We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Overpriced hotel for what I paid”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Diplomat Radisson Blu Hotel, Residence & Spa
Ranked #9 of 132 Hotels in Manama
Certificate of Excellence
Riyadh, Saudi Arabia
Level Contributor
40 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Overpriced hotel for what I paid”
Reviewed October 15, 2013 via mobile

I stayed in this hotel for 3 nights and my evaluation will be as follows:
1. Clean hotel with big room but the view was not that nice as my room was facing the diplomatic quarter and they didn't give us the sea view.
2. Breakfast was not included in the price though its not a cheap hotel
3. USD 240 per night is very high price and you can find better hotel and location with the same price
4. Location is average and it's 10 minutes by car to the city center mall but the area of the hotel itself is dead and don't expect to have a walk around the hotel
5. Check out took more than 25 minutes
6. The cars key cabinet was left open with no security at night and I had to talk to them about so I don't lose my car

I think next time I will consider better options

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ahmad Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-RDBlu, General Manager at The Diplomat Radisson Blu Hotel, Residence & Spa, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
Dear Ahmad,

Thank you for taking the time to comment on tripadvisor on your recent stay at the hotel. I was disappointed to hear that you did not see your stay offering value for money. Our prices fluctuate according to time of the year and you may be able to find a lower price in the near future. Being away from the husstle of the mall is considered by some guests to be an advantage considering the tropical ambiance in our swimming pool area and the kids corner catering to our younger guests. I have addressed the issue of the opened key cupboard with the team however I can assure you that it is never left unattended.

Please feel free to contact me when next in Bahrain. I sincerely look forward welcoming you back and convincing you on our strengths that many or our repeat guests enjoy over many years at the Diplomat Radisson Blu Hotel, Residence & Spa

Kind Regards
Panos Panagis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

690 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    316
    245
    85
    28
    16
See reviews for
92
79
71
359
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Geneva
Level Contributor
71 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2013

The hotel has everything you want, but you will forget it quickly. It lacks soul. A typical 5-star with all the amenities including a landscaped pool. It appears aged, however, and could do with a make-over. That being said, it is clean and well-maintained. Spot on in the diplomatic area, it is close to major embassies and the UN. Don't expect anything exciting within walking distance though. There is an area with good Japanese, Thai and French restaurants, but you will have to take a car. All in all a good hotel, if only they wouldn't freeze it down to Nordic temperatures. In contrast to the furnace heat outside, the temperatures inside hardly reach 20 degrees. I wore a sweater half of the time. Even after shutting down completely the AC in my room, the mercury climbed to 22 degrees only, due to the overpowering airconditioning in the rest of the building.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Weltenbummler2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-RDBlu, General Manager at The Diplomat Radisson Blu Hotel, Residence & Spa, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
Dear Weltenbummler2,

We apprecitae you taking the time in offering your thoughts on your stay at the Hotel. I was disappointed to hear that you did not find the hotel having any soul. The greatest pride we have is the sould in the friendliness of the staff something that a lot of our guests comment on. Like any other hotel in Bahrain one would normally require a vehicle in moving even at close vicinity to the hotel. It seems though that the hotel temperature was not well controlled during your stay and thanks to your comments have adjusted our airconditioning accordingly. Perhaps when you are next visiting Bahrain you could contact me directly to ensure that I and the team manage to change your opinion of our property.

Kind Regards
Panos Panagis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saudi Arabia
Level Contributor
39 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2013

I stayed there with my family (02 kids)...the rooms were not upto the standards and i can presume them to be that way since the hotel is quite old....The SPA was good, especially the therapists !! The plus of this hotel was a seperate ladies only Pool, Spa and Sauna !!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nashkhan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-RDBlu, General Manager at The Diplomat Radisson Blu Hotel, Residence & Spa, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
Dear Nahskan,

Firstly let me apologize for not getting back to you earlier. I had at the time read your comments and appreciate your effort in offering constructive feedback about your stay. I was pleased to see that you have enjoyed your time at the ladies spa. In regards to the rooms we are in the near future looking to refursbishing some of the rooms. However the hotel has also rooms that have been renovated in the recent past. Please contact me when next in Bahrain in order to show you around the number of other options that we have to offer.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013

I stayed at this hotel with 4 friends and some family members. The whole experience was lovely. The food was good, the rooms were clean and comfortable, the service was ok. The pool was lovely and overall the room prices were pretty good. We did have 3 in a room but we all had our own beds and there was still enough space in the room to walk around.

I would recommend this place and will be returning.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Catherine J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-RDBlu, General Manager at The Diplomat Radisson Blu Hotel, Residence & Spa, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Dear Catherine,

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent stay at the Diplomat Radisson Blu Hotel, Residence & Spa. I have passed your positive comments to the team who were delighted to hear that you and your friends had a wonderful stay.

As rightly pointed our our rooms are the largest in Bahrain with floor to ceiling views and in combination with the friendly service that we are well known for, make an ideal getaway for a relaxing weekend or business trip.

I am looking forward meeting you in person when you are next visiting the hotel.

Panos Panagis
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crowthorne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2013

Stayed at this hotel to speak at a conference taking there. First class facilities and service. Took breakfast at the club as an upgrade and would do so again. Very nice pool area and lobby big enough to always have room for 1-2-1 meetings.

Room Tip: I'm not sure there are any bad rooms!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-RDBlu, General Manager at The Diplomat Radisson Blu Hotel, Residence & Spa, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Dear Paul,

I was pleased to see your comments on tripadvisor on your recent stay at the hotel. It is always encouraging to receive positive comments from our guests.

We are also embarking on a project of redesigning and refurbsihing our Conference facilites that will further enhance our product in the near future.

I am looking forward to welcome you back to the Diplomat Radisson Blu Hotel, Residence & Spa.

Panos Panagis
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manama, Bahrain
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 28, 2013

Food variety is excellent. Served fresh and absolutely appetizing. You could feel a care free atmosphere even there is a mixed fusion of nationalities. The band even its midday is enough to wake you up for more morsels. Next time we'll hit the bar at the lobby.

Room Tip: Choose the west wing wherein you get good view of Muharraq bay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JakeAlderete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-RDBlu, General Manager at The Diplomat Radisson Blu Hotel, Residence & Spa, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Dear Jakealderete,

Thank you for taking the time on commenting on you recent visit to the Friday Brunch in the hotel taking place in the lower lobby combining our Italian and Asian restaurants with the pool area.

It is pleasing to hear that you enjoyed the food and service and our Food and beverage team is looking forward in welcoming you again to the brunch.

I look forward meeting you in person when next in the hotel.

Panos Panagis
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chatham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
137 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2013

Generally a good place with a couple of gripes. I was upgraded to a Royal Club room on the 10th floor. This was I assume a recent refurb. A well equipped room with big flat screen & a very nice bathroom. One point it also had UK style sockets which makes life easy for someone has as many gadgets as I seem to have these days is good. Food at the restaurants is good, the irish pub doing a great burger. The buffet in the main restaurant is tasty & a similar buffet in the same place does breakfast. The pool & bar area is excellent, I could have stayed there much longer but unfortunately work called.
The point that isn't good is the disturbance level. If your trying to sleep in the morning it is a pain getting room service knocking!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tr7v8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-RDBlu, General Manager at The Diplomat Radisson Blu Hotel, Residence & Spa, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Dear tr7v8,

We do appreciate you taking the time to comment on your ecent stay at the Diplomat Radisson Blu Hotel, Residence & Spa. It is encouraging to hear that your stay was overall positive. Although it has been a while I have at the time taken the issue of room service disturbing you early in the morning.

I am looking forward meeting you in person when next in Bahrain.

Panos Panagis
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Manama hotels
1.2 mi away
InterContinental Regency Bahrain
14.7 mi away
Sofitel Bahrain Zallaq Thalassa Sea & Spa
1.8 mi away
Gulf Hotel Bahrain Convention and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Domain Hotel and Spa
The Domain Hotel and Spa
#17 of 132 in Manama
4.5 of 5 bubbles 298 reviews
0.7 mi away
Elite Resort & Spa
Elite Resort & Spa
#12 of 132 in Manama
4.5 of 5 bubbles 444 reviews
1.2 mi away
Downtown Rotana
Downtown Rotana
#4 of 132 in Manama
4.5 of 5 bubbles 350 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Diplomat Radisson Blu Hotel, Residence & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Diplomat Radisson Blu Hotel, Residence & Spa

Property: The Diplomat Radisson Blu Hotel, Residence & Spa
Address: Building 59, Road 1701, Block 317 | Diplomatic Area, Manama 5243, Bahrain
Phone Number:
Location: Bahrain > Manama
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Manama
#9 Luxury Hotel in Manama
#12 Business Hotel in Manama
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Diplomat Radisson Blu Hotel, Residence & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 367
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Diplomat Radisson Blu Hotel, Residence & Spa is just minutes from Bahrain international airport as well as the shopping districts. Large comfortable rooms welcome you with warm, a spacious floor plan and amenities like complimentary high-speed Internet. Be sure to utilize your complimentary access to the hotel's Diplomat Spa and fitness center. Olivos Brasserie hosts the daily breakfast buffet in addition to lunch and dinner options. Three restaurants serve international and local favorites while the bar pours tasty drinks. Food choices include creative Italian at Mondo Bar, Lounge & Restaurant; a merger of tastes from China, Thailand, Japan, Vietnam and the Pacific islands at Kontiki; or traditional pub fare at Fiddlers Green. There are also three outdoor lagoon-style swimming pools in a tranquil garden setting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Rezidor, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Hotel.de so you can book your The Diplomat Radisson Blu Hotel, Residence & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Diplomat Radisson Blu Hotel, Residence And Spa
The Diplomat Radisson Blu Hotel, Residence Hotel Manama
Radisson Manama
Manama Radisson
Diplomat Hotel Bahrain
The Diplomat Radisson Blu Hotel, Residence & Spa Bahrain/Manama

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing