We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Steaks in a class of their own”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Gaucho Grill - CLOSED

The Gaucho Grill
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Level Contributor
150 reviews
93 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Steaks in a class of their own”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2013

Kuwait's well know for its cuisine, so any restaurant which manages to stand out serving mainly steaks has got to be something special. My colleague and I went to the Gaucho on a Thursday night, the busiest night of the week at The Avenues shopping mall. Yet the restaurant was empty when we got there at 8. We needn't have worried, the Argentinian themed restaurant was a real find. I had the beef sirloin chorizo style which was sensational and my colleague had a plain rump which was equally tender and delicious. Their thin, hand made chips are awesome along with very tasty grilled asparagus. All in all a tremendous experience on the food front. The service was a bit iffy: three different members of staff asked us whether everything was alright, which we thought was a bit excessive.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ComptonScotty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

66 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    28
    20
    9
    6
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
106 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Good quality steak, but far from being world class”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2013

Kuwait's dining options are abound, but they're mostly all fluff, very little substance. The Gaucho Grill walks the walk, but doesn't really talk the talk. You'll get quality meat and all associated fanfare, but somewhere along the line - from the skillet to the grill - something goes wrong and the end result is a mediocre steak that is rarely cooked the way you expect to be (e.g. medium is sometimes too rare, or too cooked).

All in all though, you'd be hard pressed to find a better steak house in Kuwait, so if you have a sudden carnivorous craving, this is probably your best bet.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Amhelmy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salmiyah, Kuwait
Level Contributor
101 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Normal standard.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2013

The quality and quantity don't differ than any other steak house; the only difference comes in your bill. When I Chose poor I was meaning the overall experience.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank MonsefMourad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuwait City, Kuwait
Level Contributor
101 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Dependable”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2013

Gaucho is the place to go if you're in the mood for a good steak. I've never been one of their diehard fans; the restaurant is decent but the flavors never blow me away.
I don't like the decor or seating area, but if you're a big party call ahead and reserve one of the booths/rooms which are very comfortable and well lit. Service is great but this restaurant does get busy at dinner time so make sure you call ahead.

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Fatmahal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
285 reviews
112 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 157 helpful votes
“Exotic experience.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2012

One of the best fish markets i have seen in the world. Great variety, expert vendors, good prices. Located right beside one of the most popular malls in the city and just right beside the bay area.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Vic A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Gaucho Grill also viewed

Salmiyah, Kuwait City
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing