We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lanterns lounge and restaurant, Adliya”
Review of Lanterns

Lanterns
Ranked #40 of 622 Restaurants in Manama
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Telephone # 17590591
Reviewed April 7, 2013

The garden lounge was a lovely discovery, perfect at this time of year when it is so nice to eat and drink al fresco. It had a great atmosphere and although the music was not to my taste,it added to the fun feeling of the place. It was nice to note, when we went inside to the restaurant area, that traditional Indian (restaurant) music was being played.
We did not want much to eat, so shared an onion bhaji starter ,which was to be honest a bit of a mess ( did something go wrong here, or is it deliberate?) what are usually patties were loose in a dish. Difficult to eat, however, we managed and it tasted fine. We then shared an aubergine dish and some garlic naan. It was delicious, but beware if you are a curry lightweight as it was very hot. We do like spicy, but had to order some raita to help cool it down!
I do hope they will install misters (I could see no evidence of them) so that it will still be a pleasure to sit in the lounge in the summer months. There is a disappointing shortage of al fresco dining in Manama.
We will definitely return again.
There are quite a few new restaurants being developed in Adliya, making it a perfect little enclave for a good night out.

Date of visit: April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
8  Thank Morag G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (302)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

256 - 260 of 302 reviews

Reviewed March 28, 2013

This restaurant was quite good even until a year ago, but somewhere down the line, the standard has not been maintained. First the quantity served has reduced considerably and second, the prices have gone up a lot. Both together mean that it is not value for money any longer. I can't remember the name of the vegetarian starter that we had, it was called either seekh or tikka (vegetarian). There were only 4 pieces of measly, thin green rolls ....and it cost a whopping BD 3.9, that is almost BD 1 per piece !! The mirchi baingan salan again, served in a small dish had probably 2 pieces of brinjal and chilli and the rest was a gravy, and it was over-priced at BD 3.3. Mushroom, corn and spinach jharoka also came in a very tiny bowl..two scoops with the serving spoon and it was over. That cost another BD 3.3. It had one mushroom in it, one could count the corn, and the rest was either malai or cheese. Overall, the meal was a total rip-off. The only saving grace of the evening was the live singing.....consisting of old Bollywood songs. The singer had a melodious voice. The music volume has been thankfully toned down...so its still possible to make conversation at the table. Not likely to have a meal there again as there are several better restaurants in town which serve very good Indian dishes at a more reasonable price and where the ambience is equally good.

Date of visit: March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
9  Thank Atajus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2013

We were fans of the old Lanterns off Budaiya Highway, and just tried the new Adliya branch. The food is just as good -- all very well-prepared, a large variety of standard Indian dishes very well-done -- but in a much larger and lighter setting, while still retaining the funky Indian "street" decor of the original. Nice background music. An excellent place to relax with friends over a long dinner. At our last outing, with several friends, we ordered several curries -- both meat and vegetarian -- a tandoori chicken dish and deserts, and all were excellent. There is a bar, although the drinks seemed watered-down to us. Prices were very reasonable by Manama standards, making this good value for money. (It's true, service can be a bit confused at times, but this is typical of almost all Manama restaurants, and we've learned to correct without too much hassle.) There was a small outdoor garden, but it lacked the atmosphere of the interior and seemed to be the place where smokers chose to dine. Overall, the new Adliya branch looks set to become one of our favorites.

Date of visit: February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
8  Thank Historytraveler55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2013

My family and I had the unfortunate experience of visiting the Lanterns Lounge & restaurant 2 weeks ago. The food was undercooked and overpriced. By far the worst Indian food we've ever tasted. It was delivered in the smallest proportions. The waitresses were dishonest, the 'rave' music was too loud and the whole experience was very intrusive.

Date of visit: February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
11  Thank Abu R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2013

Adliya branch has worst Service. Do not even try to experience it as it will disappoint you thoroughly. They are so lousy that they forget to serve the requested food twice and were smart enough to charge that also.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
11  Thank Gulraizp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lanterns also viewed

 
Manama, Bahrain
Manama, Bahrain
 
Manama, Bahrain
 

Been to Lanterns? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing