We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Refurbishment”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Diplomat Radisson Blu Hotel, Residence & Spa
Ranked #9 of 132 Hotels in Manama
Certificate of Excellence
uk
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Refurbishment”
Reviewed October 31, 2009

There are refurbishment works going on at the back of hotel which make the pool area noisy. Not a problem if you are on business but we had come to Bahrain to relax. We checked out. They should mention this when you book. Otherwise not a bad hotel. Check if these works are finished before you book.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MickyMartin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

709 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    325
    251
    88
    27
    18
See reviews for
97
82
73
366
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2009

The property is an old hotel which has possibly just been franchised by Radisson. The rooms are old ,same is the case with furnishings in the room. the only new thing is the washroom. Imagine a 20 inch TV ( CRT) in a room when every small hotel has an LCD now a days.When you move into the room , bring your ear plugs along as you would need it in the room. The A/c thermostat cuts in every 15 minutes and makes the sound of a popup gun enough to keep you awake all night. So during my two night stay I could not sleep at all , muy colleague in the other room had the same story. Then followed the check-out. We shared our experience with the cashier and told them how disappointed we were with the hotel and the services.
While we waited for our drop to airport no one from the hotel approached us for the resolution of our complaints , instaed out business card was taken to inform that hotel staff will contact us.Guess no one bothered.
I could go on and on , but the bottom line is , was it the hospitality Radission is known for ?? I have my doubts.
For my fellow travellers , go there at your own risk.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank manishrai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2009

Overpriced and overrated! I believe this was one of my worst experiences in a hotel in quite some time. Bahrain is expensive, in general, but this hotel takes the cake. The room is normally well over $300 US a night. Thankfully, I got a much better rate than that. They charge 9 BD (about $32.4 US) a day for internet, and it's slower than when I used to use a modem in the 1990's. While the room was comfortable, it did not have some of the amenities I've had in other countries. For instance, no robe and no slippers. Yes, that's nit-picky, but those are just an example. If I were coming to Bahrain again, I'd DEFINITELY be staying somewhere else!!!

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2009

We stayed in many hotels in Bahrain befiore like : GULF HOTEL-SHERATON-CROWNE PLAZA, but they didn't meet our expectations. Since the arrival you feel that The RADISSON has the most professional staff with the concierge waiting for you with his accomodating smile.
The staff are very professional and friendly I can recognise Girlie from reception, Mahmood from concierge , Dinesh from Housekeeping, Tessa from Mondo.
The food is excellent. We enjoyed their live band THE BOXTONES in the Irish Pub. Also for a business traveler we were really relaxed after a nice massage in the SPA.
In general we enjoyed our stay at The Radisson and for sure it will become our address in Bahrain.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hamza1311
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
Reviewed July 17, 2009

The hotel is being rennovated from the outside and looks amazing! such an improvement on what it was before. The doormen recognised me and welcomed me back, a nice touch! reception was quick and my room spotlessly clean. The club lounge was so worth the extra money with great views and the staff cannot do enough to help you there.
The Gym is 1st class and the instructors are always on hand to help you with your routine and a free stretch out at the end!! my wife had a spa treatment (phytomer facial) and said it was totally heavenly and one of the best she has ever had.
We had dinner in the trendy Italian Mondo and the food was excellent and again the service faultless.
Overall a great place for a getaway and weekend break if you are coming to Bahrain. Its located close to the airport and easy to get to the shopping districts.
Definitely will return again.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank reggiekray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2009

Although decent hotel for the price, the all inclusive breakfast doesn't include coffee ! and i'm not talking about any fancy cappuccino. Regular coffee and tea are charged separately. They don't tell you this but insist on offering you coffee every morning. Business Friendly Bahrain is the motto of the country. I told them them this was not business friendly and wouldn't budge until they removed the ridiculous charge from my bill. Bunch of thieves. Everything is extra at this hotel except for the gym - this is standard Radisson practice: offer a low rate excluding taxes and service charges to get the business and then sell you internet, and even coffee on top of a 30 euro supposedly all inclusive breakfast.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BizTourist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2009

I throughly enjoyed my stay in the heart of bahrain. Grand view of the business district and very close to market place and Indian markets and Indian restaurants.

  • Stayed January 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
Helpful?
Thank SATSBangalore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Manama hotels
1.8 mi away
Gulf Hotel Bahrain Convention and Spa
1.9 mi away
Al Safir Hotel & Tower
Al Safir Hotel & Tower
#40 of 132 in Manama
105 reviews
1.2 mi away
InterContinental Regency Bahrain
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Elite Resort & Spa
Elite Resort & Spa
#11 of 132 in Manama
451 reviews
0.6 mi away
Novotel Bahrain Al Dana Resort
3.3 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, Bahrain
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Diplomat Radisson Blu Hotel, Residence & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Diplomat Radisson Blu Hotel, Residence & Spa

Property: The Diplomat Radisson Blu Hotel, Residence & Spa
Address: Building 59, Road 1701, Block 317 | Diplomatic Area, Manama 5243, Bahrain
Phone Number:
Location: Bahrain > Manama
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Manama
#9 Luxury Hotel in Manama
#12 Best Value Hotel in Manama
#12 Business Hotel in Manama
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — The Diplomat Radisson Blu Hotel, Residence & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 367
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Diplomat Radisson Blu Hotel, Residence & Spa is just minutes from Bahrain international airport as well as the shopping districts. Large comfortable rooms welcome you with warm, a spacious floor plan and amenities like complimentary high-speed Internet. Be sure to utilize your complimentary access to the hotel's Diplomat Spa and fitness center. Olivos Brasserie hosts the daily breakfast buffet in addition to lunch and dinner options. Three restaurants serve international and local favorites while the bar pours tasty drinks. Food choices include creative Italian at Mondo Bar, Lounge & Restaurant; a merger of tastes from China, Thailand, Japan, Vietnam and the Pacific islands at Kontiki; or traditional pub fare at Fiddlers Green. There are also three outdoor lagoon-style swimming pools in a tranquil garden setting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Rezidor, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire and Cancelon so you can book your The Diplomat Radisson Blu Hotel, Residence & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Diplomat Radisson Blu Hotel, Residence And Spa
The Diplomat Radisson Blu Hotel, Residence Hotel Manama
Radisson Manama
Manama Radisson
Diplomat Hotel Bahrain
The Diplomat Radisson Blu Hotel, Residence & Spa Bahrain/Manama

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing