We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A decent place”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Bahrain
Ranked #15 of 133 Hotels in Manama
Certificate of Excellence
Write a Review

432 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    153
    192
    46
    24
    17
See reviews for
31
51
49
243
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Portsmouth
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed April 17, 2009

The hotel staff are very welcoming and are always helpful. A big recommend is the Harvesters Bar. There is also the Sports Bar with pool table and Large screen TV's. The food is of bar food type but excellent and you are never wanting on quality and service. They have a happy hour which seems a lot longer then a hour and the staff always check to see if you want to order some drinks before the time runs out.
I have stayed here twice and many of my colleagues all agree that as a base for work and travelling it's ideal.
The breakfast is very good with many choices on a buffet style so a re-visit is not out of the question. The Fish and Main restaurant's are excellent with great service. The Friday Brunch is a must with a choice of price with drinks to match.
The evening group in the Harvesters were a little loud but at the end of the day was a good release. There is a Club upstairs but we never frequented it as the atmosphere was good in the Harvesters.
The rooms are very well equipped and very comfortable with all rooms being quite ones. There are taxi's right outside the hotel just 50 metres away.
The shopping Mall's are a good 10 mins walk away but the hotel will organise a hotel car to take you to the better ones.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ourhouse42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santorini, Greece
Level 6 Contributor
115 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
Reviewed January 16, 2009

we did stay here for 1 nights . we arrived around 11.30 at night and the people were really good and friendy we had to catch a morning fly to Athens (10.00am) . the room was good the bed a bit small but everything went well .
breakfast was perfect

  • Stayed January 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank ANGELA,GREECE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england
1 review
Reviewed December 3, 2008

Just visited the hotel in November and had a fantastic stay. I have stayed in several Crowne Plazas before and the service at this one was one of the best i have experienced. The staff are very friendly and accommodating and really helpful. Although the rooms are not completely modern - they are cosy and comfortable and have high speed internet access. The restaurant choices are varied - from an english pub to a seafood restaurant. Both serving good food and with great service. Highly recommended aswell for the very central location - close to the shopping malls and business areas.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — na
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank liverpool7913
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
American in Saudi Arabia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 24, 2008

This may be the worst hotel I have ever stayed in for the price paid. Upon check-in, we learned that a confirmation number does not guarantee a reservation. We had reserved the room a month prior with specific requests; non-smoking ,king size bed. They were finally able to find us a room on the lower floor with two twin beds. The lower floor felt like a dungeon, the room smelled of mold and when I looked in the bathroom there was mold all around the bathtub. This is not what I expect when paying $250.00 per night.

  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aselch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, Kentucky
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed November 22, 2008

This is no five star hotel. We stayed at the Crown for a group event and were very dissatisfied. We booked the room a month prior and none of our requests were met. We asked for 3 King, non-smoking, adjoining rooms and were 2 twins and 1 king, all smoking and rooms were not even on the same floor. The desk reply was, "Believe me, I wish I could help you." The rooms themselves were bad. Lights didn't work, toilets didn't flush, sinks didn't drain. One of the bathrooms had mold all over it. This room was on the "first floor" which you had to go down to get to and felt like a dungeon.

For our event, the room was nicely decorated and food was fine. The bar service was very disorganized and the toilets were smelly and not kept up during the evening.

When we complained to management about the price and accommodations, their response was that they are priced with the other 5 star hotels in Bahrain - but they just cannot compare to those hotels in accommodation or service.

I would not stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chellye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Manama hotels
0.1 mi away
The Diplomat Radisson Blu Hotel, Residence & Spa
1.2 mi away
InterContinental Regency Bahrain
1.9 mi away
Gulf Hotel Bahrain Convention and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Domain Hotel and Spa
The Domain Hotel and Spa
#20 of 133 in Manama
305 reviews
1.2 mi away
Downtown Rotana
Downtown Rotana
#6 of 133 in Manama
441 reviews
0.5 mi away
Sheraton Bahrain Hotel
Sheraton Bahrain Hotel
#27 of 133 in Manama
404 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Bahrain? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Bahrain

Property: Crowne Plaza Bahrain
Address: Diplomatic Area P.O. Box 5831, Manama 5831, Bahrain
Phone Number:
Location: Bahrain > Manama
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Manama
#13 Business Hotel in Manama
#15 Luxury Hotel in Manama
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Crowne Plaza Bahrain 5*
Number of rooms: 246
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Crowne Plaza Hotel Bahrain with its 246 well appointed rooms and suites all with high speed internet access is the perfect location for the business traveler as it is within the diplomatic area where most of the banks and embassies are located and conveniently situated within 10 minutes of the airport. The Crowne Plaza Hotel Bahrain has a large business, conference and banqueting venue experienced in catering for all events and occasions. The Bahrain Conference Centre, conveniently adjoining the hotel is a purpose built venue that is undoubtedly one of the most versatile centers imaginable in Bahrain, whatever your requirements the Crowne Plaza Bahrain Hotel will ensure that your event will be a success. The Crowne Plaza Bahrain Hotel has a true understanding of taste. Our hotel guests are offered an array of dining delights from the elegant Waves Seafood Restaurant, an authentic and distinct flavours of India from Spice Indian Restaurant, Harvesters typical British pub with draught beer and pub food featuring live entertainment nightly, the La Mosaique All day dining restaurant with specialty evenings and Tracks Sports Bar where all the latest sports are broadcasted live on a large screen. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, IHG, Orbitz, Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Crowne Plaza Bahrain reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Bahrain Hotel Manama
Crowne Plaza Manama
Crowne Plaza Hotel Bahrain
Crowne Plaza Bahrain Manama

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing