We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I Like this Museum”
Review of Qalat al Bahrain

Qalat al Bahrain
Book In Advance
More Info
$107.00*
and up
Private Half Day Bahrain Heritage Tour
More Info
$107.00*
and up
Archaeological Tour Bahrain
More Info
$260.00*
and up
Half Day Private Tour: Trail of Delmon Civilization from Manama
Ranked #4 of 61 things to do in Manama
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Steamboat Springs, Colorado
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“I Like this Museum”
Reviewed November 2, 2013

I currently live in Bahrain and almost always take visitors to the Bahrain Fort and Museum. I think the information in the museum is interesting and very well organized.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Wendy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

529 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    267
    198
    57
    6
    1
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Goa, India
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Definitely worth the visit!!”
Reviewed October 23, 2013

The fort is definitely worth visiting. You can definitely kill an hour or two checking out all the rooms of the fort and looking at the details. nice place to click photos. The Bahrain fort museum isnt worth the money you spend, so you can give that a skip.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Mandeep R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“A very interesting archeological site”
Reviewed October 11, 2013

It is not very often that you can see fully organized archeological sites in the Gulf. The Qalat Al Bahrein is particularly successful. The museum bolsters a great variety of artifacts ranging from ancient Dilmun civilization dating approximately 3000 BC to the Islamic Periods as well as remains of Portuguese occupation and trading of goods with China. The museum visit is very clearly organized with nice explanatory panels. The second part, the fortress itself is very well preserved and surprisingly big. It offers the chance to have a very concrete idea of what life was like. It was nearly empty when I came, which gives a chance to really enjoy the location and the wonderful sea and oasis view.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank BertoldV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Great views but not worth the 2 BD for the museum”
Reviewed October 9, 2013

I went close to sunset and paid for the museum. I did not realize that there was an audio guide included that I did not get. You can just explore the fort without paying since no one checked my tickets. In fact there was no one in the fort when I was there. Audio guide would have made it more interesting I gathered but it was very hot and I didn't stay there for more than 30 mins. The beach nearby is great to dip your feet...though I would not swim there sine I saw horses, dogs, and garbage in the water.

Visited October 2013
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank nath3636
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Al Jubail, Saudi Arabia
Level 6 Contributor
98 reviews
34 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“A bahraini heritage mark”
Reviewed September 24, 2013

The Qalat al Bahrain is indeed a Bahraini heritage. The bricks stores many stories and indeed the place is well maintained. Check your GPS before going to the place because its a bit far and away from center of Bahrain. The fort has a shop with refreshments as well as a small museum .

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Goan44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Qalat al Bahrain also viewed

 

Been to Qalat al Bahrain? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing