We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Memorable Experience, Damavand Trekking, Cultural trip (Shiraz, Isfahan)”
Review of Alibabatrek

Alibabatrek
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Explore Iran's culture historical cities (Shiraz, Isfahan, Kashan, Tehran, Yazd). The trips usually start in Tehran. You'll see the most famous places in these cities and get familiar with their culture. these trips usually take from 4 days to 5. Experience the adrenaline of trekking and skiing on Iran's highest peaks such as Damavand (the highest mountain in Iran), Sahand, Sabalan, and some other 4000 meters peaks. Also, try 4WD and offroad tours in Iran's famous deserts and jungles.
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities, Stairs / elevator, Lockers / storage, Food available for purchase
Reviewed July 1, 2018

My friend and I had long planned for visiting Iran as our friends who had visited Iran last year have had great memories and a lot to share from their trip, we looked at different agencies and eventually we decided to go with Alibabatrek, the main motivation was their website, as their websites looked quite professional and neat, they were quite responsive and flexible we selected a private Iran tour, who was originally visiting two Mountains (Alamkouh and Damavand) and visiting 5 cities (Tehran, Shiraz, Isfahan Kashan and Yazd) but we decided to customize the trip and spend more time on Damavand, Shiraz and Isfahan; they were quite flexible in the booking process and very knowledgeable when it came to giving advices to accommodate our interest when it came to details of the visit we squeezed in a visit to Iranian traditional music concert.

We got the option of online payment which was quite convenient as it was quite a hassle to bring large amount of cash with ourselves, as Iran does not accept credit cards this way we brought minimum amount of cash as in our package all the accommodations and transport and permit fees and almost all the meals were included.

They had very professional, knowledgable guides, their guides in the trekking part were very attentive and supportive and if it was not for them we could not ascend the beautiful mount damavand, we them we felt quite safe and in expert hands. Their cultural guide was extremely knowledgable with many stories to tell about all the monuments and places we visited and it was quite entertaining as well as educative.

We got the chance to visit two very beautiful but less talked about Chapels near Isfahan, It was quite amusing the visit these off the beaten track sites.

During the tour all their guides did their best to make sure we were taken care of the provided internet access through out the trip, and give us beautiful gifts and the end of the trip.

I would really like their services, they were some minor issues with the car that took us to mountain but after we notified them they changed the car on the way back.

Overall we really liked their services and would like to advice them to anyone who wants to take a tour of Iran, specially trekking our culture tours.

Date of experience: June 2018
5  Thank Monica A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Armin K, Guest Relations Manager at Alibabatrek, responded to this reviewResponded July 2, 2018

Dear Monica
Thank you very much for sharing your travel experience you had with @alibabatrek with others on trip advisor.
The fact that you mention our tours were one of the best tours that you have ever been on, means a lot to us.
It is our pleasure that you enjoyed our tour. Because that is exactly what we want for you and our travelers.
Hope to see you again.
Best regards
Alibabatrek

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (20)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"cultural tour"
in 2 reviews
"expert hands"
in 2 reviews
"hotel reservation"
in 2 reviews
"acclimatization"
in 2 reviews
"mountaineer"
in 2 reviews
"agencies"
in 2 reviews
"alibaug"
in 4 reviews
"kindness"
in 2 reviews
"safety"
in 2 reviews
"visa"
in 4 reviews
"organisation"
in 2 reviews
"yazd"
in 3 reviews
"shiraz"
in 4 reviews
"information"
in 4 reviews
"culture"
in 7 reviews
"beauty"
in 2 reviews
Filter

14 - 18 of 20 reviews

Reviewed June 8, 2018 via mobile

I had 2 weeks to agree an itinerary and book my travel as it was all last minute when I knew I had the time to travel. Alibabatrek was the most responsive, flexible and cost effective of the four agents I contacted. Within a few days, we agreed an itinerary based on my requirements and their advice on possibilities and practicality. They also convinced me to apply for my visa ahead of time to give me added comfort on arrival, even though I could do it on arrival, and made all of the arrangements for me. They answered all of my questions promptly and made sure I felt comfortable and safe with the arrangements they were making down to the details of the exact hotel selections. As a single female traveller my safety and compliance with the laws of the country were my highest priority given what is portrayed in the media. I must say I had a very different experience, but I was hopeful I would as I had travelled to other countries with poor media image and found them to be hugely different to what was portrayed.

My guides were all exceptional. They were welcoming, had a wealth of knowledge and passion to share their country with me. They did not just provide positive spins, but were honest and open about both the great and the not so great.

This was more than just a tour. I was afforded the opportunity to try as much of the local food as I liked and experience much of the local life throughout my journey. This included walking and taking public transport with my guides to get the full experience of how people live. Please note, I was not forced to do any of this... they gave me the options and stated it was "as you wish".

They were attentive throughout, checking that I was happy and addressing any issues as they arose. In my opinion, the only real issue I had was a hotel reservation where the requested room type was not what was booked by the hotel. As a single female traveller in a country where women are expected to be covered up, the last thing I wanted was a room without its own toilet and shower. The hotel however booked the wrong room in error and initially stated upon my arrival that they had no other rooms. Alibabatrek dealt with the issue promtly until it was resolved and I got a proper room. They were willing to change hotels if I could not get the required room. I was very impressed with the service. We had other things come up along the way that were outside of their control, but they dealt with them seamlessly. My guide on the road trip, which was the majority of my journey, was exceptional at driving and dealing with all of the crazy encounters we had with other drivers, pedestrians and situations. We even had to deal with a strike that left gas stations with no fuel at the pumps while driving in what for me was the desert. At no time did I feel unsafe. Any decent service provider can deliver what was agreed when there are no issues. However the distinction between that and a really good service provider is their ability to quickly manage and resolve issues as they arise. Alibabatrek rose to each challenge.

I had an amazing first visit to Iran thanks to Alibabatrek and I know it was down to their impeccable service. I could post a million pretty pictures ( I posted quite a few on my instagram suz.lb1), but lets face facts, it is a beautiful country with lovely people and much to offer. You can find pretty pictures online that you can stay at home and watch. As an avid traveller of now 66 countries, what makes the difference is your experience of the people, the culture and the environment. Alibabtrek really brings that to life like no other.

My friend, who has lived in Iran for 13 years now, was in awe at the high level of customer service I received and commented on the fact that she had not experienced or heard of such a high level of service from a tour company in Iran before. She questioned me daily to ensure I was ok.

I can only recommend using Alibabatrek to anyone wanting to have a true Iranian experience customised to their travel needs and taste.

Date of experience: June 2018
7  Thank 730suzannel730
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Armin K, Guest Relations Manager at Alibabatrek, responded to this reviewResponded July 8, 2018

Dear Suzanne
Thank you very much for sharing your travel experience you had with @alibabatrek with others on trip advisor with details
The fact that you mention our tours were not just a tour and our tour guides were honest and exceptional, means a lot to us.
It is our pleasure that you enjoyed our tour. Because that is exactly what we want for you and our travelers.
Hope to see you again.
Best regards
Alibabatrek

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2018

My friend and I visited Iran in April for an 8-day customized cultural tour. After contacting a number of agencies in Iran, we chose Alibabatrek because of the professional advice and responsiveness, and we didn't regret it.

From the trip organisation to the final departure, the team made us feel very welcome, safe and having fun at all times.

We arrived in Shiraz and traveled to Tehran stopping at the nomad camp, Yazd, Isfahan, Kashan and visiting Abyaneh (a quirky traditional village).

The guides were very knowledgeable and were able to give a lot of information on the history, culture, music, food, modern life in Iran.

Thanks to Alibabatrek we left Iran wanting to go back to this amazing country and explore more. Special thanks to Ali, Mona, and Ali (in Isfahan), who made our trip an unforgettable experience.

Date of experience: April 2018
7  Thank ElenaK4431
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Armin K, Guest Relations Manager at Alibabatrek, responded to this reviewResponded July 8, 2018

Dear Elena
Thank you very much for sharing your travel experience you had with @alibabatrek with others on trip advisor.
The fact that you mention you felt very welcome , safe and had fun, means a lot to us.
It is our pleasure that you enjoyed our tour. Because that is exactly what we want for you and our travelers.
Hope to see you again.
Best regards
Alibabatrek

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2018

My husband and I are just back from Iran, where we did a guided Damavand trekking tour with Alibabatrek. We were not fully prepared and decided on the trip a few days before leaving the US.

Our experience with Ali and Milad was wonderful. They were thoughtful and accommodating. We climbed up another mountain the day before to acclimatize ourselves. Milad, our guide in Damavand, was quick to recognize the bad weather coming our way. Although we did not climb up to the top (we did not plan to), we came back with great memories and mental pictures of the beautiful landscape.
The meals and accommodation were authentic. We also enjoyed the hot springs after the long hike.

Ali and Milad are both very passionate about mountaineering and their passion is contagious. They are also knowledgeable, patient and considerate. We truly enjoyed the time we spent with them.

Date of experience: May 2018
6  Thank pshokouhi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Armin K, Guest Relations Manager at Alibabatrek, responded to this reviewResponded July 8, 2018

Dear Parisa
Thank you very much for sharing your travel experience you had with @alibabatrek with others on trip advisor.
The fact that you mention our tour guides were knowledgeable, patient and consideratw, means a lot to us.
It is our pleasure that you enjoyed our tour. Because that is exactly what we want for you and our travelers.
Hope to see you again.
Best regards
Alibabatrek

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed March 18, 2018 via mobile

In February, Me and my mum decided to go to Iran (Tahran and Isfahan) however we didnt have any travel plan. Thanks to Alibaba Trek they offered us different plans and costumed our trips according to our preferences. Within 4 days, they were always near to us and tried to show us real life of Iran besides all historical places. All guides were so friendly and so well informed! I highly recommend their services and guidance. I hope we will come to Iran at next Nevruz time and discover different cities with Alibaba Trek :) special thanks to Ali in Tahran, Ali in Isfahan and Mohamad :)

Date of experience: February 2018
7  Thank Seraozel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Armin K, Guest Relations Manager at Alibabatrek, responded to this reviewResponded July 8, 2018

Dear Seraozel
Thank you very much for sharing your travel experience you had with @alibabatrek with others on trip advisor.
The fact that you mention our tour guides were friendly and so informed , means a lot to us.
It is our pleasure that you enjoyed our tour. Because that is exactly what we want for you and our travelers.
Hope to see you again next Nowruz
Best regards
Alibabatrek

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Alibabatrek also viewed

Tehran, Tehran Province
Tehran, Tehran Province
 
Tehran, Tehran Province
Tehran, Tehran Province
 

Been to Alibabatrek? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing