We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Regular guests here”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Golden Tulip Bahrain
Ranked #42 of 132 Hotels in Manama
Doha Qatar
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Regular guests here”
Reviewed April 9, 2013

If you are looking for a good location, reasonable price and value for money then this is the place to stay in Bahrain there is airport pickup and drop off available ? We choose the breakfast included option. The breakfast selection is good and plentiful The rooms are clean and cosy with comfortable beds
Only downside is the service in the restaurant fluctuates and the front desk service most of the time is unwelcoming despite constant reviews from us

Room Tip: Specify non smoking if you are one
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aussies3215
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

278 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    85
    83
    33
    36
See reviews for
35
39
47
128
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2013

Whilst caught up in a shambolic fiasco where GulfAir could not get it together long enough to fly us from Dammam to Bahrain (I had arrived 5 hours early to deal with the long queues at Dammam and I still missed my connecting flight out of Bahrain - but that's another story!). As a result I was forced to "layover" in the Golden Tulip, Bahrain. The outside and Reception look fine - if a little dated but it was only when we were shown to the special "layover" rooms that the truth finally dawned on us. Similar in many respects to the bunks I have had to stay in during my time in the military but not half as clean. Generally small and grubby with an enormous CRT television to keep you company, it looked as if the beds had not been changed for a while, smelling distinctly of sweat and other body odours. Paper thin walls that let in the sounds of ordinary guests going about their lawful business. "Special" food was available for layover guests(sic) but it was nothing like that served to the ordinary hotel residents - imagine a poor relation continental breakfast to the Full English with all the trimmings! I had to stay the whole day and cracked in the afternoon; paying extra to upgrade my lunch to a proper meal. Quite frankly I was glad to leave that evening (and that's another story KLM!).

Room Tip: If you ever have to layover in Bahrain - make your own arrangements and don't leave it to the st...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MistaPeta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Manama hotels

Gurugram (Gurgaon), India
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here for one night as part of a quick trip to Bahrain. The place has a look and feel of what a typical late 1990s hotel would have - lots of gold colour, design of lobby furniture etc.

The room was clean though, but could have done with more contemporary styling. The TV was a 29 inch CRT one that made a strange sound everytime it was turned on.

Food was good actually, nothing to complain. They could in my view capitalize much more on the location by upgrading the ambience.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank abhishek3030
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aberdeen
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2013

Back in the 90's when you could buy a jaguar sovereign, smoke on intercontinental flights and still receive a telex, someone designed the Golden Tulip in Bahrain. They have kept it tidy and well organised since then. They have fitted flat screen tellies and tarted up the bathrooms, they added wi-fi but then they stopped ...... and that seems to be where GT Bahrain has stayed since.
You will be comfortable and receive a warm if not overwhelming welcome. The food you eat will be quite acceptaBle or good. The service will be good or very good.
Stay here and enjoy..I would stay again happily.....but don't expect anything 21st century in the design.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kontiki-T60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairo, Egypt
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed March 11, 2013

Good Hotel near almost everything , room clean but old furnished ,stuff are rude going in and out without saying anything or welcoming you just keeps staring at you.
Internet is very expensive per day.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MinaaFouad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartlepool, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
317 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 218 helpful votes
Reviewed January 31, 2013

A fair feast of seafood.The crab took a little too long to arrive.The " Sports bar " is a step back in time and beer at 3.4 BD normal price, very expensive.Was a bit surprised to be charged 5 BD for a tot of brandy after the meal. Be careful.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mitchsan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeddah
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
Reviewed January 20, 2013

I used to stay a minimum of 50 times here. It is an average business hotel in the heart of the capital city manama. Placed between Diplomatic area and city center, the property is well located. They have started renovation and that is satisfactory. The carpets are all gone. The sleep is nice. Have a medium sized pool with pool parties in the weekend. Access to city and restaurants is in good reach.

Room Tip: Pool facing rooms in the second floor is a better option.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SyamRGopal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Manama hotels
2.2 mi away
Tulip Inn Bahrain Suites and Residences
0.1 mi away
Sheraton Bahrain Hotel
Sheraton Bahrain Hotel
#27 of 132 in Manama
399 reviews
0.4 mi away
Crowne Plaza Bahrain
Crowne Plaza Bahrain
#16 of 132 in Manama
429 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Downtown Rotana
Downtown Rotana
#4 of 132 in Manama
415 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Diplomat Radisson Blu Hotel, Residence & Spa
0.4 mi away
Fraser Suites Diplomatic Area Bahrain
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golden Tulip Bahrain? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Tulip Bahrain

Property: Golden Tulip Bahrain
Address: Old Palace Rd, Manama 1090, Bahrain
Location: Bahrain > Manama
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Manama
#39 Luxury Hotel in Manama
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Golden Tulip Bahrain 5*
Number of rooms: 250
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Golden Tulip Bahrain reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Tulip Bahrain Hotel Manama
Golden Tulip Hotel Bahrain
Manama Golden Tulip
Golden Tulip Manama
Golden Tulip Bahrain Manama

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing