We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Does not worth it!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Westin Bahrain City Centre
Ranked #14 of 131 Hotels in Manama
Certificate of Excellence
Jeddah, Saudi Arabia
Level Contributor
54 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Does not worth it!”
Reviewed January 8, 2014

I have visited the Kempinski Grand for the 2nd time as my favorite in Manama. The hotel cleanness got bad (It was great at first). Even reception staff got unfriendly unlike first time. I don't think I will stay there later.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pioneer911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KGIHBC C, General Manager at The Westin Bahrain City Centre, responded to this review, January 14, 2014
Dear Pioneer911,

First and foremost, thank you for your candid feedback.

I’m delighted to learn that your first stay in Kempinski Grand made us your favourite hotel in Manama; however I deeply regret to hear that during your second stay your expectations were not met.

I apologize if the cleanliness of the hotel, as well as your encounter with our front office staff were not up to your satisfaction. This is most unfortunate and does not reflect the level of service that we aim to provide. If you experience such shortcomings we would appreciate if you, as our valued guest, would have brought such concerns to our attention at the time so that we would have been able to address them immediately.

We hope to have the privilege of welcoming you back at our hotel to demonstrate that we can again become your favourite hotel in Manama.

Yours sincerely,

Puneet Singh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

462 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    274
    113
    38
    17
    20
See reviews for
92
87
38
170
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2014

its been said about this hotel before, and i'll just reiterate the same. The size of the room wasnt overly impressive. Its a great hotel with exceptionally great staff, but i've been to 3 and 4 star hotels that had larger rooms then the Kempinski.

Grabbed a few drinks in the lounge. Love the private booths! And the fact that this hotel is co-located with a major mall makes this a great hotel to book with! I don't really have anything bad to say about the place as I was impressed with my first visit to a Kempinski. Guess i've just been spoiled with larger size rooms. Dont let that fact sway you from staying here though!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank its_me_in_Ottawa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KGIHBC C, General Manager at The Westin Bahrain City Centre, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
Dear Its_me_in Ottawa,

Thank you very much for your kind review of your stay with us in December.

We aim to provide the highest standards of service throughout our hotel, and are delighted to read that you have liked our private booths at the Mezzanine Lounge. The booths are equipped with media facilities and serve as excellent choices for both private as well as business meets.

We are sorry to know that you have not liked the size of the room where you stayed. However, regarding the room sizes, we have a selection of room categories from Superior rooms at 29 square metres and Deluxe rooms at 36 square meters, to a variety of suites varying from 42 square metres up to 148 square metres. From this assortment most guests can find a suitable sized room for their requirements.
As you mentioned, our direct connection to Bahrain City Centre Mall with its 340 retail outlets, cinema, waterpark and much more, is very convenient for our guests, whether travelling for business or leisure. Our central location in the capital makes it very easy to travel anywhere in the country, be it to the airport, or elsewhere. For example the Bahrain International Circuit is located just 20 minutes away from the hotel; and Manama Souq is just a few minutes’ drive.
We hope to have the privilege of welcoming you back at our hotel soon.

Yours sincerely,
Puneet Singh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuwait City, Kuwait
Level Contributor
86 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed December 25, 2013

Bahrain has a shortage of 5 stars hotels and not to the standard. this Kempinski is quiet nice however not to Dubai standards. room size is not that big but nice and clean with a nice view. the bathroom configuration is nice with a walk in shower. i think this hotel will be my choice for later visits to Bahrain until the Four Seasons opens.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SAZ040
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KGIHBC C, General Manager at The Westin Bahrain City Centre, responded to this review, December 29, 2013
Dear SAZ040
We sincerely thank you for the positive review of your stay with us in December.
I am delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay at the hotel. It is valued guests like yourself that motivate us to do what we do best and I will be more than happy to share your comments with the entire team.
I sincerely hope to have the privilege of welcoming you back at our hotel soon as we have many exciting promotions and events coming up in the New Year.
Our direct attachment to Bahrain City Centre Mall with its 340 retail outlets and various entertainment options is very convenient for our guests, whether they travel for business or leisure.
Perhaps the next time you visit us you could try Baharat our Middle Eastern restaurant that was recently voted as favourite Middle Eastern restaurant as voted by the people of Bahrain?
With best wishes for a happy and prosperous New Year,

Yours sincerely,

Puneet Singh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ossett, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
287 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed December 20, 2013

Stayed for 4 nights. A very good experience.

Staff
Well dealt with upon arrival. All staff encountered were very pleasant and always acknowledged you with a smile and a 'hello'.

ROOM
A good sized room with a large comfy bed. Plenty of storage space for clothing. Iron and iron board provided, large TV and free safe. Bathroom enclosed by glass walls which could be screened of by automatic blinds. Sound from the TV piped into the bathroom if required (could lie in the bath watching the TV). Tea and coffee making facilities in the room plus mini bar. Slippers and dressing gown provided. Excellent Room.

Breakfast

A buffett style breakfast where you helped yourself, but with the addition of a chef on hand to cook fresh omelettes, eggs benedict etc.
The cold buffett consisted of cereals, fresh fruit, yoghurts, breads, cheeses, pasties, etc. along with fruit juice and smoothies.
The hot self serve was sausage, beans, egg, tomatoe etc. However it has to be said that when I tried this the food was luke warm which was disappointing. It could be that as I was at breakfast early that maybe the food warmers had not got to their correct temperature.
The staff at breakfast were very attentive, clearing used dishes straight away and offering to bring fresh juice when glasses were empty.

Lunch.

Again very good food was produced with a decent selection from the self serve buffett. Salads and cold meats were available. Hot dishes included curries/tagine, fish dishes, pasta dishes and a cooked meat.
Sweets were in the main individually portioned with a wide variety to choose from.

Excellent lunch.

Did not dine in the evening so cannot report.

General

This hotel is attached to a large shopping mall which is convenient if that is your thing. The hotel is also split into two sections, (separated by the mall), The Grand and the Axir. At the entrances there is a security system similar to airports where you walk through a scanner. However I am not sure why these are here as people quite often just bypassed the scanners!

Also be aware that smoking is allowed in the mezzanine bar here. Slightly unusual when you are used to no smoking in buildings at all.

Overall an excellent stay. Well done.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chump57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KGIHBC C, General Manager at The Westin Bahrain City Centre, responded to this review, December 23, 2013
Dear Champ 57

First and foremost, thank you for your kind and detailed review of your stay with us at Kempinski Grand & Ixir Hotel Bahrain City Centre. It was our pleasure to host you for four days, and I am delighted to read your positive review of your experience with us.

We unceasingly strive to give our valued guests memorable experiences during every visit, and it is positive and constructive feedback like yours that encourages us to continue what we are doing. I will happily relay your comments to the entire team. We have also noted the areas of our service mentioned in your review that can be improved and made better.

We hope to have the privilege of welcoming you back at our hotel soon.

Yours sincerely,

Puneet Singh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 14, 2013

Hello my friends,

I've just spent few days in your hotel and I must give you the credit and say it was really, really great.

All the time I felt very comfortable, very welcoming. Hotel service was very good.

Staff was welcoming and at service of any kind, all the time. I can almost say I felt at home for these few days, and I want to thank you all for that. Professionalism, service and on the other side worm, homelike feeling is not easy to achieve.

Keep up the good work.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BradleyW2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KGIHBC C, General Manager at The Westin Bahrain City Centre, responded to this review, December 22, 2013
Dear BradleyW2012,
Thank you for taking the time to write a positive review of your recent stay with us.
I’m happy to hear that your business trip with us was enjoyable. Our goal is to provide memorable experiences and service beyond excellent, and I’m pleased to hear that we have delivered that. I am happy to share your positive comments about the service with my entire team. Encouraging feedback like yours motivates us even further to provide the best service in Bahrain.
We look forward to welcoming you back at our hotel soon.
Yours sincerely,

Puneet Singh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed December 14, 2013 via mobile

Disrespect of Hotel GM. The staff are great. it seems that No respect for Loyalty Cards holders even if it's Black member. The front desk team will give you a message that we are always full and we don't need you if you don't accept their behavior . I don't recommend Kempinski Bahrain at all.

Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KGIHBC C, General Manager at The Westin Bahrain City Centre, responded to this review, December 22, 2013
Dear sir,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay and also the fact, that we had the pleasure to welcome you many times before as one of our loyal guests. I am sorry to hear that you were dissatisfied during your last visit due to the non-availability of your upgrade based on your membership status. As a Black member, our guests are entitled to and offered a double upgrade subject to availability. In your particular case during your last visit, the respective upgrade from a Superior Room to a Junior Suite was offered, however you declined unfortunately. Instead, you asked for a quadruple upgrade to a Senior Suite which we were not able to accommodate. We offer a certain number of rooms and suites for upgrades on a daily basis, subject to availability – similar to how airlines work with their inventory.
Please let me assure you that – like on your previous stays – we will do our utmost to provide the earned upgrades, however during busy periods we will not always be able to do so.
We sincerely appreciate your loyalty and hope that we will be able to welcome back soon.

Yours sincerely,

Puneet Singh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
366 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
Reviewed December 13, 2013

If you're coming from the Gulf and want to spend the weekend shopping, bars, movies, etc - this is a great place. The deluxe room is very well kitted out with an extremely comfortable bed. It's a shame about the slow internet.

The food on site is very good!

Room Tip: Ask for rooms further away from the elevator. Families with noisy kids might annoy you otherwise
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rocknrollah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KGIHBC C, General Manager at The Westin Bahrain City Centre, responded to this review, December 23, 2013
Dear 436azizs

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your recent stay with us.

I’m happy to hear that your weekend trip with us was enjoyable. As you mentioned, our direct connection to Bahrain City Centre Mall with its 340 retail outlets, cinema, waterpark and much more, is very convenient for our guests, whether travelling for business or leisure.

I am glad to hear that you enjoyed our gastronomic offerings. At the beginning of this year, we began a direct partnership with a local farm in a neighbouring town Karranah, and we receive a delivery of fresh produce straight from the farm every day. This allows us to offer a large selection of dishes of highest quality using the freshest ingredients in all of our outlets.

We regret the fact that the Internet service was slow. However we wish you brought this to our attention right then so that we could look into the matter immediately. We do provide free WiFi to all our customers in all areas of the hotel and keep monitoring the performance of the system on a regular basis.

Once again, thank you for your positive review and we look forward to welcoming you back at our hotel soon.


Yours sincerely,

Puneet Singh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Manama hotels
0.1 mi away
Le Meridien Bahrain City Centre
1.3 mi away
InterContinental Regency Bahrain
1.2 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, Bahrain
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.1 mi away
Sofitel Bahrain Zallaq Thalassa Sea & Spa
2.1 mi away
Four Seasons Hotel Bahrain Bay
1.4 mi away
Downtown Rotana
Downtown Rotana
#3 of 131 in Manama
4.5 of 5 bubbles 341 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Bahrain City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Bahrain City Centre

Property: The Westin Bahrain City Centre
Address: Sheikh Khalifa Bin Salman Highway, Manama, Bahrain (Formerly Grand & Ixir Hotel Bahrain City Centre)
Location: Bahrain > Manama
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Manama
#8 Business Hotel in Manama
#14 Luxury Hotel in Manama
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Westin Bahrain City Centre 5*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located at the heart of Manama, The Westin Bahrain City Centre is the first-ever Westin Hotel to grace the island. Thoughtfully devised with a host of novel and innovative facilities that include the city's first Heavenly(R) Spa and Westin KidsClub, guests are afforded the opportunity to sample the unique Westin wellbeing promise when staying for business or leisure. The Westin is merely a few steps away from Bahrain City Centre, the nation's most popular retail and leisure destination with more than 340 retail stores. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Starwood EMEA, Agoda, Hotwire, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Westin Bahrain City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kempinski Grand And Ixir Hotel Bahrain City Centre
The Westin Bahrain City Centre Manama

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing