We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Sofitel Bahrain Zallaq Thalassa Sea & Spa
Ranked #2 of 136 Hotels in Manama
Reviewed May 28, 2013

Stayed just after the recent F1 race (it was fully booked then) The rooms all face the sea and gardens so there is a nice cooling breeze to sit and watch the sunset. The rooms are very well appointed and the Friday brunch is superb

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FerrydenScot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded June 8, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing Sofitel Bahrain Zallaq Thalassa Sea & Spa for your stay after the eventful F1 Grand Prix. I am pleased to know you enjoyed the location of our sea view facing rooms, the Friday Brunch and that your overall stay was most pleasurable.

I am grateful for the time taken to review our property and share your experience on Trip Advisor. We hope to see you soon for yet another unforgettable stay.

Sincerely,
Samy Boukhaled
General Manager
Sofitel Bahrain Zallaq Thalassa Sea & Spa
Area General Manager Bahrain & Saudi Arabia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,074)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,652 - 1,658 of 2,074 reviews

Reviewed May 28, 2013

We recently went to this lovely seaside resort for a weekend, along with our 1 yr old.
The property is fab, service is decent, food is nice! All in all.. a lovely experience.. and a must visit for anyone going to Bahrain.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shivani T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded June 8, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing our property for your recent stay with your family and for taking the time to place your review and lovely comments on Trip Advisor. I am happy to know that you enjoyed the location of our hotel, the service provided to you by our ambassadors as well as the food; and that your experience was completely enjoyable.

I greatly appreciate your recommendation of our property to other travellers in and outside Bahrain.

We look forward to welcoming you and your family to back to our hotel.

Sincerely,
Samy Boukhaled
General Manager
Sofitel Bahrain Zallaq Thalassa Sea & Spa
Area General Manager Bahrain & Saudi Arabia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 22, 2013

PLUS

The room is really luxury, the beach and the pool were fantastic. My kids liked the playing area and the kids pool so much.

-Breakfast was great and I liked the place because it had really mad me live like i am in another country.

- The view from my room was the most thing I liked specially during sunset and sunrise

MINUS (non were major)

- small thing, when I turn on the hot water the first 3/4 times a brown color water was coming because the bathroom was not used for a while as my room was in the 7th floor along with Luxury suits so it might not be used a lot.

- 1 employee were not so professional in informing us that the buffet was about to close and the other employee annoyed us because he was popping to our table without us asking for anything for 3 or 4 times.

- There was a small gap between the back of the bed and the beginning of the mattress which was little annoying

Room Tip: 7th floor was the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mohammed_Yateem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded June 9, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying at Sofitel Bahrain Zallaq Thalassa Sea & Spa and for taking the time to share your feedback on Tripadvisor. I was happy to read that you have enjoyed our facilities and especially our sea view rooms and amenities, the breakfast and the beach.

On the other hand, I do apologize for the manner in which one of our ambassadors used to inform you about closing the buffet. We aspire to take special care of all our guests and try to make their stay memorable. All your valuable and detailed comments are going to be distributed to the relevant departments so as to reassure that our guests are treated according to our usual high standards.

I look forward to your next stay and do hope we will be welcoming you back again soon.

Sincerely,
Samy Boukhaled
General Manager
Sofitel Bahrain Zallaq Thalassa Sea & Spa
Area General Manager Bahrain & Saudi Arabia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2013

This is my second visit to this hotel. I decided to take my family for a weekend getaway and decided to stay at the Sofitel. This is one of the best hotels in Bahrain. Spacious and clean rooms, amazing view from all the rooms. Nice swimming pool and beach area. The kids club at the hotel is not bad at all, my kids enjoyed their time there. Made some housekeeping and concierge calls, and all my calls were attended within a reasonable time.

I still decided to give this hotel 4 stars because it is still not a perfect hotel. Although check-in time is at 3, I had to wait for one whole hour for my room to be ready. With the kids nagging to change and go swimming, that hour went by like forever. I did not like the TV channels very much, for example my wife and I wanted to spend the night watching Arab Idol, but discovered that the hotel does not have the MBC Channel, which is a free channel! Finally, the breakfast has not improved since my last visit a lot. It was a big buffet, but the food was tasteless, my daughter ended up eating olives for her breakfast.

As a whole, it was a nice experience, and yes I would still stay in this hotel in the future. I think the management of the hotel should look a bit into my three comments above.

I have attached few photos, I hope you like them.

Room Tip: For a better view, ask for a room on floor 5 and above, or if you like to have immediate access to t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Janahi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded June 9, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing our hotel for your recent weekend gateaway with your family and more especially for taking the time to share your experiences and photos on Trip Advisor.

I am grateful for all the wonderful comments you made regarding the service you received from our ambassadors. I am glad you appreciate our seaview luxury rooms and to know that your family enjoyed the beach, the swimming pool and the kids club.

On behalf of our ambassadors, I would like to apologize for the delay you faced during your check-in process. I appreciate your feedback and have raised your comments to the concerned departments. We do take all comments seriously in order to keep up the high level of standard that we aspire to.

We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel in the near future.

Sincerely,
Samy Boukhaled
General Manager
Sofitel Bahrain Zallaq Thalassa Sea & Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2013

I have stayed in a prestigious suite on the ground floor (#1030) and I liked the suite very much in term of comfort, especially the bed, I didn't sleep such deeply for ages. The tv is a bit complicated and slow, the wireless internet is very good.

The suite location is the best for me. It is the closest suite to the lobby. Where you access it from outdoor.

The staff is like all the staff in Sofitel hotels are unhelpful and friendly. I started to be convinced that they are requested by the management to act like this.

There are some basics in small resorts like this. Like they should provide small toys to let children play with it on the beach or the pool. Yet, here they have the nerve to say 'buy it your self' from our shop. What if I reside in Riyadh, in the middle of the desert, as a huge client base for the resort. What would I do with it if I am going to buy the toys.

One of the services they advertise for is breakfast at club lounge, which is one of the reasons I chose the suite option for. Because there was a conference for ministries of defense and noisy soldiers every where. Yet, when i went there it was closed and they open it on weekends. This was disappointing and misleading.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yoalg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded June 8, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing our hotel for your recent stay with your family and for taking the time to review and share your comments on Trip Advisor.
I am pleased to know that you enjoy the comfort of our bed and that you managed to finally get a much deserved restful sleep.

However, I am disappointed to learn of the unfortunate displeasing circumstances you faced during your stay with us. We do take all comments seriously and appreciate all the feedback we can get. On behalf of my team, I apologize for the misunderstanding you had with our ambassadors at the pool. I am looking into this matter.

Regarding our Club Millesime Executive Lounge, we open every day from 7am till 11.00pm in the evening and we do serve breakfast. I would like to look further into this matter and as such would greatly appreciate it if you could email me on H6722-sl9@sofitel.com to discuss this further and find out possibly as to why you found it closed.

Thank you for sharing your comments with us. We appreciate all the feedback we can get to help us improve on the quality of our service deliverance. I look forward to hearing from you.

Sincerely,

Samy Boukhaled
General Manager
Sofitel Bahrain Zallaq Thalassa Sea & Spa
Area General Manager Bahrain & Saudi Arabia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2013

My stay at Sofitel Bahrain was amazing experience. From Check in to Check out, everything was impeccable and in order. Room was beautiful with good view. Beach was best of Bahrain !!!. The staff were cordial and goes to extent to help you. Restaurant food were above average. In overall its good value for money.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vishal S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded June 8, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your lovely comments about our property and for taking the time to place your review on Trip Advisor. I am pleased to know that you had a delightful stay and that everything was immaculate and in orderly.

I am delighted to learn that you were satisfied by all our facilities and products which include the room, the view, the beach club and the food. Moreover I am delighted that you were impressed with the service our ambassadors offered you.

We value your positive feedback and comments and we look forward to welcoming you back to Sofitel Bahrain Zallaq Thalassa Sea & Spa.

Sincerely,
Samy Boukhaled
General Manager
Sofitel Bahrain Zallaq Thalassa Sea & Spa
Area General Manager Bahrain & Saudi Arabia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2013

this was the fifth time that i'm visiting Sofitel bahrain Zallaq with my wife and daughter over the last 2 years . whats amazing us in this hotel is that they insist to know you and give you a relaxing feeling . Staff starting from reservation (which i did over phone and without giving my credit cards because i don't not deal with credit cards for personal believes and sofitel understood and did a reservation for me) and till the security guard on exit gate was so professional . Each time i visit , i find always new initiatives and surprises . Food was great , bed was so comfortable , house keeping was exceptional, Restorants were wonderful . One Early evening around 6:00 pm , my daughter was hungry and i was beside pool bar , i asked the guys for any kind of snacks for Salma ? they apologized and said they are closed already and they direct me for other places serving at that time , but salma cried '''' . one of the gentlemen came from behind the bar and gave my daughter a plate of fruits and he refused to accept the payments and said this is complement on the house ( the cash register is closed ) . just a small incident that shoes that sofitel employees do care for guests , hospitality , professional and enthusiastic management .

i'm really impressed

Room Tip: third floor north side was wonderful , you feel like you are in the sea , the view is so beautiful...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alawnah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded June 8, 2013

Dear Guest,

Welcome back to Sofitel Bahrain Zallaq Thalassa Sea & Spa. I am delighted to see that this is your fifth visit to our hotel and appreciate your continuing patronage and support.

Thank you for taking the time to place a review of our property on Trip Advisor and for your wonderful comments with regards to our service which was tailored to your needs, the professionalism of our staff, the food and the delightful care that was provided to your family. I appreciate your feedback; it really does go a long way to ensure that we are consistent with our service as well as motivating for the staff.

We look forward to welcoming you back to our property again in the future.

Sincerely,
Samy Boukhaled
General Manager
Sofitel Bahrain Zallaq Thalassa Sea & Spa
Area General Manager Bahrain & Saudi Arabia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Manama
13.6 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, Bahrain
13.8 mi away
InterContinental Regency Bahrain
14.7 mi away
Four Seasons Hotel Bahrain Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.1 mi away
Novotel Bahrain Al Dana Resort
19.7 mi away
ART Rotana
ART Rotana
#1 of 5 in Amwaj Islands
943 reviews
13.2 mi away
Gulf Hotel Bahrain Convention and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Bahrain Zallaq Thalassa Sea & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Bahrain Zallaq Thalassa Sea & Spa

Address: 105 Zallaq Highway, Building 2015 | Block 1055, Zallaq, Manama, Bahrain
Phone Number:
Location: Bahrain > Manama
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Manama
#1 Family Hotel in Manama
#1 Spa Hotel in Manama
#2 Luxury Hotel in Manama
#2 Romantic Hotel in Manama
#5 Business Hotel in Manama
Price Range: $205 - $429 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Bahrain Zallaq Thalassa Sea & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 262
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sofitel Bahrain Zallaq Thalassa Sea & Spa offers guests a paradise setting to enjoy an idyllic stay with spectacular views over the Arabian Gulf. The hotel is an exclusive resort catering to both leisure and business travelers and offers the uniqueness of a luxurious location amidst views of the crystal clear turquoise waters of the Arabian Gulf. Sofitel Bahrain celebrates the Kingdom’s legendary hospitality with a French flair and is the first hotel within the GCC countries to offer the unique relaxation of Thalassotherapy. The Thalassa Sea & Spa at Sofitel Bahrain covers 2,000 square meters on two floors; the complex features 14 treatment rooms utilizing marine based products to offer a unique series of Thalassotherapy treatments, massages and wellness programmes. Guests of the Thalassa Sea & Spa can also enjoy a seawater hydrotherapy pool, a freshwater pool, saunas, steam rooms, a hairdresser for men and a beauty salon for women, as well as a Yoga & Pilates studio. Sofitel Bahrain offers 262 rooms and suites, combining comfort and elegance and offering lavish furnishings with breathtaking views of the Arabian Gulf. Within the hotel are 28 suites including 21 Prestige Suites, 6 rooftop Opera suites each offering a private terrace and infinity pool and one Royal Suite complete with a Jacuzzi, private terrace, infinity pool and a uniquely regal design and furnishings. The hotel offers a large swimming pool complete with a swim-up pool bar situated adjacent to its private beach and 5 restaurants. Located on Zallaq Beach 5 minutes from the Bahrain International Circuit, 25 minutes from the heart of Manama and 30 minutes from the Bahrain International Airport, Sofitel Bahrain Zallaq Thalassa Sea & Spa offers the perfect location for a relaxed vacation away from the city or a luxurious vacation with convenient access to the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, Orbitz, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sofitel Bahrain Zallaq Thalassa Sea & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Bahrain Zallaq Thalassa Sea Hotel Manama
Sofitel Bahrain Zallaq Thalassa Sea And Spa
Sofitel Bahrain Zallaq Thalassa Sea & Spa Manama

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing