We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Review Highlights
Wonderful Iran!

I made a last minute decision to visit Iran while I was visiting Italy. This made it virtually... read more

Reviewed January 20, 2020
226gilliant
,
Wagga Wagga, Australia
Trip to Iran

I took a 2 week trip to Iran with Surfiran tour company this november. Traveling to Iran was, for a... read more

Reviewed December 11, 2019
I6477FYbeatrizc
Read all 69 reviews
  
Reviews (69)
Filter reviews
69 results
Traveler rating
60
5
2
1
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
60
5
2
1
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews visit iran tour company day tour wonderful country amazing trip persian history small group an american guide driver visa application private tour two weeks saber itinerary requests persepolis shiraz
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
36 - 41 of 69 reviews
Reviewed May 14, 2018

I enjoyed my trip once initial poor organization of the organizers were compensated by personal touch of our tour guide.
The organizers should check travelers flight schedule to make sure they are supported at the time of their arrivals at the airport. I had no way of contacting anyone outside of normal business hours when I arrived.
I was asked at the hotel lobby to call a number at the time of my arrival, but that person had no specific instructions for me to help me connect with the rest of the travelers and the tour guide next day.

Date of experience: April 2018
Review collected in partnership with this attraction
2  Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elham B, Sales Consultant at SURFIRAN, responded to this reviewResponded June 28, 2018

Dear David,

We beg your pardon for not being able to meet all your expectations during your trip to Iran.

A lot of the changes you observed on your trip were due to the change of the train tour to a bus tour.

We are sorry once again for all the changes and hope to be able to compensate next time.

Best,
Elham

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2018 via mobile

Thank you Surfiran for a fascinating glimpse into 2,500 years of Persian history and culture! My friend and I are still raving about this trip to everyone we know, especially about our fun and highly knowledgeable guide, Mahdie, the incredible palaces, mosques, caravanserais and mouthwatering local cuisine, and, of course, the extremely friendly and open Iranian people. We can't wait to come back!

Date of experience: April 2018
1  Thank harrisonegrady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elham B, Sales Consultant at SURFIRAN, responded to this reviewResponded May 31, 2018

Dear Harrison,

It was a pleasure to give you a glimpse of the Persian history and culture during your stay in Iran. Hope to see you in Iran again soon. :)

Best,
Elham

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2018

I took 9-Day Iranian Culture and Heritage Small Group Tour from April 27th through May 5th 2018 with Surfiran tour company. I spend 2 extra days in Tehran before the tour. Complimentary scenic day tour on private train to Alborz mountains north of Tehran is included in every tour with Surfiran. I also visited Shiraz, Persepolis, Yazd, Isfahan, Kashan and small cities in between. I was amazed by magnificent architectural and cultural heritage of Iran, and its beautiful nature and kind people. I was joined by another tourist from Germany, so my tour was almost private for the price of a group tour. As US citizen I felt very comfortable in Iran all the time during my tour. Iranian people which I met treated me extremely warm and friendly. I stayed in good quality hotels in the center of visited cities, breakfasts were plentiful and tasty. On recommendation of my guide Hossein I tried different cuisine in authentic Persian restaurants. Hossein provided exceptional information about culture and history, always tried to show something unique and interesting. The whole tour was well organized by Surfiran and by sales manager Sarah Azadmehr, who guided me through visa application process and answered multiple questions. I definitely recommend Surfiran as a travel company to visit Iran.

Date of experience: April 2018
1  Thank Mark Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elham B, Sales Consultant at SURFIRAN, responded to this reviewResponded May 30, 2018

Dear Mark,

We are happy that you liked your stay in Iran and hope to see you again. :)

All the best,
Elham

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2018

A disappointment .
We were so excited about the forthcoming trip to Iran , having researched so much about this wonderful country.
After reading all the positive reviews regarding this company, we were disappointed with our trip.
At first we booked, the "The Persian Caravan, Discover Iran by Private Train” Train and 5-Star Hotels.
One month before our tour, we were told that this was cancelled due to lack of bookings and offered a 12 day bus tour with V.I.P. bus and 5 star hotels.
After all flights having been booked, Visas obtained, we decided to accept this offer with a refund from the Train trip.
This itinerary was changed twice before arrival and after frequent requests for hotels list, we received this 6 days before tour.
Some of the Hotels were definitely not 5 star, 2 not at all, and most badly located, on edge of the cities.
On arrival our itinerary was changed again.
Our guide was very efficient , and was able to manage the changes very well.

Food, mostly buffets at hotels was repetitive.
Ending up taking late night flights , arriving at destinations midnight and 2 am, exhausted, after long bus journeys.

For Australians, this company has an “Australian Representative “ who was not very helpful, not returning phone calls or emails till after several days.
So much more to say , but I would suggest you consider whether this is the Company to use as there are many others.
Iran is a wonderful country to visit, we just had a bad experience.

Date of experience: May 2018
6  Thank oiseauxItaly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elham B, Sales Consultant at SURFIRAN, responded to this reviewResponded May 30, 2018

Dear John,

Thanks for taking the time to let us know how you felt about your trip to Iran and we beg your pardon if our services did not meet your expectations.

The reason we had to change the train tour to a bus tour was the low number of requests we received. All the changes in your itinerary was a result of this change.

As far as I know, you had food at the hotel restaurants when you did not join the group due to tiredness and when the whole group was tired. However, the variety of the dishes in Iranian restaurants is little as they offer what people like best (they have Iranian clients more than foreign ones).

The reason of booking a late flight to Kerman was to give you more time to visit all the sights in Shiraz and as there were no flights available from Shiraz to Kerman and you had to take a bus for 8 hours. We booked you a flight to Tehran and then another to Kerman and because of that you arrived at your hotel after midnight.

It is a pity to know that you had such an experience contacting our Australian representative. Accordingly, to accelerate and facilitate the process of answering the requests, we have decided to transfer the Australian call center to the headquarters of the company in Tehran.

Once again we are sorry for not being able to provide you with the services you expected.

Best regards,
Elham

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2018 via mobile

The agency was very helpful with booking a hotel in Shiraz. We made payment by Paypal and the hotel was very comfortable. If you plan to visit in peak tourist season of April/May, consider contacting SurfIran a few weeks in advance. Otherwise, many notes in the centre would be fully booked.

Date of experience: April 2018
Thank JakubW5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elham B, Sales Consultant at SURFIRAN, responded to this reviewResponded May 7, 2018

Dear Jakub,

It was a pleasure helping you with the booking of the hotel. Hope that you have had a good time in Iran.

Best,
Elham

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews