We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice place”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Sofitel Bahrain Zallaq Thalassa Sea & Spa
Ranked #2 of 132 Hotels in Manama
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
109 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“nice place”
Reviewed February 19, 2013

went to the seafood restaurant for dinner and it was great! the service was very attentive and the food was delicious. The have a great concept going for them!
the variety of fish and seafood is impressive, as well as with all the wines they have, you can find a great selection of options.
The items are a bit pricey and the location of the hotel is far out from town but is a really nice place for a special ocassion! i enjoyed the experience and will defo come back again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank greentan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel M, at Sofitel Bahrain Zallaq Thalassa Sea & Spa, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for placing a review of your recent visit to La Mer seafood restaurant on Trip Advisor, I am pleased that you clearly enjoyed your visit and that our Ambassadors took good care of you.

We are particularly proud of our award winning seafood restaurant La Mer and as such I am grateful for your many positive comments about the cuisine offered within the restaurant in addition the quality of service provided by our Ambassadors and the amount of variety in our selection of wines.

I hope that you will be visiting La Mer again soon and look forward to welcoming you to Sofitel Bahrain in the future.

Sincerely,


Samy Boukhaled
General Manager
Sofitel Bahrain Zallaq Thalassa Sea & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,961 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,542
    307
    70
    28
    14
See reviews for
623
551
116
226
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (338)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
805 reviews
216 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 475 helpful votes
Reviewed February 2, 2013

We chose this hotel as a compliment to our few days in central Manama with the intent of relaxing and visiting the Bahrain Grand Prix Circuit which is around 5 minutes away in a cab. The rooms are beautiful, spacious and nicely furnished, with delightful bathrooms and a large terrace overlooking the resort. Service is friendly and efficient on the whole though I noted that crockery and glasses were left uncleared here and there. The resort was eerily quiet during our visit, in fact we were the only ones at the pool on one day. It is quite a new hotel, so immaculate but also a tad sterile, though the lack of people and hence atmosphere may have contributed to this feel. On the downside, the pool was almost unbearably cold and the food we had just so so at best. We dined at the Poolside and at the Tapas Bar. Both of these dining spaces are attractive spots and we still enjoyed the whole experience, plus there are various additional restaurants where food may well be better. Whilst central Manama is only around 20 - 25 minutes away this hotel is not ideal for exploring the city as metered taxis are not readily available and unless you have your own wheels you will be reliant on the hotel car which is at least twice as much as a metered cab. NIce enough for a couple of days of relaxation but personally I wouldn't want any longer here particularly as the pool was so so cold.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mrstraveller1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel M, at Sofitel Bahrain Zallaq Thalassa Sea & Spa, responded to this review, February 3, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to place a review of our hotel on Trip Advisor, I always appreciate receiving feedback from our guests and the unique insights into our hotel that this feedback brings.

I am pleased that you enjoyed your visit to our hotel and am grateful for your positive comments about our rooms, I am also particularly pleased that you found my team to be both friendly and efficient.

I am disappointed that your experience in our restaurants was not as I would have wished and am also disappointed that you were not able to enjoy our lagoon pool, I understand that these issues will have impacted upon your stay but hope they will not have an effect upon the possibility of your return to our hotel in the future. I would be very pleased to hear from you and would be interested in discussing the issues you faced during your stay at our hotel in the hope of avoiding them during you next visit. Please do contact me on h6722-sl9@sofitel.com at your earliest convenience.

I also appreciate you comments for our future travelers with regards to getting around in Bahrain, you are quite right in your information, but if I may add that our concierge team would be very happy to assist you at any time with either our luxury limousines or, if you wish, by providing metered taxis, we are happy to arrange either method of transportation throughout your stay at Sofitel Bahrain.

Again if I may thank you for taking the time to post a review to Trip Advisor and for choosing our hotel for your recent stay in Bahrain.

Sincerely,

Bert Plas
General Manager
Sofitel Bahrain Zallaq Thalassa Sea & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
80 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed January 28, 2013

I am not normally a fussy person, I have stayed in many such "luxurious" 5-star hotels, but this one was way below par.

Stayed at this hotel for a "relaxing" weekend with my family. We checked in at 2pm, and the rooms weren't ready. At 3pm, one of the rooms were ready, so we all had to stay at one room waiting for our bags which never came.

At 4pm, the housekeepers kindly informed us that the room next door was now ready and that we should speak to reception about the keys. We called reception, asking for our bags and keys to the next room, and after waiting another 30 minutes, the bags or the keys never came. As impatient as I was, I went and collected our bags and keys myself. So much for a speedy check in!!

we wanted to spend the rest of the afternoon by the pool and considering it was January, the water was quite chilly for my younger cousins. And the other people in the pool were saying the same thing. I asked the people in charge to switch the heaters on. They asked for our rooms numbers, then I was reluctantly told it would take some time to heat up. We came back after 30mins, and they still didn't turn the heater on!! I had to ask again. And they asked me for our room numbers again. Yes, I am staying at this hotel, and you advertise a heated pool on your website, so switch them on!! So far, it wasn't a good experience.

Rooms were ok. I was expecting a carpeted room, the cold tiled floors don't give you a cozy feeling. The bed was soft, and the pillows were too soft. I called housekeeping for firmer pillows, and after AN HOUR, i was given two more soft pillows. No such thing as firm pillows here apparently.

Breakfast was average. They need a better selection of warm/hot food. Service was good.

My parents went to the spa for an hour's treatment each, and they loved it. It was the only highlight of our stay. Will I stay here again? Probably not. I didn't get a level of service that fits a five-star establishment.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cecille_DXB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel M, at Sofitel Bahrain Zallaq Thalassa Sea & Spa, responded to this review, February 3, 2013
Dear Guest,

I appreciate your choosing our hotel for your recent stay in Bahrain and your posting a review of our property to Trip Advisor.

I am disappointed that on this occasion we were not able to fully cater to your needs, I apologize for the issues you have faced and would appreciate it if you would contact me directly on h6722-sl9@sofitel.com at your earliest convenience to discuss your experiences further.

I hope to hear from you soon.

Sincerely,

Bert Plas
General Manager
Sofitel Bahrain Zallaq Thalassa Sea & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed January 22, 2013

I've been to Bahrain on a business trip and I've been impressed by the staff's attention to detail during my stay at the Sofitel. Spacious and clean rooms too, great facilities. Not close to Manama, but a great location when there's a race at Bahrain International Circuit. First class place.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stephane a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel M, at Sofitel Bahrain Zallaq Thalassa Sea & Spa, responded to this review, February 3, 2013
Dear Guest,

I appreciate your choosing Sofitel Bahrain during your recent visit to Bahrain and your taking the time to post a review of our hotel to Trip Advisor.

I am most grateful for your comment with regards to our Ambassador’s attention to detail, I am very pleased that they took good care of you and have of course already shared your review with them.

Both myself and my team look forward to welcoming you to Sofitel Bahrain in the future, we hope you will visit us again soon.

Sincerely,

Bert Plas
General Manager
Sofitel Bahrain Zallaq Thalassa Sea & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Manama
13.6 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, Bahrain
13.8 mi away
InterContinental Regency Bahrain
14.7 mi away
Four Seasons Hotel Bahrain Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.1 mi away
Novotel Bahrain Al Dana Resort
4.1 mi away
Al Areen Palace & Spa
Al Areen Palace & Spa
#30 of 132 in Manama
211 reviews
19.7 mi away
ART Rotana
ART Rotana
#1 of 3 in Amwaj Islands
609 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Bahrain Zallaq Thalassa Sea & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Bahrain Zallaq Thalassa Sea & Spa

Property: Sofitel Bahrain Zallaq Thalassa Sea & Spa
Address: 105 Zallaq Highway, Building 2015 | Block 1055, Zallaq, Manama, Bahrain
Phone Number:
Location: Bahrain > Manama
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Manama
#1 Family Hotel in Manama
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Manama
#2 Luxury Hotel in Manama
#2 Romantic Hotel in Manama
#5 Business Hotel in Manama
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Bahrain Zallaq Thalassa Sea & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 262
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sofitel Bahrain Zallaq Thalassa Sea & Spa offers guests a paradise setting to enjoy an idyllic stay with spectacular views over the Arabian Gulf. The hotel is an exclusive resort catering to both leisure and business travelers and offers the uniqueness of a luxurious location amidst views of the crystal clear turquoise waters of the Arabian Gulf. Sofitel Bahrain celebrates the Kingdom’s legendary hospitality with a French flair and is the first hotel within the GCC countries to offer the unique relaxation of Thalassotherapy. The Thalassa Sea & Spa at Sofitel Bahrain covers 2,000 square meters on two floors; the complex features 14 treatment rooms utilizing marine based products to offer a unique series of Thalassotherapy treatments, massages and wellness programmes. Guests of the Thalassa Sea & Spa can also enjoy a seawater hydrotherapy pool, a freshwater pool, saunas, steam rooms, a hairdresser for men and a beauty salon for women, as well as a Yoga & Pilates studio. Sofitel Bahrain offers 262 rooms and suites, combining comfort and elegance and offering lavish furnishings with breathtaking views of the Arabian Gulf. Within the hotel are 28 suites including 21 Prestige Suites, 6 rooftop Opera suites each offering a private terrace and infinity pool and one Royal Suite complete with a Jacuzzi, private terrace, infinity pool and a uniquely regal design and furnishings. The hotel offers a large swimming pool complete with a swim-up pool bar situated adjacent to its private beach and 5 restaurants. Located on Zallaq Beach 5 minutes from the Bahrain International Circuit, 25 minutes from the heart of Manama and 30 minutes from the Bahrain International Airport, Sofitel Bahrain Zallaq Thalassa Sea & Spa offers the perfect location for a relaxed vacation away from the city or a luxurious vacation with convenient access to the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, ACCOR, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, Hotel.de, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Sofitel Bahrain Zallaq Thalassa Sea & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Bahrain Zallaq Thalassa Sea And Spa
Sofitel Bahrain Zallaq Thalassa Sea Hotel Manama
Sofitel Bahrain Zallaq Thalassa Sea & Spa Manama

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing