We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“I loved that....”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Tehran
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Parsian Esteghlal International Hotel
Ranked #46 of 58 Hotels in Tehran
Tehran, Iran
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“I loved that....”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2012

i loved the atmosphere,in near past it has been much more attractive for sure,you can see the remain loyalty on each part of the hotel..it has some traffic jam around it and it is due to its location,that located in one of the most crowded part of Tehran...but it has nice environment...Hospitality is good..i hope you enjoy your stay...PS:the street near this Hotel,Vali e Asr Street really worth to walk through...at North end of this street one of the most famous part of Tehran is located :Tajrish .it has so many shops and 2 mall to enjoy your time.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nazanin K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

410 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    102
    162
    76
    50
See reviews for
21
25
31
279
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow
Level Contributor
29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2012

Oh....The phrase 'Grand Hotel'. What does it actually mean? Whatever it means, it certainly doesn't apply here.

Look, I'm a bachelor, I live on my own and can be pretty sometimes. I am an utter slob, and I found the hotel to smell. It smells of old peoples homes.

My friend gave me a lift to the hotel, he was going to come and give me a hand with the luggage. They wouldn't let him up. I have no idea why but they wouldnt. The dude thats meant to help you with the luggage was no where to be found.

The rooms smell the carpet smells, the shower does this burning hot/freezing cold thing. There was no one else in my floor, which was a bit creepy, I think it was because I was a bloke staying alone, and I was put away in a corner to preserve some kind of chastity thing.

I wouldnt go back,but i hear its the best hotel in Iran. If thats the case, they really need to invest in some training maybe send their staff to a real hotel, so they can experience clean sheets, non springy beds. Buy some carpet cleaner. Paint? You know, the general upkeep stuff.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 1014772047
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Level Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2012

I am sure this hotel has had some glorious days in the past before the 1979 revolution.But by no standards is it a 5 star hotel. Staff are very friendly and cant do enough for you. But thats the Iranian hospitality these people are known for.The limitations of the Islamic country gets in the way of any fun that could be going on. One of the staff took me to the ex-bar area and it was so 70's.
Its far too expensive for what it is BUT your choices are limited when it comes to hotels in Iran.
I would not stay again coz it was just extortionate.Rooms are old and the furniture is dated.
Cant use the outdoor pool since the revolution either.Its such a shame coz it was in high 30s c and could get some serious sun on my back BUT not.

Room Tip: rooms on the south side are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Farpolo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
477 reviews
120 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 325 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2012

All right, the hospitality industry in Iran is far behind the game. So don't expect to get top services. That said, the Esteghlal (formerly Hilton) is probably the best in town, provided you need to be in North Tehran (a safe city but huge with traffic jams so hotel location matters - from the Esteghlal to down-town for instance, it might take up to one hour by car).
Was nicely welcomed and brought to my room. It was well decorated, fairly large with a nice view on the city. The problem though is what seems to be a new hotel extension, but it is unfinished and when I was there nobody was working on. Bathroom was all right with plenty of amenities. Good bed. Free wifi (quick for censored Iranian internet). The only real issue was the housekeeping. I had for instance to ask the duty manager to have my room properly hoovered as it has not been done for at least two days... The other staff were nice and helpful.
There is an outdoor swimming pool but honestly not really inviting to swim (actually didn't see anyone in during my whole stay!). Didn't visit the gym. Business centre looked OK. There are in addition many restaurants in the hotel or in the adjacent shopping centre. For real shopping though, you'd be better off going to the walking distance Vali-e-Asr Avenue.
Last but not least, do not exchange any foreign currency at the hotel: their rate is outrageously bad. It is worth going to the bank before settling your bill.
Bottom line: next time in North Tehran, I'd probably select the Esteghlal again.

Room Tip: Go for the newer building: the price difference is worth it! Don't exchange any foreign currenc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Swissdiver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Limassol, Cyprus
Level Contributor
250 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 164 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2012

I changed from the Espinas Hotel to this one, as it is closer to the long term friends I visit the few times I go to Tehran (contrary to what everybody thinks, a very safe town - except for drivers and pedestrians - with extremely gently people and, hear hear, where Americans are extremely welcome). I still believe the Espinas is better, but this one is not as bad as some comments made me worry about. True, there is a newer part of the Hotel (which also costs more), so remember to ask for this one. The lobby area was quite nice, with a lot of people in the afternoons and a piano player; Internet was free of charge and reasonably fast (and of course censored, but this is Iran not the hotel).
The room was quite ok, so was bathroom and I do not have any complaint. Also, when I asked for a very late check-out, at 6pm, I got it free of charge without any problem.
Breakfast is good and with lots of choices.
So, if the location of this hotel is suitable for you, I can recommend it without problems.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the new area
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank GPS001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
162 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2012

Just spent six nights in Teheran and in the Esteghlal and am still not sure if you have to like it (because there is not much of an alternative?) or rather hate it, because the Hotel definitely lacks maintenance and beafing-up of interior, service, etc.
Staff at the reception is very friendly and helpful. The lady servicing my room seemed far to interested in getting in touch and I felt kind of supervised, monitored what shouldn't come as much of a surprise since the hotel has a certain state-close reputation. The staff - especially the male ones - in the breakfast hall are indifferent, call them unfriendly.
There is a Lebanese restaurant in the hotel which was very popular among (wealthy, Porsche driving) local better-offs, and most probably not only for the European Championship football matches screened aside. Nevr ate there myself though.
My room in the West Tower was basic, but okay. Bathroom must have been redone a couple of years ago, but everything worked and was clean (and cleaned regularly and thoroughly). Since TurkishAirlines yet again didn't manage to get my suitcase on board while changing planes in Istanbul, I was plaesantly surprised that they provide toothbrush and paste as standard items.
The matress was close to nightmare, much too hard, probably old, too, and the pillow of very poor quality. Didn't sleep really well all 6 nights.
They - theoretically - have a spa area on level -1, but I never even managed to try the pool, since it was "under unfortunately constant repair for the time being...".

Don't blame the hotel: this city is LOUD, all day and nicht long !

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HajoL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
127 reviews
93 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2012 via mobile

Well what can you expect. Dont think you are in Beverly Hills or New York. Whatever you get just thank God. Nothing better then a bed.
Lobby seems to be recently renovated. Hotel is in good shape, although I got stuck in the elevator which probably might need another time to talk about it.
Rooms were clean, except for the bathroom.
You get your free mini fridge with water choclates and soft drinks.
Location wise you will need a taxi to anywhere in Tehran its a big city.
The West wing is newer then the East.
But the beds are not comfortable, and the rooms seem to have the air trapped in them for ages.
But nothing else is better, probably the best place to stay at.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Salah_Sharaf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Parsian Esteghlal International Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Parsian Esteghlal International Hotel

Property: Parsian Esteghlal International Hotel
Address: Crossroad of Chamran And Valiasr, Tehran 11369, Iran
Location: Iran > Tehran Province > Tehran
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Tehran
#15 Luxury Hotel in Tehran
Hotel Class:5 star — Parsian Esteghlal International Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 552
Also Known As:
Esteghlal Grand Tehran

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing