We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Most Stranded & Quite Island” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Al Dar Islands Bahrain

Al Dar Islands Bahrain
Ranked #12 of 59 things to do in Manama
Attraction details
Marrakech, Morocco
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Most Stranded & Quite Island”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2013

Ever wondered how would it feel to live on a stranded and get Lost?!
Don't hesitate to book your own private chalet over this magnificent island and enjoy a great fishing or water activity day out, very clean rooms and your view is always clear to the beach.

Great food and amazing staff too!

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank AlDoy80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

212 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    61
    84
    46
    14
    7
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
56 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“just a standard island”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 17, 2013

the last time i went their the island had been done up. its looks a lot better compared to how it looked 5 years back but nothing special

way too expensive and dosent really offer much. i actually enjoyed myself because of the friends i was with but dont bother considering this place as a family/romantic get away!

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Basheer S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
29 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“wonderful resort at beautiful beach”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2013

We had a fun filled short trip to Aldar island in Dec'12. We were two couple and we had a night stay at their 2 bedroom chalet. The chalet was spacious, clean and simple but beautifully furnished. For our surprise we had the free internet also. Although they had very limited menu for dinner yet the breakfast served was very good and satisfactory. The staff was very helpful and humble.
At our time of visit very few chalet were occupied and most of the crowd went back in the evening only. It was worth staying there as we enjoyed the prolonged sunset, sunrise and dinner near the shore.
The weather was so wonderful that we could enjoyed the every moment there. Overall we had a very good time and it was a very nice experience.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank MeghnaK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manama, Bahrain
Level Contributor
66 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Opportunity Lost”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 22, 2012

A terribly disappointing visit this turned out to be.

We've been meaning to check out the island for some time, and were toying with the idea of staying the night, and we are glad we didn't!

Al Dar is located within minutes of the coast in the protected, shallow waters of Bahrain. This means it's family friendly and should be one of the premier "must see" attractions on the island.
It is not.

Transfer to the island is by powerboat and takes about 5 minutes over the smooth water.
Upon arrival, we found a run down establishment with little or no charm, and suffering from a severe lack of upkeep. Given transfers start at 9am and run every half hour, we were surprised to see staff still unhurriedly setting up tables and chairs for the day.

The layout is really very nice, with a day visitor area and the accommodation located at the other end of the small island(s). There's a large kids sand pit complete with playground equipment and a donkey / mule. There's a couple of swimming / sunbathing areas with nice sandy beaches as well.

There is a basic fare restaurant at relatively reasonable tourist prices however, the one vegetarian meal available was not actually, uhm, available. Given the impression of the place I'd be willing to place bets the vegetarian meal hasn't been available for a long time, and probably won't be again in the near future. But I bet the same filthy, torn, water damaged menus will be.

I could be here all day writing about this but really, a bullet list is probably simpler.
Start with the negatives:
- Needs investment to tidy up. Quickly.
- Kid's playground needs shade. In summer it would be unusable.
- Needs better management to maintain existing facilities and make improvements.
- Train the staff to behave like professionals - laughing and joking loudly in your own language in front of guests can be quite off putting. Staff could do with some deportment skills as well. Most dressed like they were doing the housework.
- Should be "eco friendly:" clean up the shore line of the island - bottles, nets and rubbish everywhere.
- Donkey needs vet attention. Locked up all day.
- Do something with the replica watch tower - it would make a great viewing platform for photographers. Currently off limits to customers.

Pros:
- Easily accessible
- Terrific for families (shallow, enclosed beaches)
- Day beds rentable.
- Shaded areas in the water to relax and chat.
- Food was good (for the price) standard.
- Staff friendly.

We didn't get a chance to check out the accommodation but the "chalets" are caravans (trailers).

It's one of those places you sit, observe and wish you could quit your current job to take up the resort manager's position. You KNOW you could run it better than it's being run. You KNOW you could advertise it better, and you KNOW the place could be a real winner as an attraction.
In the end we only stayed an hour and a half.

Overall we felt let down by our visit. It would probably be great with a few extra friends to drink, swim and sun bake during spring or autumn.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
5 Thank fipty801
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aldarislands2013, Manager at Al Dar Islands Bahrain, responded to this review, November 21, 2013
Good day!

I apologize on behalf of Al Dar Island as the manager i'm sorry for taking so long to respond to your review. We just recently got authorization to reply to our customer reviews from TripAdvisor.

We appreciate your review we thank you for taking your time to give us your suggestions.
We regret its one of our worst reviews and we aim to meet all our customer standards .

The island has gone through vast improvement through out the years and striving for more advancement year by year . some of your concerns have been looked upon . i would like to go through them to explain more .

1-Regarding our staff behavior ,this is the main issue here and feel a shamed that you witnessed this kind of behavior from them . We addressed the matter right after your review last year . Most of our main staff had already left for the Christmas holidays so we were working on a skeleton staff on the day of your visit. We sincerely apologize regarding this matter.

2- Regarding our food menu we made some changes in 2013, so now we have eight vegetarian dishes included and strive to make sure there available at all times.. even in the low season.

3- Play ground, this year is under construction to add new toys, and to fix as much shade as possible for the kids .

4- Your concern regarding our donkey bab :) good news!!..he has been taken off the island to a better place and is now living with Tony the dogfather for the past 4 months .

5- Every year during the month of may , we have a beach cleaning program that promotes awareness of the effects of garbage on the marine life . each year this programme is growing and we are hoping to have an impact on our customers to stop them from dumping rubbish in the water. (please attached photos). We do also recycle all recyclables since 2009.

5- Last but not least is the watch tower. the reason its closed to the customers is because the structure is not safe . And plans for its removal have been made.

Thank you again for your review it has helped us pin pointing some matters we needed to address. our biggest concern is that you mentioned that you will not visit us again . This saddens us please reconsider your decision for not visiting us and come again. and see the changes that have been made and the changes to come .

Yours sincerely,
Mohamed Slaise
Island Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manama
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“AWESOME 2 days”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2012

From the moment i reached the AlDar Islands office to purchase my boat taxi tickets, till i left the island just after sun set. The whole visit was a smooth cool experience. From the receptionists to the island staff are all friendly & very helpful in providing you with all you need & answering your questions properly. The pricing is reasonable & the beach is clean. I bought my own food to bbq & drinks but had to pay 3 Dinars corkage fee, which is good deal compared to other resorts or hotels which charge you even more per item or just dont allow you to b.y.o. at all. I stayed over night in a double bed room chalet after a few friends arrived. The second day was good to taste what the island bar & restaurant had to offer. The bbq & bar served me well & to top it all a jet ski ride for an hour with friends was good before leaving the island. The overall AlDar visit was good for us & there are no hassles faced. I will definitely visit here soon again, especially during winter & beginning of summer. I hope all others have a good experience too.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
4 Thank itravel02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Al Dar Islands Bahrain also viewed

 

Been to Al Dar Islands Bahrain? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing