We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very impressed”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Domain Hotel and Spa
Ranked #16 of 132 Hotels in Manama
Certificate of Excellence
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very impressed”
Reviewed November 19, 2013

I never write reviews but felt compelled to do so this time! I fly into Bahrain regularly on business and have been looking for a top quality hotel other than the Ritz Carlton which is good but a little off the beaten track... I gave this hotel a go because I heard it’s new and the food is great. As you enter, the lobby is very plush and well fitted, however lacks a little size & grandeur of some of its competitors. Don't let this fool you, the rest is very upmarket and would stand out amongst the best international hotels. The owners have spared no expense. It's fitted with the latest tech, rainfall showers, free minibar etc oh and Molten Browne goodies - a luxury for us Brits. The bars and restaurants are also very impressive. I went to a bar on the 36th floor (I think) which was uber cool, great atmosphere, view and cocktails.

So the driving factor for me to write this review?? The breakfast!! WOW I just wasn’t expecting that kind of quality... I stay in hotels costing twice the price in London and they should come here and see how to do it properly... I had the American breakfast and it was excellence, all the trimmings, fresh and cooked to perfection...

Next time I go back I want to try the Japanese restaurant; an employee told me they have the fish flown in from Japan every day!!

Finally they took me to the Airport in one of their 7 series BMW's. Very nice touch.... Apart from going back, writing this review is the least I could do...

Room Tip: I had an Executive suite which is on the corner. These have a great shower with a view!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nick370
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Domain B, Managing Director at The Domain Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, December 4, 2013
Always great to hear that The Domain delivered a great experience. Thank you very much for your compliments, we will make sure that the respective departments hear about your comments, too. The Domain Bahrain is first and foremost a Social Club, but is inhabited by a luxury boutique hotel, which perhaps somewhat explains the quirky interiors. So good to read that you enjoyed them!

At The Domain we take comfort and luxury experiences very seriously. So anything that “touches” our Guests has to be of top-quality. Molton Brown amenities are just one of the many touches that compliment a stay at a luxury hotel.

When you next book The Domain for your visit to Bahrain, it would be my pleasure to introduce you to the menu of Imari – our newly opened Japanese restaurant and lounge. Contact me on Patrick@thedomainhotels.com and I will see to it that it will be just as special as your breakfast. Mind you, we don’t fly in fish every day, that would not be in keeping with our objective to minimize our carbon footprint.

Best Regards,

Patrick De Groot
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

300 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    185
    69
    26
    10
    10
See reviews for
24
94
25
58
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 15, 2013 via mobile

The glamour and luxury of The Domain hotel is just remarkable.
My wife and I spent one night in one of the suites of this hotel and the we had one unique experience.
I totally recommend it for those who seek comfort, luxury, one special space.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank João P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Domain B, Managing Director at The Domain Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, December 4, 2013
Always great to hear that The Domain delivered a great experience. Thank you very much for your positive feedback. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay at The Domain and we look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Best Regards,

Patrick De Groot
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul, Turkey
Level Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2013 via mobile

I have tried many brunch in Bahrain and Domaine is different in the way that you have lots of small portions so you really feel like trying them. They privileged the quality and it is one of the rare brunch were the food is more "french and fine" then "english and big". A must try.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank BeeBahrain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Domain B, Managing Director at The Domain Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, December 4, 2013
Thank you so much for your wonderful review. Good to know that we share your passion for quality rather than quantity, when it comes to food. Small portions and lots of choice is what makes a great brunch. We look forward to welcoming you again soon at The Domain.

Best Regards,

Patrick De Groot
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riyadh, Saudi Arabia
1 review
Reviewed October 26, 2013

I have stayed at this hotel three times the last three months, despite the fact it has just recently opened. Great suits, and great service and the restaurants are of a very high standard, especially the recently opened L'amari Japanese which is amazing. I will male this a weekend destination for me and family. great concept.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AAAlshathry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Domain B, Managing Director at The Domain Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, November 9, 2013
Thank you for your wonderful review about your recent experiences in our hotel. We are so pleased that we have met your expectations and you had a fantastic stay during your visits. We appreciate your valuable feedback about the services and restaurants. We are glad that you have made the Domain Bahrain as your place to stay during the weekends.
Looking forward to welcoming you again to The Domain.

Best Regards,

Patrick De Groot
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boca Raton, Florida
Level Contributor
1 review
Reviewed October 15, 2013

There is not much I can say about this hotel other than the fact it is AMAZING, I have stayed in various highly rated hotels around the world and this is one of the best if not the best. This is a fabulous hotel, in a gorgeous setting with great views! The rooms are absolutely stunningly designed with spectacular views and clean.
I would recommend that anybody visiting the super country of Bahrain makes The Domain Bahrain a must to visit.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SpViera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Domain B, Managing Director at The Domain Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
Thank you for your kind words. We are glad to know that we were able to create a great experience during your trip n Bahrain and very pleased to know that we were able to impress you in so many aspect such as our design and spectacular views. We hope to have the opportunity to host you on your next visit to Bahrain.

Best Regards,

Patrick De Groot
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manama
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2013

My work colleagues and I visited this new hotel a couple of days ago and whilst it promises so much I was left disappointed.

The staff on the front reception were friendly and pointed us in the right direction of the elevator to the bar on the 36th floor. As we got in to the lift it felt like a cross between Alice in Wonderland meets Charlie and the Chocolate Factory - when you get in there you will know what I'm talking about. The décor was over the top and in truth it gave me a bit of a headache, but I could see what they were trying to do, it just didn't work for me. Nonetheless, we soon arrived at Txoko bar where we found a great spot in the corner. A waiter came to take our order but informed us that the kitchen wasn't open for food (despite my colleague calling ahead of time to check this fact) so we were disappointed to have to order off the room service menu, but we did so as actually we only wanted small snacks to share. While these were being prepared, we ordered some drinks. As they arrived, unfortunately the waiter spilt the two remaining drinks on the tray over the table and down the legs of three of my colleagues. After much fussing on our behalf, the mess was only somewhat cleared up, so the table remained a damp sticky mess for the duration of our time there. Don't get me wrong we could have moved but the view was so good. The waiting staff didn't really put much effort in to cleaning it all up, just gave us some napkins to be getting on with. Drama aside, the drinks looked amazing - please, if you like mojito's/cairpirhna's order the Girl from Ipanema - amazing! So delicious, yummy well worth trying.

We had our food, some hot and cold mezzah with three orders of fries which went down well as we were hungry. After another round of drinks we got the bill and got ready to leave. We did think that BD82 for 11 drinks (four of which were soft) plus mezzah and fries was a little on the steep side, so although the views were amazing, I shan't be going back again in a hurry.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Queensnoopy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Domain B, Managing Director at The Domain Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
My apologies for not responding earlier. I would like to personally apologize for this less then perfect experience, and I would like to make up for the inconvenience. We recently launched our Friday Brunch and it would be my pleasure to host you and three of your friends.
The challenges we have been facing with our guest elevators are being addressed as we speak. Lifts should run smooth and quietly, and we have been promised that this will be the end-result of the works that are currently being carried out.
I look forward to hearing from you at your earliest convenience to hopefully make arrangements for your upcoming visit to The Domain Bahrain.

Best Regards,

Patrick De Groot
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
Reviewed October 5, 2013

The view was great, it over looks the diplomatic area as well as the ocean. The staff were very friendly and professional. The hotel definetly meets international standards. Most importantly the hotel room was clean, clean, clean! I also loved the bathrooms, best shower I've had in weeks. Also finally, everything was beautifully designed, from the lobby, the bar, the rooms. My only complaint is that valet took forever to retrieve my car.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank traveljunkie305
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Domain B, Managing Director at The Domain Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
Thank you so much for your review. We are pleased that you had an overall enjoyable stay with us and enjoyed the comforts of your room.
Your kind comments about the rooms and hotel facilities are greatly appreciated. Hope to welcome you back to the hotel soon.

Best Regards,

Patrick De Groot
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Manama hotels
0.2 mi away
The Diplomat Radisson Blu Hotel, Residence & Spa
1.1 mi away
Downtown Rotana
Downtown Rotana
#3 of 132 in Manama
364 reviews
1.1 mi away
InterContinental Regency Bahrain
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Gulf Hotel Bahrain Convention and Spa
0.8 mi away
Elite Resort & Spa
Elite Resort & Spa
#10 of 132 in Manama
449 reviews
0.8 mi away
Novotel Bahrain Al Dana Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Domain Hotel and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Domain Hotel and Spa

Property: The Domain Hotel and Spa
Address: Building 365, Block 317, Road 1705 | Diplomatic Area, Manama 973, Bahrain
Location: Bahrain > Manama
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Manama
#16 Luxury Hotel in Manama
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Domain Hotel and Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 131
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Domain Hotel & Spa is a one-of-a-kind hotel which boasts phenomenal interiors, immaculate views, and relaxing atmospheres -- providing a seamless blend of luxury and comfort. Guests will enjoy cityscape views while staying in one of the many modern suites or while sipping a cocktail at the sky lounge atop the 36th floor. Centrally located in the heart of the business district, this spectacular hotel sits in a wonderful location putting guests in close proximity to the International Airport, National Museum, luxury shopping malls, and Manama's bustling restaurant scene. Complete with stunning skyline views, contemporary interiors, and lavish amenities, guestrooms at The Domain Hotel & Spa leave guests feeling both relaxed and rejuvenated. With 81 ultra-modern suites and 50 rooms, which range in size from 30 to 260 square meters. The rooms have stunning skyline views of Manama, as well as contemporary interiors and lavish amenities. The Domain also features a two-floor, cutting-edge urban spa and fitness club, infinity pool and a myriad of highly original restaurants ranging from authentic Japanese, Mediterranean grill to a steakhouse offering the finest quality home-aged beef. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Preferred Hotels, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Domain Hotel and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Domain Hotel And Spa Bahrain/Manama

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing