We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel in a great location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Gulf Hotel Bahrain Convention and Spa
Ranked #7 of 131 Hotels in Manama
Certificate of Excellence
Charleston, South Carolina
Level Contributor
47 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel in a great location”
Reviewed January 15, 2010

I was thoroughly empressed with the hotel and its staff. There are numerous restaurants to choose from. The rooms are beautifully decorated with all the amenities. I found the bed extremely comfortable. The staff was very friendly. The hotel is located next to the Grand Mosque and is within walking distance to many excellent restauraunts. I really enjoyed Manama and this hotel is excellent. I would recommend to everyone!

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank creekgirl01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

820 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    376
    286
    98
    34
    26
See reviews for
124
138
60
397
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (164)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Philipsburg, St. Maarten-St. Martin
Level Contributor
76 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 288 helpful votes
Reviewed November 29, 2009

The Gulf Hotel is located outside the centre of Manama, and one needs to take a taxi to go anywhere. But, taxi's are cheap and abundant in Manama, so that was not necessarily a problem.

The hotel is outdated. The reception area looks like the ball room of the Love Boat, too much glitter, too much colours. The rooms are really outdated, old-fashioned dark wooden furniture, mood-lightning from the 70s, a bathroom that is too dark (are those tiles still white?).

The service and the staff, however, are great. Very nice, very fast, very knowledgeable. The room service is also good, as is the bar in one of the buildings.

One last comment, about the bar: I hope the band has been replaced. Even the staff at the bar was making jokes about the band, it was awful. In fact, it was so bad that it was funny and entertaining. But whatever band is employed, they should keep the volume down (some guests actually want to talk to each other).

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank DutchTree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed November 20, 2009

I visited this hotel recently on a business trip for 3 days and stayed in a 1 bed apartment which the hotel was decent enough to upgrade me to as my room was not ready when I arrived (6 o'clock in the morning). The apartment was big with a kitchen/breakfast/dining area, living area, bathroom (with bath) and a huge bedroom with ample storage (e.g., 2 huge wardrobes). My only gripe with the room is that there were two extractor fans, one in the kitchen and one in the bathroom which were on permanently, were very noisy and could not be turned off. I complained about the fan in the kitchen as you had to have the tv on the highest volume in order to hear it and was told it was meant to be on all the time. But then mysteriously the next day the fan wasn't working so I am not sure if the hotel did turn it off or it became faulty, but it meant I could enjoy the rest of my stay in peace and quiet.

The hotel is impressively grand inside with some beautiful chandeliers decorating the lobby, a glamorous lady playing the piano, sumptious chairs and sofas etc etc, the only letdown was that only the up escalator was working. Service was good and all the staff are friendly and helpful. I ate in 3 of the restaurants during my stay:

Al Waha restaurant - offers buffet meals and I had breakfast only here, which was fine and the juices (especially the orange) were fresh and delicious to drink;
Fusions - the rooftop restaurant, nice views and good for romantic meals. I had the tenderloin steak, which was nice but a bit chewy.
La Pergola - the Italian restaurant, I had the salmon which was very nice.
Takht Jamsheed - the Iranian restaurant, which was my favourite of all I had the spinach yoghurt and lamb kebabs both delicious, but apparently I heard from the locals that this is one of the finest restaurants in Bahrain and I would definitely recommend it.

There are some restaurants about 5 mins walk away from the hotel and here the popular one is a place called Cocos. As you might imagine the prices are less than half of those in the hotel and the quality just as good if not better.

All in all, I had a wonderful time in Bahrain and at the Gulf hotel and hope to visit again in the future.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LondonHoBo_Girl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LA
Level Contributor
203 reviews
87 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed November 13, 2009

Booked through reservation phone number for a special conference rate and advised to call back later when X was on duty. I did so and reservation was booked promptly and accurately by X. Shaded parking was plentiful, doormen volunteered to carry my hand luggage which I declined. Up escalator to reception working, down escalator was under repair. Slow check in process at Reception, not sure if this is system or staff related, passport copy made, no non-smoking rooms available at check-in. Room was comfortably furnished and appliances mainly functioned. Room had stale smell which I initially attributed to being a smoking room, but air conditioning did not cool the room. Maintenance promptly fixed air conditioner filters, room cooled and stale smell disappeared. Disappointed that my room only had a shower and no bath. Room service order taking both accurate and promptly delivered. Food quality good, portions correctly sized (average sized). Wireless access is available but a scratch card purchase is required at reception (cost 5BD or USD13 for 2 hours to be used within 24 hours), other wireless durations are available. Hotel has a wide selection of restaurants and food quality was from good to great. Bar service was excellent. Conference facilities good and linked to hotel by covered walkway which is 5 minutes walk from escalator. Check out slow, bill was accurate and staff very friendly and professional. I did not consider rate paid to be fair value for a room with only a shower, if it had a bath then rate would have been nearer fair value. I would stay at this hotel again.

Stayed November 2009, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank private1_90732
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuwait
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 26, 2009

I have been staying at the Gulf Hotel on and off since 1998. This was the first time I have visited with my wife and son, and we had a terrific stay. We opted for the luxury king bed room and it was fantastic. The bed was huge and comfortable, the linens were top notch, and the bathroom/shower area was first rate. My son got a kick out of the LCD TV in the bathroom, and was often found sitting in the jetted tub watching cartoons. The parking lot is crowded and finding a spot a night is a little tricky, however the valet service is free for guests. The hotel pub Sherlock Holmes is a great place to go for a drink and they have many beers on tap(especially guiness). I have stayed elsewhere in Bahrain but always find myself coming back to The Gulf Hotel.

Tips-If you like good home cooked food Ricks Country Kitchen is less than 1 mile away. For the best Mexican food in the Gulf try Senor Paco's, about a two minute drive from the hotel.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank reconguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brunei
Level Contributor
34 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2009

I've stayed in this hotel a number of times after its refurbishment from a few years ago. The hotel is very impressive on entrance and has a very nice assortment of restaurants of a pretty high calibre. The pool area is also very nice.

When I first stayed at the hotel the rooms, which in the new section are very small, were very nice looking but after about a year, the badly designed bathrooms which sees water pooling from the shower out across the floor has given the hotel a strange musty smell.

I discovered after a year of coming here from Saudi that this hotel was more expensive than the Ritz which is of a much higher calibre. Stay at the Gulf if you want to access the Adliya restaurant district and don't want to drive/take a cab. Otherwise go to the Ritz.

  • Stayed June 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank upthejungle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2009

First the positives. I am staying here for two weeks on a business trip. I booked a room on the club floor, and It is large and fairly quiet. The beds are comfortable and the bathroom is spacious with pleanty of shelves. There are nice bathrobes and BThe staff is pleasant and friendly and the service is good. When I ordered an iron, it came in 3 minutes. We had a very good meal in the Thai restaurant . The complimentary breakfast on the club floor is good with a nice selection of breads, fruit, cereals and juices. You can order eggs and there are sausages, potatoes and pancakes. In the afternoon one can get tea sandwiches and they have hot appetizers for evening happy hour. One nice touch is that you can order a drink (alcohlic or non) as late as 11:00 p.m.

They have just opened a new ladies gym (men & women work out separately here) and there are lots of new exercise machines and a very welcoming staff. They have few customers right now, but perhaps this is because they are so new.

Now for the glitches. The closets are SMALL with only 18" of hanging space for your clothes. There is adequate drawer storage, but forget about trying to hang much. I can't imagine who designed this as it is not at all comparable to rest of the room. The bathroom is beautiful, but when you turn on the faucet at the sink, the water shoots out and floods the whole counter. They need some kind of filter as it is not fun to have water all over your cosmetics, etc. Then there is the shower--very nice--separate and enclosed with one of those rainfall shower heads. Only problem is the shower leaks water all over the floor no matter how careful you are. They do give you big fluffy towels and you need one to mop up the floor. And--my biggest gripe--is that we were told that we could not bring anything from the Club Lounge back to our room as they wanted us to "use the minibar." Since I am paying extra for club access, I believe I should be able to bring the occasional Coke back here. Just my two cents.

The internet here is wireless ONLY and it is expensive and not all that reliable. When we first got here there were only 24 hour cards available for about $26 per day. After several days we were able to buy a one week card that brought the price down a little. There are ethernet ports in the rooms, but they are disabled and there are no wireless cards for rent. This is problematic for anyone with an older laptop.

All that being said, I am enjoying my stay at the Gulf.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Coco21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Manama hotels
1.9 mi away
InterContinental Regency Bahrain
13.2 mi away
Sofitel Bahrain Zallaq Thalassa Sea & Spa
4.0 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, Bahrain
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
The Diplomat Radisson Blu Hotel, Residence & Spa
0.5 mi away
The Palace Boutique Hotel
The Palace Boutique Hotel
#11 of 131 in Manama
4.5 of 5 bubbles 242 reviews
1.8 mi away
Downtown Rotana
Downtown Rotana
#3 of 131 in Manama
4.5 of 5 bubbles 341 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gulf Hotel Bahrain Convention and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gulf Hotel Bahrain Convention and Spa

Property: Gulf Hotel Bahrain Convention and Spa
Address: Al Fateh Avenue | Bldg 11, Road 3801, Block 337 Al Fateh Highway, Manama, Bahrain
Phone Number:
Location: Bahrain > Manama
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Manama
#7 Luxury Hotel in Manama
#10 Business Hotel in Manama
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Gulf Hotel Bahrain Convention and Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 468
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A luxurious five star hotel offering resort facilities with a modern city location; Enjoy the panoramic views from your newly renovated bedrooms with floor-to-ceiling windows, or stay on our exclusive, discreet Platinum Floor offering some of the best vistas and services on the island. Discover the world and its delights in one of our 16 restaurants and bars, boasting a selection of diverse cuisines such as Iranian, Thai, Lebanese, Chinese, Western-Asian fusion, Japanese and continental. As a Platinum guest, you will enjoy a numerous of complimentary VIP treatments, including: •Private VIP check-in •Chilled towel and refreshing drink on arrival •Shoe-shine and one pressing on arrival •Daily newspaper and a selection of magazines •Luxurious Bvlgari White-tea amenities •Access to the dedicated Platinum Lounge and all its benefits •Buffet breakfast in the intimacy of the Platinum lounge The Platinum Lounge Our exclusive Platinum floor lounge affords our clients with the most discerning taste for excellence our signature customer service and spectacular panoramic views over Manama. Opened from 06.30 To midnight every day, the Platinum lounge not only offers all-day delightful buffets from breakfast till dinner accompanied with a wide selection of beverages, but also all business facilities like private meeting rooms, computer and other IT services access. Platinum Lounge Operating Hours (0630 am to 12 midnight) •A designated elevator and Guest Relations to welcome the guest upon arrival and will escort them from main entrance desk to the 13th floor. •Sit-in check - in while welcome drinks is being served of the guest's choice and to be escorted by a Guest Relations Officer to their room. •Full Breakfast buffet served from 0630 am. Till 1030 am. With live egg cooking. •All day self-service snacks and refreshments with fresh Danish pastries, selected sandwiches and breads. •Special Red/White wine, and selected beers are available for all day self-service consumptions. •Happy hour from 6 pm. Till 9 pm. With free selected beverages and choice of hot and cold canapes to unwind for the long day work. •Newspapers and Magazines available in the Platinum Lounge •A designated area for All day free Internet access in the Platinum Lounge. •Special Guest's Room Amenities in the Platinum Floor Rooms •Butler Services available upon requests. •Secretarial Services available in the Platinum Lounge upon requests. •Private meeting room with complimentary refreshments that can accommodate up to 8 persons. •Kids are allowed until 18:00 ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Agoda, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Gulf Hotel Bahrain Convention and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gulf Hotel Manama
Gulf Hotel Bahrain Convention And Spa Manama

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing