We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Relaxing Oasis”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Gulf Hotel Bahrain Convention and Spa
Ranked #8 of 132 Hotels in Manama
Certificate of Excellence
Ringgold, Georgia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A Relaxing Oasis”
Reviewed October 15, 2011

I spend about 3 - 4 months a year in the Middle East. I usually transit through Dubai or Bahrain.The Gulf Hotel is the perfect hotel for transit layovers or for a few days rest. I've stayed 5-6 the past year. 10 minutes from the airport. You can stay in the hotel complex and eat at 7-8 different restaurants including a British-style pub and a wine bar. Or you can walk a couple of blocks to dozens of other wonderful restaurants. It has an incredible pool with swim up bar and also a small waterpark for kids to play in. The grass area is a nice change from the rooftop pools of many hotels. The local "beverage" store is less than a block away.

Room Tip: The rooms are laid out in a square with some facing the water.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Oceanwave11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

838 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    385
    291
    101
    34
    27
See reviews for
128
140
62
404
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (168)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed October 10, 2011

We booked our king size non-smoking room in July for our October getaway. We arrived at the hotel at 6:00 PM and all king size non-smoking rooms had been given away. We were offered a smoking room but because of allergies, I said no. Then we were given an apartment room--kitchenette, etc. It had an old style television and definitely looked like a place that had been lived in as opposed to a luxury hotel room. We trekked back to the counter, stood in line again, and said the room was not suitable. The lady assisting us went back and spoke with her manager. She then came back and said she had a room--it was exactly what we had ordered she said--only now it was 7:00 PM so an hour had gone by. When we go to the room it was indeed very nice, however, the bed was like a rock (not how we remember the bed from previous stays) and the pillows smelled like smoke (from which I subsequently got swollen eyes and a rash on my face). For a hotel that purports to be 5-Star, I would not recommend it. I would give it 3 Stars.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Worldhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beirut, Lebanon
Level 6 Contributor
357 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2011

Great pool, great food, v good location, I recommend for meetings or conferences.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MrTBeirut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 6 Contributor
140 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2011

Stayed in this hotel many times and it's quiet good and close to the area with all the nice restaurants..(they indeed need to work on the hotel kitchen)
Rooms are clean and pleasant to stay in.
However, there a quiet a few new hotels who offer the same or better for less and it's about time the Gulf hotel stops considering itself alone in the market.

Room Tip: Try to book a room away from the elevator if you want a silent night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank thesheikhfromdubai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beckenried, Switzerland
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2011

Booked to stay here during Ramadan as a weekend getaway following issues with the Sofitel. In advance, the hotel advised which restaurants/facilities were open during the Ramadan Period which was helpful.

We stayed in a club room, which meant that we were able to have drinks during the day, including during the evening happy hour. The pool area was also open for soft drinks, and food if you ate in pool dining area only.

Overall, a very comfortable and relaxing stay, with the hotel being up to its normal standard.

Room Tip: Avoid looking out to the mosque side, unless you wish an early morning wake up call on Friday.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fp2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pattaya, Thailand
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2011

very nice hotel with plenty to do, great pool.
But it is very expensive.
Nice clean rooms

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank M123B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riyadh, Saudi Arabia
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2011

This is a great hotel and not far from the airport. There is easy access to all the malls and downtown entertainments. The hotel has five great restaurants each featuring a different cuisine (Italian, Mexican, Asian Fusion, Thai and Arab). It is located next door to a Sherlock Holmes club. The hotel is luxurious and the service is great! You can arrange for the hotel car service to pick you up from the airport and they will arrange your transportation to where you want to go. Great views of the Grand Mosque from some of the rooms!

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cyoung0329
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Manama hotels
1.8 mi away
The Diplomat Radisson Blu Hotel, Residence & Spa
1.9 mi away
InterContinental Regency Bahrain
4.0 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, Bahrain
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.2 mi away
Sofitel Bahrain Zallaq Thalassa Sea & Spa
0.6 mi away
Al Safir Hotel & Tower
Al Safir Hotel & Tower
#41 of 132 in Manama
105 reviews
2.0 mi away
Novotel Bahrain Al Dana Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gulf Hotel Bahrain Convention and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gulf Hotel Bahrain Convention and Spa

Property: Gulf Hotel Bahrain Convention and Spa
Address: Al Fateh Avenue | Bldg 11, Road 3801, Block 337 Al Fateh Highway, Manama, Bahrain
Phone Number:
Location: Bahrain > Manama
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Manama
#8 Luxury Hotel in Manama
#10 Business Hotel in Manama
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Gulf Hotel Bahrain Convention and Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 468
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A luxurious five star hotel offering resort facilities with a modern city location; Enjoy the panoramic views from your newly renovated bedrooms with floor-to-ceiling windows, or stay on our exclusive, discreet Platinum Floor offering some of the best vistas and services on the island. Discover the world and its delights in one of our 16 restaurants and bars, boasting a selection of diverse cuisines such as Iranian, Thai, Lebanese, Chinese, Western-Asian fusion, Japanese and continental. As a Platinum guest, you will enjoy a numerous of complimentary VIP treatments, including: •Private VIP check-in •Chilled towel and refreshing drink on arrival •Shoe-shine and one pressing on arrival •Daily newspaper and a selection of magazines •Luxurious Bvlgari White-tea amenities •Access to the dedicated Platinum Lounge and all its benefits •Buffet breakfast in the intimacy of the Platinum lounge The Platinum Lounge Our exclusive Platinum floor lounge affords our clients with the most discerning taste for excellence our signature customer service and spectacular panoramic views over Manama. Opened from 06.30 To midnight every day, the Platinum lounge not only offers all-day delightful buffets from breakfast till dinner accompanied with a wide selection of beverages, but also all business facilities like private meeting rooms, computer and other IT services access. Platinum Lounge Operating Hours (0630 am to 12 midnight) •A designated elevator and Guest Relations to welcome the guest upon arrival and will escort them from main entrance desk to the 13th floor. •Sit-in check - in while welcome drinks is being served of the guest's choice and to be escorted by a Guest Relations Officer to their room. •Full Breakfast buffet served from 0630 am. Till 1030 am. With live egg cooking. •All day self-service snacks and refreshments with fresh Danish pastries, selected sandwiches and breads. •Special Red/White wine, and selected beers are available for all day self-service consumptions. •Happy hour from 6 pm. Till 9 pm. With free selected beverages and choice of hot and cold canapes to unwind for the long day work. •Newspapers and Magazines available in the Platinum Lounge •A designated area for All day free Internet access in the Platinum Lounge. •Special Guest's Room Amenities in the Platinum Floor Rooms •Butler Services available upon requests. •Secretarial Services available in the Platinum Lounge upon requests. •Private meeting room with complimentary refreshments that can accommodate up to 8 persons. •Kids are allowed until 18:00 ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Gulf Hotel Bahrain Convention and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gulf Hotel Manama
Gulf Hotel Bahrain Convention And Spa Manama

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing