We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good hospitality”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Delmon International Hotel
Ranked #59 of 136 Hotels in Manama
Reviewed December 5, 2009

Day before yesterday we arrived back from bahrain.it was a loving experience to stay at delmon.Its a nice location to stay in touch with city center during the stay & comfortable for you as well family.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank p_b_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (101)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

83 - 89 of 101 reviews

Reviewed October 31, 2009

I would hate to bash this place as nothing more than a brothel, as the staff were very helpful every time we stayed there (for variety of reasons I have had to spend over a total of 2 weeks there on business, during and not during Ramadan). Yes, there are many prostitutes walking around, the hot water rarely came through in the shower, all water out of the tap tasted like saltwater, rooms quite shabby (but hey the A/C worked at least!). Make sure you get a room as far up and away from the loud bars downstairs. The buffet was ok, and at times quite good (tabouleh always good). Internet worked (wow!) Rooms are huge. Location is excellent actually..... When you have no choice but to stay there, you have to think positive!

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank meatshawarma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2009

I work in Kuwait and we've been given a few days off after Ramadan with very short notice.
It was imposible to get a plane ticket to Lebanon so I choose Baharain.
A coworker recommended me this "hotel".
Short trip from the airport, excellent location, Gold City across the street, 3 minutes driving distance to major shopping malls, and that is it.
My room was dark, not really clean, the AC was not working properly (just blowing air most of the time).
I think they have never heard about a vacuum, that the way the carpets look like.
Even with the "Do this room now" sign on my door, they never made my room before 4 PM, so I had to take care of my bed to take a nap.
The minibar has not been replenished in 3 days, the TV was terrible, I noticed a glass left over the floor next door when I arrived, and the glass was still there when I left.
Breakfast was just OK, but if ask for a coffee they will bring a cup but not a spoon, sugar comes 10 minutes later, only two small pitchers of water for the whole restaurant, people smokes at their will.
The ladies at the front desk are nice and they speak good English, but at the restaurant,,,,
If they don't understand they will just look at you and say: "OK, OK, sir"
On the other side, you can eat their hummus by pounds, it is delicious.
Finally, the prostitutes.
You can find them all around the hotel, but I have not been disturbed by them.
Maybe the hotel has changed some rules. No one called my door, so I slept peacyfully.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rutilante
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2009

Overpriced, dirty, full of chinese prostitutes, outdated,very poor service !!!!!

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank DaveD563
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2009

I guess there are no free lunches in Manama. its either 3* or expensive proper 5*. Delmon seems to be an old classic in town. Right next to Bab Bahrain. 15 min short drive from Airport. Everybody knows it and when you get there you know why. It has been there since quite a while and both exterior and interior show that. I did not book the place myself but at the end I was not too disappointed. Good sized rooms with TV and desk. Bathroom ok apart from shower and bath handles. Walls not as soundproof as one would like them to be. Many non resident girls around in the lobby area which tried to talk me into having beer at the dingy bar at 11:00 am. Good sized outside pool and old smelly gym beside it. Nice and friendly staff at the front desk and in the breakfast area.
even tough the experience was mixed I might consider it again if i don't find a better alternative at this price range.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank screenname2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2009

The man at the front door is always very helpful, happy to help. Front desk staff speak English very well. They do and this is strange require you to submit your passport when check-in. You get it back on check-out.

Don't know how, perhaps it was warranted a 4 star hotel when it first opened, but it's more like 2 star now. The rooms need a fresh coat of paint to say the least. The place hasn't been renovated since it's inception I believe. Rooms are a good size. The AC during the summer months suffer. No wi-fi, but do provide LAN for some rooms at a charge. TV is horrible most of the time! TV's are as old as the hotel. I suspect the mattress there are also quite old! Bathrooms are on the smallish side. It can get fairly loud during the night, because several bars blaring out loud music.

Location for me is it's selling point. Several bars nearby. Really good, hole in the wall Thai restaurant accross the street & a liquor also isn't far. Starbucks is a 10 min walk.
Breakfast is ok and is often included in the price.

The place has character and don't be surprised if someone comes a knocking in the wee hours of the night asking if you'd like a "massage'!

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank whileitravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2009

Back in the past when times were less hard, hotels had large rooms, large corridors, were silent, & big lifts. The Delmon is like that. It was, around 1970, the best hotel in town. A good reason to look in again. It is no longer the best. Yet it retains those past virtues. It is well placed for the Manama Souk, the World Trade Centre, the excellent Bahrain Museum.

Coffee shop breakfast was OK, no better. Plenty of entertainment on site, plus pool and good gym. It is handy if you like Lebanese food, which we do.

Not sure about all the Chinese ladies wandering about; well not 100% sure!

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank Rost
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Manama hotels
2.1 mi away
Pars International Hotel
Pars International Hotel
#44 of 136 in Manama
118 reviews
2.7 mi away
Ramee International Hotel Bahrain
2.4 mi away
The Juffair Grand Hotel
The Juffair Grand Hotel
#51 of 136 in Manama
216 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Bahrain International Hotel
1.5 mi away
Ramee Baisan Hotel Bahrain
0.1 mi away
Gulf Gate Hotel
Gulf Gate Hotel
#111 of 136 in Manama
88 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Delmon International Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Delmon International Hotel

Address: PO Box 5661, Manama, Bahrain
Location: Bahrain > Manama
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#52 Luxury Hotel in Manama
Price Range: $69 - $101 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Delmon International Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 120
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Delmon International Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Delmon International Manama
Delmon Hotel
Delmon International Hotel Bahrain/Manama

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing