We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel, amazing service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Sofitel Bahrain Zallaq Thalassa Sea & Spa
Ranked #2 of 132 Hotels in Manama
Kilchberg, Switzerland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great hotel, amazing service”
Reviewed December 30, 2013

It was our first time in Bahrain and even though the weather was much colder than what we had expected, we loved our stay, mainly due to the excellent service at the Sofitel.

We had access to the Club Millesime, which proved to be a gem. They efficiently dealt with all of our pre-arrival and onsite requests and questions. The breakfast and cocktail hour are great, but a lot of other hotels offer that, too. What really set them apart was the personalized service, which felt like it truly came from the heart. Great compliments to Svilena, Margie, Rea and Jaka and thanks for all your help.

The kids club was also great and the staff was so nice with our daughter.

The spa offers great treatments and fantastic facilities and while there were some minor hickups (which were promptly taken care of), we very much enjoyed them.

In terms of restaurants, we loved the Wok, the La Mer (thanks, James, for the lovely drawings for our daughter), the Tapas (enjoy the beautiful sunsets there with tapas, a drink and a shisha) and the Fiama. Pashawat was also nice, but the entertainment was so loud that you could hardly have a conversation. The Saraya was OK, but in our opinion not as good as the others, but then again, it's a buffet restaurant.

All in all, a great stay and we already decided that we will be back.

Room Tip: All rooms have seaview. Get a room which gives you access to the Club Millesime.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BaselLawyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel M, at Sofitel Bahrain Zallaq Thalassa Sea & Spa, responded to this review, January 4, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing Sofitel Bahrain for your recent stay in the Kingdom of Bahrain. I’m delighted to read that you and your family enjoyed your visit to our hotel and appreciate your taking the time to place a review of Sofitel Bahrain on Trip Advisor.

I’m very pleased to read that my ambassadors took such good care of you and your family and appreciate your positive comments in this regard, I also appreciate your comments with regards to our restaurant and spa facilities, I’m glad that you experienced a Magnifique stay at Sofitel Bahrain!

I do hope that you will visit us again in the future and look forward to welcoming you back to Sofitel Bahrain Zallaq Thalassa Sea & Spa!

Sincerely,

Samy Boukhaled
General Manager
Sofitel Bahrain Zallaq Thalassa Sea & Spa
Area General Manager Bahrain & Saudi Arabia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,961 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,542
    307
    70
    28
    14
See reviews for
623
551
116
226
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (338)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Alexandria, Virginia
Level Contributor
119 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed December 27, 2013

So precise was this resort's dedication to its Moroccan theme, before we even set foot in the hotel I could tell through the sliding glass doors that the place even smelled like Morocco--in a good way! The lobby level continually smelled of orange blossom and rose, and the rest of the resort also features North African/Moorish woodwork, furniture, etc. throughout. It's absolutely beautiful. The rooms are huge, the sea views are stunning and, while expensive, the food was above average with a surprisingly modern cocktail list. I also had a chance to visit the spa for a hot stone massage and it was worth every penny.

Only a few small dings kept me from giving the full 5 rating here: with regard to cleanliness, there was a large brown stain on our mattress pad and tables/placemats frequently dirty at breakfast. As for service, while everyone was beyond nice, it seemed to take a very long time to get anything we asked for and generally caused a lot of confusion (ie waiting 45 minutes for our lunch because we wanted to order a la carte, rather than get the buffet. It took 3 servers, 1 manager, and a phone call to confirm whether we could actually do this). Definitely not deal breakers, and I would absolutely recommend a stopover at the Sofitel anytime you are in the area.

Room Tip: It is the sea view here that makes the rooms--spring for it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cancemini4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel M, at Sofitel Bahrain Zallaq Thalassa Sea & Spa, responded to this review, December 30, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for posting such a wonderful and highly detailed review of our property on Trip Advisor.

I am delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay and very pleased that you appreciated our hotels link to North Africa and the Middle East in many parts of it’s design. As a Sofitel, one of our goals is to blend the cultures and traditions of the country in which the hotel is based, in this case Bahrain with the unique cultures and traditions of the hotels origins in France.

I appreciate your feedback with regards to our rooms and restaurant service, I would be very interested in discussing this further. I’d appreciate if you would contact me on h6722-sl9@sofitel.com to discuss your experiences at our hotel in the hope of further improving our standard of service and quality for your next visit.

Your comments with regards to our rooms and sea-view are much appreciated, this is an opinion that we both share and I hope that you will return to Sofitel Bahrain in the future to further enjoy our property.

We greatly look forward to welcoming you back to Sofitel Bahrain Zallaq Thalassa Sea & Spa and hope that you will visit us again soon.

Sincerely,

Samy Boukhaled
General Manager
Sofitel Bahrain Zallaq Thalassa Sea & Spa
Area General Manager Bahrain & Saudi Arabia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waedenswil, Switzerland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed December 26, 2013 via mobile

Incredible service and management - even better, nicer and more personal than in Burj-al-Arab!
We have been spoilt before we even arrived by the Club Millessime staff for all inquiries about the spa and outdoor activities. Reservations were set and valuable advise given. Once we arrived it was nothing but bliss: the staff, and especially Svilena, Rea, Tarik and everybody else is very kind, especially to families with kids. The Kids Club is exceptional, the activities very interesting and age appropriate. Thank you Adil and al.
The friendliness and personalized service in all restaurants and the Club lounge at a level never seen before - the Head Chef of the best restaurant was personally taking care of the Lounge buffet offering and quality.
Perfectly kept grounds and great layout of the hotel make it a dream place for a long vacation as well as a mini-break.
The Spa is at the highest possible level with great treatments and very skilled staff. Try Aqua-Bike, it's fun, and then a Algae Wrap, heavenly!
If you like being pampered and feeling nothing but relaxation: this is the place to go to. Thank you, Sofitel Bahrain, we enjoy every minute and you will certainly see us again!

Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Una_Huegli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel M, at Sofitel Bahrain Zallaq Thalassa Sea & Spa, responded to this review, January 4, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post such a wonderful and detailed review of our property on Trip Advisor.

I am truly delighted to read that you have enjoyed your stay and most certainly appreciate your comments with regards to my Ambassadors along with the hotel in general. I am very pleased to read that my team offered such Magnifique and personalized service to you and your family and hope that you will return to us again in the future.

We greatly look forward to welcoming you back to Sofitel Bahrain Zallaq Thalassa Sea & Spa!

Sincerely,

Samy Boukhaled
General Manager
Sofitel Bahrain Zallaq Thalassa Sea & Spa
Area General Manager Bahrain & Saudi Arabia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuwait
Level Contributor
28 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed December 24, 2013

This is the best hotel I every stayed in .. relaxing place with all kinds of luxury
loved the breakfast buffet .
The beach is clean and so do the swimming pools .
loved the view on the sea .
the staff are friendly :)

Room Tip: all rooms are sea view .
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Najwan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel M, at Sofitel Bahrain Zallaq Thalassa Sea & Spa, responded to this review, December 24, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your review of our hotel following your recent visit to the kingdom of Bahrain. I very much appreciate your positive comments and I am delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay. Thank you also for your comments with regards to my Ambassadors, I am very pleased that my team took such good care of you!

We do hope that you will visit the hotel again soon and look forward to welcoming you back to Sofitel Bahrain Zallaq Thalassa Sea & Spa!

Sincerely,

Samy Boukhaled
General Manager
Sofitel Bahrain Zallaq Thalassa Sea & Spa
Area General Manager Bahrain & Saudi Arabia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed December 19, 2013 via mobile

Six of us had the amazing Friday Brunch, excellent seafood & free flowing drinks. We stayed the night so had a lovely evening and used the facilities the next day. The inclusive breakfast is wonderful. Great staff, very, very relaxing. Well done Sofitel. We'll all be back.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jo S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel M, at Sofitel Bahrain Zallaq Thalassa Sea & Spa, responded to this review, December 21, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your recent visit and stay at Sofitel Bahrain and for taking to time to place a review of our property on Trip Advisor.

I’m delighted to read that you enjoyed our Friday brunch and our hotel facilities, thank you for your positive remarks with regards to this in addition to your comments about our breakfast and my Ambassadors. I’m very pleased that you found your stay relaxing and enjoyable and look forward to welcoming you back to Sofitel Bahrain again in the future.

Sincerely,

Samy Boukhaled
General Manager
Sofitel Bahrain Zallaq Thalassa Sea & Spa
Area General Manager Bahrain & Saudi Arabia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
114 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed December 11, 2013

What a lovely hotel with a Tapas bar right on the sea where you can watch the sunset. Very pleasant atmosphere with very good service. We just had drinks and were also given nuts and olives to compliment our drinks. They also have bubble pipes. Certainly worth a visit.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lellydw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel M, at Sofitel Bahrain Zallaq Thalassa Sea & Spa, responded to this review, December 12, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to place a review of our property on Trip Advisor, I am delighted to read that you enjoyed your visit to our hotel and particularly to Tapas!

I appreciate your positive comments and feedback with regards to Tapas bar, it is most definitely one of our favourite venues and is a particularly beautiful location from which to watch the sunset.

I do hope that you will visit us again in the future and look forward to welcoming you back for another Magnifique stay at Sofitel Bahrain.

Sincerely,

Samy Boukhaled
General Manager
Sofitel Bahrain Zallaq Thalassa Sea & Spa
Area General Manager Bahrain & Saudi Arabia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
27 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed December 5, 2013

From the time we arrived we were made to feel very welcome. Check in was efficient and friendly. Margie at Club Millesime was attentive and helpful. Our room had a beautiful view and the bathroom was luxurious! Enjoyed the beach and the pool plus the breakfast and drinks at Club Millesime. The decor in the hotel is beautiful. Staff throughout the hotel were extremely friendly. The only negative was the fact we were told we would have to pay for ice to be delivered to our room! Very surprising!

Overall would highly recommend especially if you want piece and quiet out of Bahrain city.

Room Tip: We stayed on the executive floor and this was truly worth the extra money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michelene H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel M, at Sofitel Bahrain Zallaq Thalassa Sea & Spa, responded to this review, December 8, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing Sofitel Bahrain for your recent stay in the Kingdom of Bahrain.
I’m delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay and appreciate the time you have taken to place a review of our hotel on Trip Advisor.

Thank you for your feedback, in particular your comments about my Ambassadors and our Club Millesime Executive Lounge. I’m very pleased that my team took such good care of you during your stay.

If I may thank you also for your feedback regarding our in-room dining service, I will take your comments into consideration and discuss this within our management team.

Again, thank you for taking the time to place a review of our property on Trip Advisor, I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back to Sofitel Bahrain in the future.

Sincerely,

Samy Boukhaled
General Manager
Sofitel Bahrain Zallaq Thalassa Sea & Spa
Area General Manager Bahrain & Saudi Arabia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Manama
13.6 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, Bahrain
13.8 mi away
InterContinental Regency Bahrain
14.7 mi away
Four Seasons Hotel Bahrain Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.1 mi away
Novotel Bahrain Al Dana Resort
19.7 mi away
ART Rotana
ART Rotana
#1 of 3 in Amwaj Islands
614 reviews
4.1 mi away
Al Areen Palace & Spa
Al Areen Palace & Spa
#29 of 132 in Manama
212 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Bahrain Zallaq Thalassa Sea & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Bahrain Zallaq Thalassa Sea & Spa

Property: Sofitel Bahrain Zallaq Thalassa Sea & Spa
Address: 105 Zallaq Highway, Building 2015 | Block 1055, Zallaq, Manama, Bahrain
Phone Number:
Location: Bahrain > Manama
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Manama
#1 Family Hotel in Manama
#1 Spa Hotel in Manama
#2 Luxury Hotel in Manama
#2 Romantic Hotel in Manama
#5 Business Hotel in Manama
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Bahrain Zallaq Thalassa Sea & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 262
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sofitel Bahrain Zallaq Thalassa Sea & Spa offers guests a paradise setting to enjoy an idyllic stay with spectacular views over the Arabian Gulf. The hotel is an exclusive resort catering to both leisure and business travelers and offers the uniqueness of a luxurious location amidst views of the crystal clear turquoise waters of the Arabian Gulf. Sofitel Bahrain celebrates the Kingdom’s legendary hospitality with a French flair and is the first hotel within the GCC countries to offer the unique relaxation of Thalassotherapy. The Thalassa Sea & Spa at Sofitel Bahrain covers 2,000 square meters on two floors; the complex features 14 treatment rooms utilizing marine based products to offer a unique series of Thalassotherapy treatments, massages and wellness programmes. Guests of the Thalassa Sea & Spa can also enjoy a seawater hydrotherapy pool, a freshwater pool, saunas, steam rooms, a hairdresser for men and a beauty salon for women, as well as a Yoga & Pilates studio. Sofitel Bahrain offers 262 rooms and suites, combining comfort and elegance and offering lavish furnishings with breathtaking views of the Arabian Gulf. Within the hotel are 28 suites including 21 Prestige Suites, 6 rooftop Opera suites each offering a private terrace and infinity pool and one Royal Suite complete with a Jacuzzi, private terrace, infinity pool and a uniquely regal design and furnishings. The hotel offers a large swimming pool complete with a swim-up pool bar situated adjacent to its private beach and 5 restaurants. Located on Zallaq Beach 5 minutes from the Bahrain International Circuit, 25 minutes from the heart of Manama and 30 minutes from the Bahrain International Airport, Sofitel Bahrain Zallaq Thalassa Sea & Spa offers the perfect location for a relaxed vacation away from the city or a luxurious vacation with convenient access to the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, Hotwire, ACCOR, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Sofitel Bahrain Zallaq Thalassa Sea & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Bahrain Zallaq Thalassa Sea Hotel Manama
Sofitel Bahrain Zallaq Thalassa Sea And Spa
Sofitel Bahrain Zallaq Thalassa Sea & Spa Manama

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing