We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a '5' star experience by a long shot.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Westin Bahrain City Centre
Ranked #8 of 136 Hotels in Manama
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 16, 2012

This is a review purely on the Brunch on Friday 15th June 2012. I attended with my wife and we paid cash for our lunch (65 BD). On arrival we were shown to a 'quiet area' table (this expression was used by the hostess) only to find it was beside a table of women with their children and right by the main access door into and out of the kitchen (I say door but I am not sure there is a door as the noise was constant). The food was very well prepared and cooked by, I assume, a talented group of chefs. However it was almost all cold. The soup was sent back and reheated (which took 15 minutes), the Beef Wellington was luke warm but the vegetables were stone cold. The variety of desserts was poor and of poor quality.The staff were informed on three occasions that we were not happy but took little action. I mentioned cold food to the supervisor but got platitudes. We will not return and will not recommend.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
3  Thank MikeHibby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KGIHBCC, General Manager at The Westin Bahrain City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded August 29, 2012

Thank you for your comments. We have taken your comments and continue to make improvements where necessary with our teams.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (542)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

470 - 476 of 542 reviews

Reviewed June 15, 2012

Very modern hotel, handy for financial district. Rooms very high tech with some surorises - I'll leave you to find these yourself.

Staff friendly. Pool (outside) good.

Connects directly to one of the larger shopping malls where there are a number of eateries.

Outside, not much to speak about - typical Bahrain. Shame it's not by the sea.

Room Tip: 10th floor has access to the exec lounge - which serves breakfasts and free snacks/drinks in the eve...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MontyWsx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KGIHBCC, General Manager at The Westin Bahrain City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded August 29, 2012

We are glad that you enjoyed your stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2012

Have stayed at the property now a number of times and each time it is consistently good.
This property is very focused on the Buisiness and shopping market being attached to The BCC Mall which in itself has fantastic facilities.
The rooms are large spotless , modern, bed is great to sleep in and very well sound proofed. The best thing about this property is the staff , they are professional , friendly, very obliging and go out of there way to assist.
The one negative are the food offerings, the main restaurant needs to be redesigned badly, looks like a upmarket work canteen , souless, bland colouring and the menu needs to be addressed, plus it is attached to the mall so no atmosphere. That being said the boudoir bar is unfound novelty , quirky, funky and if sold right could be a very happening spot. Great pool and spa with very few kids about which is what I want from a hotel not a kiddies playground.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank houl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KGIHBCC, General Manager at The Westin Bahrain City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded August 29, 2012

Thank you for your comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2012

My wife and I stayed at the Kempinski Grand Hotel for a night in March of 2012. Would I recommend this hotel to a friend or stay here again? Yes - depending on your reason to stay there. There really is only one reason to stay at the Kempinski and that is it is connected to the City Center Mall in Bahrain. Would I stay there again? Probably not. The Kempinski is expensive compared to other hotels that are close to the City Center Mall. Even though it is rated as 5 stars, there are nicer 5 star hotels in Bahrain. The Kempinishi does have lounge where you can buy an alcoholic drink – but you don’t need to stay at the hotel to use the bar. I also found the breakfast buffet not up to 5 star standards – If you’re getting charged $25 US for breakfast it better be amazing and not just OK.

The hotel was very clean and our room was great. The wall separating the bathroom and the main room was glass. There was a switch in the bathroom that changed the class from clear to opaque. As well, the “do not disturb” and the “please make up the room” signs were digital switches which turned a light on/off outside your room. The room also had an electronic input bar where you could connect a laptop or hard drive so you could watch movies or other video on the TV. The hotel offered free WI-FI .

I have uploaded lots of pictures of the hotel for you to get a better picture of what it is like.

If you found my review helpful, please let me know that by clicking the Helpful Button. Thanks.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank ToonTowner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KGIHBCC, General Manager at The Westin Bahrain City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded August 29, 2012

Thank you for your comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2012

This is a fantastic five stars hotel. I stayed their for two nights. My room was in the fifth floor with city view (not a good view). Their staff are very nice and helpful. The room size was good enough to accommodate me! I loved their pool, endless view and they have kids swimming pool and ready staff to help and supervise.

My room was BB based, and to tell the truth, I am not impressed with the breakfast buffet. The variety is not that much and you will wait forever for your pancake or omelette. However, the lunch buffet was good with good variety and taste.

The best feature is that it is connected to the best mall in Bahrain, Bahrain city center. Everything you want or need is available in this mall.

Bottom-line, I will stay again in this hotel, and I will bring my family with me for a leisure visit, however, not going to be BB based unless unbeatable rate!

Room Tip: Have a pool view and high floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ali S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KGIHBCC, General Manager at The Westin Bahrain City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded August 29, 2012

Thank you for your comments; we have spoken with our F&B department.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2012

If you are looking for your relaxation and no headache hotel then head up to kempinski bahrain city centre!! this hotel is located in the city centre mall which is the biggest and best mall in bahrain, the hotel is in the middle of everything!! their rooms are superb and very clean, their services are the best and easiest to deal with, the hotel will surely meat your expectations and if you are a tourist or on a business trip this should be your stay location as it is in the middle of every thing!! their breakfast buffet is fabulous!! and as i deal with them alot i have never had an issue or anything wrong

THANKS TO THE HOTEL'S MANAGEMENT AND KEEP IT UP

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mlb1613
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KGIHBCC, General Manager at The Westin Bahrain City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded August 29, 2012

Your comments have been warmly received. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2012

I was traveling with my husband and infant husband and I only chose this hotel for its locality convenience. For a hotel that is attached to a mega mall I was worried about crowds and security.

I was pleasantly surprised when I reached the hotel.

* Free valet parking
* The person who helps you check in will take you to your room (and explain the hotel on the way)

The good thing that keeps the unwanted shopper crowd from entering the hotel is that there is a man "gaurding" the hotel from the mall entrance and in order to use the elevator you need a room key to activate the elevator.

Kempinski puts its personal touch to make you feel welcomed, and the rooms are very futuristic looking.

Also, quick tip: If you booked from expedia it will tell you that internet usage is not free. It is though. Wifi was completely free and I was not charged a single cent :)

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gulmast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KGIHBCC, General Manager at The Westin Bahrain City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded August 29, 2012

We are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to welcoming you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Manama hotels
0.1 mi away
Le Meridien Bahrain City Centre
1.3 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, Bahrain
1.3 mi away
InterContinental Regency Bahrain
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.1 mi away
Sofitel Bahrain Zallaq Thalassa Sea & Spa
2.5 mi away
The Diplomat Radisson Blu Hotel, Residence & Spa
2.1 mi away
Four Seasons Hotel Bahrain Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Bahrain City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Bahrain City Centre

Address: Sheikh Khalifa Bin Salman Highway, Manama, Bahrain (Formerly Grand & Ixir Hotel Bahrain City Centre)
Location: Bahrain > Manama
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Manama
#8 Business Hotel in Manama
#13 Luxury Hotel in Manama
Price Range: $209 - $343 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Westin Bahrain City Centre 5*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located at the heart of Manama, The Westin Bahrain City Centre is the first-ever Westin Hotel to grace the island. Thoughtfully devised with a host of novel and innovative facilities that include the city's first Heavenly(R) Spa and Westin KidsClub, guests are afforded the opportunity to sample the unique Westin wellbeing promise when staying for business or leisure. The Westin is merely a few steps away from Bahrain City Centre, the nation's most popular retail and leisure destination with more than 340 retail stores. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Westin Bahrain City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kempinski Grand And Ixir Hotel Bahrain City Centre
The Westin Bahrain City Centre Manama

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing