We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Westin Bahrain City Centre
Ranked #7 of 137 Hotels in Manama
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 2, 2013

I was in Kempinski Bahrain about a month ago for a weekend. It was relaxing, the staff were very friendly and helpful, it has a direct access to the mall which is convenient.

The breakfast buffet was mind blowing, there's a lot of selection!! Love it!

I would definitely go back to this hotel and recommend it to everyone looking for a pleasant experience in Bahrain.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Salha S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KGIHBC C, General Manager at The Westin Bahrain City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded October 7, 2013

Dear Salha,

Thank you for your review of your stay with us in August. It was our pleasure to have you stay at Kempinski Grand & Ixir Hotel Bahrain City Centre, and I am delighted to read your kind feedback.

I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed our breakfast buffet selection. Earlier this year, we began a partnership with a local farm in a neighbouring town, Karranah, and we receive a daily delivery of fresh produce straight from the farm. This allows us to offer our guests a large selection of dishes of great quality using the freshest ingredients, including during our breakfast buffet.

We hope to have the privilege of welcoming you back at our hotel soon.

Yours sincerely,

Puneet Singh
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (568)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

372 - 378 of 568 reviews

Reviewed October 2, 2013

I traveled to Bahrain for a meeting which was held at the Kempinski Bahrain City Centre. The hotel is really new and the design is modern and perfectly matched my taste. The lobby has a high ceiling and a spiral staircase that leads to second floor where the lobby bar is located. On this floor the hotel also has it's own night club called Boudoir which has an unique design with a great bar and awesome cocktails.

The meeting rooms are equipped with the latest state of the art technology, have natural daylight and the coffee breaks had so many items that it was impressed. One of the highlights was the extensive breakfast. We had so much choice that we couldn't even try everything. Extraordinary was the glass fridge in the restaurant that had fresh homemade yogurts and ice creams.

The rooms have a great design and definitely matched my taste. The bathroom is separated from the bedroom by a large glass window which can be switch to a milky glass by the touch of a button. Really nice feature to play with. Room service was delicious and the time of delivery was quick.

Service was excellent as the staff was very attentive and helpful in any matters with always a smile on their face.

The hotel is directly connected to the City centre mall which is convenient for some shopping. Taxis have reasonable prices which bring you quickly to the hot spots in the city.

Overall a great hotel were I would stay again in the future and can recommend to others.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PhilippSimon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KGIHBC C, General Manager at The Westin Bahrain City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded October 5, 2013

Dear Philipp,

First and foremost, thank you for your kind review of your stay with us in September. It was our pleasure to host you at Kempinski Grand & Ixir Hotel Bahrain City Centre during your business meeting, and I am delighted to read your positive review of your experience with us.

We unceasingly strive to give our valued guests memorable experiences during every visit, and it is feedback like yours that encourages us to continue what we are doing. I will happily relay your comments to the entire team.

We hope to have the privilege of welcoming you back at our hotel soon.

Yours sincerely,

Puneet Singh
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2013

This hotel is located right inside the shopping mall, which makes it very convenient. The service was faultless. Room service was very good. Breakfast was yummy, and included in the price. The only criticism was when we tried to locate the hotel. There are 2 Kempinskis right next to each other, and trying to determine the correct one, was very difficult.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank flaming_lamborghini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KGIHBC C, General Manager at The Westin Bahrain City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded October 1, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your kind review of your stay with us in August.

I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us, particularly our connection to Bahrain City Centre. With 340 retail outlets and numerous entertainment facilities, Bahrain City Centre is a great, convenient destination for our guests, whether they are coming for business or leisure.

I am also happy to hear that you enjoyed our Room Service and breakfast offerings. I will pass your kind message along to my team.

Regarding the two towers, I apologize for the confusion. We have the unique concept of being two towers under one hotel name, and this can be confusing for first time guests. We have signage outside the premises to identify the different hotel towers, but we will look at making this clearer for our guests.

We hope to have the privilege of welcoming you back at our hotel soon.

Yours sincerely,

Puneet Singh
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2013

We came to the hotel after check in time and we had to wait for some time. We said we were driving for 5 hours and we came in a good time but they asked from us to wait. Finally they gave us a nice room in the tower. We liked it, and we asked to extend our nights there. They gave us different rates and they change us room and building and there was no service at all. Missing things from mini bar and we were afraid that they would ask from us money at the check out for not correct consumptions. Only 1 bath towel in the wc. There are many things similar to the previous mentioned but it was very bad for us to pay Kempinski and to get a 3 star hotel. We stayed 5 night and then we moved to Ritz for another 8 nights as they increased the price due to their system and weekend rates, although we had complains regarding their services.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Micbarbad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KGIHBC C, General Manager at The Westin Bahrain City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded October 1, 2013

Dear Guest,

First and foremost, thank you for your honest review of your stay with us in August.

I am sorry that you did not enjoy your stay with us. I would like to assure you that this is not a reflection of our service, and I regret that you had this experience. We are constantly striving to improve our service and product, and value the feedback from all of our guests, especially the negative, thus we appreciate your comments.

If you could please give me more details about your feedback, I will be more than happy to address the issues in depth. Thus, please contact me directly at puneet.singh@kempinski.com so that I may follow up with my team accordingly.

I hope to hear from you soon to directly discuss the issues you’ve addressed in your review.

Yours sincerely,

Puneet Singh
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2013

This is hands down one of the best hotels we have stayed in. As well as the all the normal ammenties you would expect from a hotel of this standard, the location was the best. For Adults its attached to city City Mall so it opens up your shopping and eating out options. For kids the mall also has a Water Park, Bowling Alley and Toy Shop - in a kids mind what could be better. My 2 year old called our room the small house. Close to the Motorway so you can quickly zip down to the World Trade Centre and enjoy amazing Japanese food at Maki.

Room Tip: Weekends get busy - book in advance so no queues
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ranyah_Seraj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KGIHBC C, General Manager at The Westin Bahrain City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded September 14, 2013

Dear Ranyah,

Thank you for taking the time to write such a wonderful review about your most recent stay with us in August. Please rest assured that this will be shared with the entire team and will motivate us even more to consistently deliver the best in all we do.

I am happy to hear that you enjoyed our city centre location and connection to the largest mall in the Kingdom, Bahrain City Centre. With 340 retail outlets and Wahooo! Waterpark, Magic Planet, and a 20-screen Cineplex, we are an ideal location for shoppers and families. We closely collaborate with Bahrain City Centre to provide our guests with special packages. For example, this month, we are offering the Bahrain City Centre Anniversary package, where guests can stay for a minimum of 2 nights and enjoy complimentary daily breakfast and a BD 50 shopping voucher from Bahrain City Centre.

We hope to have the privilege of welcoming you back at our hotel soon.

Yours sincerely,

Puneet Singh
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2013

After spending nearly two weeks at the Kempinski Grand, I was thoroughly satisfied. The location is conveniently located attached to a large mall that has all the shops and restaurants you might need. The room was very comfortable and welcoming. It was spacious, with a comfortable bed and furnishings. The bathroom was large, with a glass wall allowing you to view the TV or while in the tub, or for privacy you could hit a switch and the glass wall turned opaque so nobody could see in. The staff was efficient and very friendly, from the maids to the doorman and front desk staff. It has a nice pool and hot tub (although the temperature of the hot tub was cooler than I'd have liked) and a swim up bar. A nice fitness room was complimented by a wonderful spa, offering a sauna and steam room. Breakfast was included with the room and it was fantastic. A huge buffet with eggs made to order, a wide selection of fruit, meats, bread, juices and many other items.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ThePacificIslander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KGIHBC C, General Manager at The Westin Bahrain City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded September 14, 2013

Dear PacificIslander,

Thank you for your positive review of your stay with us this month. I appreciate you taking the time to give us your honest feedback.

We aim to provide the highest standards of service throughout our hotel on a consistent level. It is valued guests like yourself that motivate us hoteliers to do what we do best, and I will definitely pass this message along to the entire team.

We hope to have the privilege of welcoming you back at our hotel soon.

Yours sincerely,

Puneet Singh
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2013

Great location. Adequate and comfortable rooms. Price reasonable and the spa is to die for, especially Mae and Pook. But what brings us back twice a month and the only place we will stay in Bahrain is the front end staff. The ladies at the front , security to the guys that park the cars are beyond great and hospitable. Like family and has earned my locality.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SteinNelson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KGIHBC C, General Manager at The Westin Bahrain City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded September 14, 2013

Dear Nelson,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay with us this month, and for choosing Kempinski Grand & Ixir Hotel Bahrain City Centre as your accommodation destination in Bahrain twice a month; we are always delighted to welcome you to the hotel!

We have fantastic employees who are dedicated to their craft here at Kempinski, and I am pleased to hear that you have had great experiences as a result. I will pass your kind words on to my team, especially to colleagues at the Front Office, SPA and Security.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back at our hotel soon.

Yours sincerely,

Puneet Singh
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Manama hotels
0.1 mi away
Le Meridien Bahrain City Centre
1.3 mi away
InterContinental Regency Bahrain
1.2 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, Bahrain
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.1 mi away
Sofitel Bahrain Zallaq Thalassa Sea & Spa
2.1 mi away
Four Seasons Hotel Bahrain Bay
2.4 mi away
The Domain Hotel and Spa
The Domain Hotel and Spa
#18 of 137 in Manama
343 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Bahrain City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Bahrain City Centre

Address: Sheikh Khalifa Bin Salman Highway, Manama, Bahrain (Formerly Grand & Ixir Hotel Bahrain City Centre)
Location: Bahrain > Manama
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Manama
#7 Luxury Hotel in Manama
#8 Business Hotel in Manama
Price Range: $189 - $327 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Westin Bahrain City Centre 5*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located at the heart of Manama, The Westin Bahrain City Centre is the first-ever Westin Hotel to grace the island. Thoughtfully devised with a host of novel and innovative facilities that include the city's first Heavenly(R) Spa, guests are afforded the opportunity to sample the unique Westin Wellbeing promise when staying for business or leisure. The Westin is merely a few steps away from City Centre Bahrain, the nation's most popular retail and leisure destination with more than 340 retail stores. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Westin Bahrain City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kempinski Grand And Ixir Hotel Bahrain City Centre
The Westin Bahrain City Centre Manama

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing