We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fair enough”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Cristal Grand Ishtar Hotel
Ranked #5 of 19 Hotels in Baghdad
Reviewed March 17, 2013

I can give a very simple review for this hotel
It is fair enough or it is absolutely good according to the current status in Bagdad
Fair in food quality
Welcomed team
We can classify the room quality by good or very good
I advise to get river view rooms

Room Tip: River view
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Maenaddassi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (28)
There are newer reviews for Cristal Grand Ishtar Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

17 - 23 of 28 reviews

Reviewed December 19, 2012

Reading the reviews before my journey to Baghdad, I was expecting a very bad hotel.
Restaurant is not exclusively high quality but not a bad one either. The hotel could use more personel for cleaning and all other services but in a place like Baghdad, it may not be as easy as one would thought.

The decoration of the rooms was very nice. The room was clean and quiet. It had a very nice view, however it was blocked with a wooden shutter, which is normal considering that the safety issue.

The Gılgamesh Meeting room was like a room from a palace.

I guess it is better not to have so high hopes before coming, it was not a disappointing experience at all from my side.

If Baghdad reaches its glorious days once again, I bet this hotel again will be a real five star hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Halit A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2012

Very run down in general, rooms comfortable but a bit outdated. Problem with language barrier, luckily i had an interpreter in the room next door so he was able to help. This was a working trip and the weather was scorching. I will return to baggers but seek different place to stay.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank McVicar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2012

An old hotel, surely be high class at its earlist ages, with no proper service, room I stayed was good and clean. The noise of elevator is terrible, no facilities like wireless at rooms, the breakfast is not bad but resturant food with bad service is not very good, any way there is a very less chance to choose very good hotel there. I as a buisiness visitor, not unsatisfied for my stay there. choose the floors from 6 and so on becouse of lobby noise, the view of top stores to city is ver goodf

Room Tip: choose floors 6 to 17 and corner rooms which are somehow expensive
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Hamid F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2012

The hotel is very well placed to travel around the city. But there are other options closeby which can also be tried. The staff lacks in training. Language is a much bigger barrier. Ordered food nevery come on time and the item ordered is invariably wrong served. Some rooms also have their bath rooms leaking, however, the hotel management is not considerate to these matters.

Room Tip: Keep only crisp quality currency notes, as they don't accept notes with even a slight damage.
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank h_rahat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2012

It looked like a high class and prosperous hotel at least before war.

Recently most of facilities are closed but restaurent.
No gym... Out door pool shall be open on comming May I heard but not sure.

Room is not bad. interior is too good in comparison with another facility.

The problem is noise.
During my stay, electric generators have been being operated all day long even night time
because of providing electricity.
It's very bad for pleasant sleeping.

On the ground floor, there are several meeting rooms and lecture rooms which are well decorated. It's good for business meeting.

Ishtar hotel can be an appropriate choice for business man who want to have various meetings with Iraqi domestic companies or partners.

Please don't expect too much. It's Baghdad.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Kwonok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: March 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank Dmitry_Kopylov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mazen A, Front Office Manager at Cristal Grand Ishtar Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 5, 2017

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Baghdad hotels
2.3 mi away
Babylon Warwick Hotel
Babylon Warwick Hotel
#1 of 19 in Baghdad
80 reviews
2.6 mi away
Coral Baghdad Hotel
Coral Baghdad Hotel
#2 of 19 in Baghdad
35 reviews
1.6 mi away
Al Mansour Hotel
Al Mansour Hotel
#4 of 19 in Baghdad
16 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Royal Tulip Al Rasheed Hotel
1.3 mi away
Rimal Hotel
Rimal Hotel
#8 of 19 in Baghdad
5 reviews
0.0 mi away
Shanashel Palace Hotel
Shanashel Palace Hotel
#10 of 19 in Baghdad
1 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cristal Grand Ishtar Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cristal Grand Ishtar Hotel

Address: Sadoun Street, Baghdad, Iraq
Location: Iraq > Baghdad Province > Baghdad
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 19 Hotels in Baghdad
Price Range: $214 - $217 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 307
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Cristal Grand Ishtar Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing