We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sleazy, run-down”
Review of Gulf Gate Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Gulf Gate Hotel
Ranked #111 of 133 Hotels in Manama
Athens, Greece
Level 6 Contributor
314 reviews
103 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 263 helpful votes
“Sleazy, run-down”
Reviewed January 6, 2012

Stayed at Gulf Gate Hotel for 1 night, courtesy of Gulf Airlines – and it was one night too many. The hotel was quite close to the airport (about 10 minutes), but …. there is this sleazy brothel-feel about it that makes you certain you’ll never return. My husband was propositioned right in front of our room by a young lady offering him massage and other services. Plus, the hotel us currently being renovated and it is surprising that the management hasn’t considered closing the hotel down for a couple of weeks, till renovations are done.
Lobby: You walk into the reception and there’s a construction site spread out in front of you.
Room: Nothing charming or traditional or Arabic about them. We had a room that was first preceded by a long corridor (no light working there) which led to a huge room (plenty plenty of storage space) and which was icy cold (only cold air coming out of an old A/C, windows not well insulated), faded & tired, and appeared dirty. No complimentary water bottles, only water in a thermos (we did not try the water but purchased a water bottle). Flat screen TV. No blow drier or safe.
Bathroom: small, dirty feel, no space to leave your toiletries. Complimentary toiletry consisted only of 4 sachets of shampoo and some soap bars.
No complimentary slippers.
Bars & nightclubs: Sleazy, faded & dirty appearance (littered floor, dirty tablecloth, drunken customers displaying lewd behavior). Ladies, regardless of what you’re wearing or how bad a hair day you’re having, when you walk into the bar alone, brace yourself – sleazy propositions come hailing down on you within seconds. One beer cost about 10 Euros. The nightclub Oasis seems to be more of an ‘exotic dancer’, slash adult entertainment place than anything else. We did not have a drink there, so no idea how expensive it is.
Breakfast: disappointing
Staff: unpleasant, so smiles or Arab hospitality
Passports: Our passports were kept at the lobby and returned only after check-out - I protested but was told it was mandatory.
No free wi-fi

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Alex J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    25
    19
    15
    18
See reviews for
7
9
27
30
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kuwait City, Kuwait
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed November 18, 2011

Baharin is a small country and this hotel was nice and cosy. Had a nice restaurant and club on the ground floor as well as another at the side entrance. This hotel is central and walking distance to other night life clubs around the place. As I said Bahrain is small and all hotels would be close to everywhere.

Room Tip: Take a higher floor to avoid the moving rush on the 1/2 floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DavidGonsalves7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt, Germany
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2011

I would give it 3 stars. Most rooms are large. Good location. Swimming pool. Free wifi in the lobby. TV reception is hit or miss. The hotel in currently under renovation, so expect some noise and paint smells. All rooms are being upgraded with new furniture and flatscreen TVs.

Room Tip: Upper floor rooms are less noisy (hotel has several night clubs on ground floor).
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lortzing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Al Khobar, Saudi Arabia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2011

I stayed at the Gulf Gate Hotel in Manama, Bahrain July 14-15, 2011. This hotel is a great value for money. The hotel was clean, the room was spacious, the staff was helpfull and curtious. I will return to this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cbrazel100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karachi, Pakistan
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2011

I stayed in this hotel many times and found very comfortale from many angles.
Dont remember exactly the months etc but stayed in 2009 . Had to write August 2010 as there was no other choice.

1 - not very far from the airport.
2 - complimentry pick and drop from the airport/hotel.
3 - multi linguistic staff
4 - transport / taxis available in vicinity.
5 - lot of indian and other restaurants near by
6 - currency exchange not very far
7 - hotel is only 2 floors, so lifts not very crowded
8 - 4 clubs in the hotel
9 - good breakfast

All in all, i had pleasent experience of staying in this hotel.

regards
syed

Room Tip: Room # 149 may be a good choice
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SZH_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
allingis@hotmail.com
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed February 15, 2011

GulfAir sent me to the Gulf Gate after their plane was delayed. Arrived at 3:30 AM. Ont the floor a chick propositioned me in the hall when I got out of the elevator, two others knocked on my door once I got into my room. (I just went to sleep.) This may interest some travelors.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
84 Thank Allingis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Manama hotels

aTH
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2010

I would rather sleep on a couch at the airport. Disgusting!!!!!!!!!!!
I was obliged to stay there coz my flight was scheduled for the next morning. Dirty bed covers, dirty curtains, full of cockroaches balcony!!! The personnel was really helpful and nice but they were sleeping at their own homes!!!

DON'T GO THERE!!! EVEN IF THEY OFFER IT TO YOU FOR FREE!!!!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
14 Thank gorgw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Manama hotels
0.0 mi away
Delmon International Hotel
0.1 mi away
Bahrain International Hotel
0.3 mi away
Awal Hotel
Awal Hotel
#85 of 133 in Manama
71 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Pars International Hotel
Pars International Hotel
#42 of 133 in Manama
114 reviews
2.8 mi away
Ramee International Hotel Bahrain
2.0 mi away
The Juffair Grand Hotel
The Juffair Grand Hotel
#53 of 133 in Manama
211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gulf Gate Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gulf Gate Hotel

Property: Gulf Gate Hotel
Address: Salah Al Deen Al Youbi Avenue | P.O. Box 2825, Manama 2825, Bahrain
Location: Bahrain > Manama
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#74 Luxury Hotel in Manama
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Gulf Gate Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 125
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Gulf Gate Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gulf Gate Hotel Bahrain/Manama

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing