correct during my visit:
08:30-12:00 & 16:00-19:00

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank TheGumnuts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kuwait National Museum also viewed

 

Been to Kuwait National Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing