We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Tired hotel in the middle of a construction site.”
Review of Elite Grande

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Elite Grande
Ranked #26 of 131 Hotels in Manama
Certificate of Excellence
Potters Bar, Herts
Level Contributor
78 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Tired hotel in the middle of a construction site.”
Reviewed January 1, 2012

Stayed at Elite Grande for seven nights on business in November 2011. The hotel is ‘tired’ and I think in need of modernisation. The rooms are actually apartments with full kitchen facilities - handy for making yourself a hot drink. Other than that I just used the bedroom and bathroom. I had a non-smoking room on 3rd floor and had problems with the shower. It actually took almost 10 minutes for hot water to reach the taps / shower in the bathroom. They did not tell me this at reception so 1st night I did not shower as I assumed water was simply cold (I hate to waste water and running a shower for 10 minutes was very difficult for me).
The staff were friendly and the pool area ok.
Food was good. The gym is good. Bar on top floor very very smoky! I had food in there and it was good.
Down side - the Elite Grande is very close to one of the main shopping malls with plenty of restaurants, cinemas and shops. If there were no construction works you could simply cross the road and be in the mall in 5 minutes. unfortunately the hotel is in the middle of a construction site and you have to walk through this to get to the mall - the time is only 10 minutes but there is no light or footpath and you are hidden from the road. During daylight it is acceptable, but at night it is not possible. The staff told me it was quite safe to walk in the dark, but as a lone female this did not feel safe and so was not an option for me. Also, to take a taxi to and from the mall can become very expensive as the taxi’s cannot simply cross the road.
The pillows in the hotel are singularly the most uncomfortable I have ever slept on. Advise you either bring your own or a flight neck pillow.

Final opinion - A nice enough hotel but needs modernising. If you are not driving you will be quite isolated.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gaz8867
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

226 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    87
    100
    22
    9
    8
See reviews for
74
24
12
78
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Cairo, Egypt
Level Contributor
111 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2011

I stayed in this hotel around 4 days during business trip, the hotel has many advantages, My room had plenty of space more like apartment than a room. The facilities in the room as more than enough, the atmosphere is very calm, and the location is very neat to City Center mall, one of the major rooms in Manamah.
The TV selection was really great and satisfactory, and the health club was efficient for my needs.
One drawback is the difficulty of getting quick transportation, and the construction sites around the hotel.
Surely I’ll consider this hotel during my next visit to Bahrain.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AyZuabi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed May 23, 2011

My husband and I stayed at the Elite Grande for a few months this past winter, and I must say that it's a fairly decent hotel. The hotel consists of 1, 2, or 3 bedroom apartments, and we were in a 3 bedroom. We were staying there long term, so the kitchen was nice, although the appliances are older and we had issues getting a lot of them to work. The decor and furniture is decent, and the pool area and workout room were other areas we enjoyed.

Pros:
Everything stated above, as well as excellent, prompt room service staff. The front desk reception was nice as well, and everyone we came into contact with was helpful. The hotel is in a good location and within walking distance to City Center hotel that has ample restaurants and shops.

Cons:
The laundromat on the top floor is a nightmare. Half of the machines don't work all of the time, and those that do don't work properly (only shooting out boiling hot water when on the cold setting, dryers taking 3 hours to dry one small load of clothes). Parking was also disastrous and a big pain on the weekends. There is a lot of construction in the area, but you would think they'd at least be able to come up with a better parking system. Also, for the amount we paid for the hotel, I was surprised that there was no free Internet. The Internet you paid for in the room was attached with short cord, so you were confined to a small, uncomfortable desk unless you (they say this isn't allowed, but it works) buy your own wireless modem and hook it up. This was beneficial for us since we lived in the hotel for 3 months. There are also a lot of kids running up and down the halls on the weekends that aren't really controlled by their parents, but that isn't the hotels faults. There is construction going on outside the hotel (this will be a problem for years to come, as they are building an enormous highrise and have been working on it for the past 2 years) so use a noisemaker if you want to sleep past 5:30 AM when they start working.

Overall, it's a decent hotel in a good location.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rmag8205
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
Level Contributor
27 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2011

First and foremost these are aprtments, not Hotel rooms....
It was a good stay, The room was clean, I stayed in an One bedroom apartment.
Laundromat service is a BIG plus for long stays... Service was good and although the kitchen was missing basic things like Plate, forks, Bowl,Knife etc. The service boys would get them for you if needed... Internet is TOO expensive...

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank adishm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kampala, Uganda
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed December 27, 2010

walking distance to citicenter.
very modern and spacious apartments

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shamira M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manama, Bahrain
1 review
Reviewed September 27, 2010

Its a great hotel. The rooms are amazing and comfortable. The service was wonderful from the moment i stepped in. It has great facilities and their bar & lounge- The Zodiac, is beautiful. The breakfast is so good. there is such a wide variety to choose from.The best part is that there is 24hrs room service..Its location is also a bonus as it is close to some of the major shopping malls and the airport..its a great place!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RNS127
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2010

I have lived and worked in Bahrain for 3 months now and stay in a great apartment in this hotel. However, I work from 6am to at least 6pm genrally for 6days a week. Unfortunatley, every day from 4am I listen to construction workers next to us, on Thursday Evening I cannot park, and more importantly cannot sleep - as they seem immersed in the notion of turning the 11th floor into a house-disco club which you can hear on the 2nd floor! Repeated requests to fix this are met with ignorance until you threaten to go up and turn it down yourself. Unbelievable and unsuitable / unfit for anyone who has a life! Just appalling - go anywhere else...

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maverickmitch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Manama hotels
0.8 mi away
Elite Seef Residence & Hotel
4.0 mi away
Elite Crystal Hotel
Elite Crystal Hotel
#6 of 131 in Manama
4.5 of 5 bubbles 529 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ramada Manama City Centre
Ramada Manama City Centre
#32 of 131 in Manama
4.0 of 5 bubbles 74 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Elite Resort & Spa
Elite Resort & Spa
#12 of 131 in Manama
4.5 of 5 bubbles 444 reviews
0.1 mi away
S Hotel Bahrain
S Hotel Bahrain
#38 of 131 in Manama
4.0 of 5 bubbles 82 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ibis Seef Manama
Ibis Seef Manama
#18 of 131 in Manama
4.0 of 5 bubbles 259 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Elite Grande? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elite Grande

Property: Elite Grande
Address: Building 3378, Road No. 2845 | Seef District, Manama, Bahrain
Phone Number:
Location: Bahrain > Manama
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#19 Business Hotel in Manama
#26 Luxury Hotel in Manama
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Elite Grande 4*
Number of rooms: 129
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy the comforts of your own space in a grand way! Elite Grande, an all-suites hotel, offers you the comforts of living large with the choice of a stay in a spacious suite rather than a cramped hotel room. The Elite Grande hotel is located in the Seef area just fifteen minutes' drive from the Bahrain International Airport, and adjacent to the Bahrain City Centre Mall - one of the largest shopping complexes on the island. By consistently offering the highest standard of quality, service and style, the Elite Grande welcomes its guests to a refreshingly enjoyable and hassle-free experience; any time and every time. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Elite Grande reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elite Grande Manama
Elite Grande Bahrain/Manama

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing