We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good”
Review of Mais Alghanim

Mais Alghanim
Ranked #2 of 627 Restaurants in Kuwait City
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $30
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions, Large groups, Scenic view, Families with children, Business meetings, Kids
Dining options: Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Delivery, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Television, Valet Parking, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: The history of Mais Alghanim Restaurant dates back to the previous century when our founding father Edmond Barakat (Abu Emile), opened a canteen for the employees of Yusuf Ahmed Alghanim & Sons Co., called “Mess Alghanim”.Over time, strong ties and personal relations grew between Abu Emile, Kuwaiti, and Expatriate Families extending over three phases and three generations. The first phase commenced in 1953 during which complete meals and take-away services were offered transforming the canteen into a restaurant for one and all.In 1974, Emile Barakat (Abu Edmond) presided over the business from his late father marking the beginning of the second phase. Under his leadership, the restaurant moved to the old Kuwait television station in 1987 where it was registered at the Ministry of Commerce and Industry in the name of Yusuf Ahmed Alghanim & Sons Co. It was at this time that the name was changed from“Mess Alghanim” to “Mais Alghanim”.Abu Edmond’s vision brought Mais Alghanim forward into the beginning of the third phase in 2003, to its present location, a building of true traditional Kuwaiti design, preserving the heritage and genuine tradition. With further development of this phase, Mais Alghanim continued the journey of hospitality by opening its doors to welcome guests at a new location in Mahboula in 2010.Hence, after more than 50 years of successful service, the late Abu Edmond’s brothers and eldest son continue to welcome you with the same spirit through Generations of Genuine Hospitality, and Good Food
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good”
Reviewed August 5, 2014 via mobile

I visited Mais el ghanem for ghabka the food improved a lot since last year visit taste and presentation need to work morr on their service.
We watched the world cup, TV was very Far.
I think they changed the chef.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mariotti67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

871 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    422
    342
    69
    23
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Kuwait City, Kuwait
Level Contributor
102 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Very dependable”
Reviewed August 3, 2014

A solid choice from ages. Consistent and convivial and one of the oldest maybe restaurants in Kuwait. Still going strong after 25 years that I know of. Mostly Lebanese grills and shisha. These are the mainstays. Prices reasonable. Mostly good service. Fun and decent; both my much better half and myself go periodically. A good place for going as a group.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ahpincis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suzhou, China
Level Contributor
136 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“A long established restaurant which is a favourite with locals and expats”
Reviewed July 21, 2014

I have been to this restaurant many times (and their previous location further down the gulf road which was somewhat more down to earth). The food is simple and tasty and the home delivery service is also good. I'd recommend the chicken livers in pomegranate sauce!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Padburygal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuwait City, Kuwait
Level Contributor
161 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Authentic Lebanese”
Reviewed July 12, 2014

Taste of the authentic Lebanese dishes, one of the Famous lebanese restaurant in Kuwait ,cozy nice place to eat with reasonable prices
Must Try :
Lentil Soup
Tabouli
Muhammara
Hummus
Fattoush
Warag Anab
Shish Tawook
Lamb Kabab
Arayes
Fried Chicken Liver
Kabbab Khishkhash
Tikka
Chicken Breast Pané
Etc ....

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bobader
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Mais oui, c'est Mais!”
Reviewed July 9, 2014

Ramadan 2014, Iftar 07/08
No. of Pax: 3

Ambience: 5 stars
Food: 5 stars
Service: 2.5 stars
Valet: 3 stars
Overall: 4 stars
Oomph factor: freshly sourced produce from the Lebanon.

Me and my family and Mais Alghanim go back a long way; 1985 to be precise when we first started Friday lunching with them at their then newly opened seafacing property on the Hilton Corniche, a few short yards from Dasman Palace. If anything the Mais has only grown since then from strength to strength both in terms of food variety on the menu and the level of comfort they offer- well almost but not quite. That they decided to take their signature coriander infused Dajjaj Shawarma (and awash with mint) off the menu didn't sit well with me for a long time but you learn to forgive a friend and move on.Every time I think of them I get very emotional (almost senti you could say) for it is here we were dining into the early hours of that ill fated morning of the Iraqi invasion on 02 Aug. This was to be our last sit down meal at a restaurant we so cherished in the pre-invasion Kuwait.
Fast forward to 2014: the Mais is every bit the same old wine in a new bottle. Arguably, the best Lebanese restaurant outside of Lebanon the Mais is a family centric, very large group friendly non alcoholic resto-bar of sorts. It is a sheesha enabled diner that does all manner of flavored tobacco and tar free sheeshas so what if they don't do the Sex on the Beach-I am not complaining. The evening we chose to dine with them was intensely atmospheric due in no small part to the Iftar gathering happening there of the Phoenician riders among other groups. Can't tell if it's a pet friendly place though, since local custom dictates people not bring their chihuahuas and their favorite Persian cats with them to dinner but I guess, if you have a well trained Dalmatian on a leash, getting in should not be a problem. I was pretty pleased finding out they even have their own quality and safety policy written down: something that's reflected in the automatic sliding doors opening out to traffic in the courtyard which necessitates minors be accompanied by adults in order for the door to slide open.
Now coming to the heart of the matter. The food is right up there; this is one place that knows its mezzeh better than most other Libanese places I know of in town. The mezzeh, the hot Arabic bread and the fruit juices are for me the star draw of eating out at Mess Alghanim. A word of caution to light eaters: the portion size of hors d'oeuvres is such that you could be forgiven for thinking you are out eating in North America. We had the tabbouleh, finely chopped mixed green salad and baba ghanoush for hors d'oeuvres and the grilled shrimp and Hammour tikka with saffron rice for the entrees. We had to give dessert a miss as we were thoroughly satiated but they do carry a good selection of Arabic pastry, ice cream and coffee. Can't remember though, if the ice cream's home made and whether or not they do my favorite
Arabic pastry: Namoura. CBK card holders in Kuwait rejoice! They even do a 10 per cent discount on your bill as part of a Ramadan promotion.
Cost of the meal: KD 17.750 marked down to KD.16

The upside: freshly sourced food from Lebanon with a citrusy hint
Designate floor for sheesha lovers who want to mix smoking with their food
Casually chic atmosphere with a cosmopolitan feel
Choice of complimentary welcome drink for the Holy month: apricot juice, Laban or
Vimto together with dates

The downside: valet can take up to 10 mins or even longer to fetch your car
No weekend reservations accepted
Dajjaj Shawerma- a disappearing act from the Mais Menu can leave you feeling
amazed

Suggestion to management: introduce masht-o-khiyar and bring back Dajjaj Shawerma

Long and short of it: Great value for Money

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Raj K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mais Alghanim also viewed

 

Been to Mais Alghanim? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing