We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great potential but poor service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Madareem Crown Hotel
Ranked #66 of 226 Hotels in Riyadh
Reviewed July 12, 2013

The hotel looks great from the outside. Inside, it has great "structure" and potential. But the service is lacking. Bath rooms are respectable not good for this price. Dusty cabinets, shelves. Towels seem clean but could improve in quality. Huge repair noises at night and they will not stop for you. Phones get too long to get answered. Room service is not always available. A lot of staff but only few are working. Great potential but not there yet.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sebastian L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (79)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

37 - 43 of 79 reviews

Reviewed May 10, 2013

This hotel was very nice, the people is very helpful and friendly with all

I stayed at Madareem Crown Hotel for 24 hours in the last month 2013. Rooms- clean. Some are available next to the airport and SABIC HQ. Service and people in the hotel are Polite

Foods needs little improvement good car parking space .

Room Tip: Rooms on the south side are better
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AbdullahAlGhamde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013

The Madareem Crown is a good choice if you are coming from the airport and don't want or don't need to battle the traffic and construction problems you encounter further downtown. Our recent business was also being conducted close by so that was a bonus. Taxi rides are relatively inexpensive (100 SA to the National Museum on the far side of the city; 25 SA to the Riyadh Galleria).

The hotel is nice, with what I'm beginning to think of as the norm in the Middle East: a fairly grand entrance hall. The cleaning staff was friendly and efficient, although the week we were there the desk staff the didn't speak English as well as some of the other staff we encountered. That caused a few mishaps (yes, I know, I should learn some Pakistani, or Indian, or Arabic but that's very unlikely at this point). The free WiFi is appreciated. There is no "Tuck Shop" (or we never found it) and that was a sore-point for many of us who don't want to pay exorbitant mini-bar prices for juice or nuts.

I'm sure the hotel advertises itself as "accessible" because it has wheelchair ramps in many (but not all) places that steps occur, but they are "show" ramps rather than practical accommodations. When it takes two or three strong people to get a wheelchair user up and down these steep and narrow ramps... that is NOT accessibility!

The rooms I saw were not quite as pretty as the photos on the hotel's website, but close enough. Curtains in my room were old and the drawing mechanisms almost broken; the room was a bit musty with a trace of cigarette smoke (I'm not sure there are any non-smoking rooms). My carpet was getting old as well. Bathroom was adequate. The in-room safe was appreciated (although I had to get tech-support to make it work). My room overlooked the highway, which is noisy day and night (if that really bothers you, ask for a room overlooking the pool.) Room climate control was adequate: Riyadh temperatures were quite moderate in February and humidity was low so comfort was easily maintained.

The two restaurants we tried - The Tropicana and the Seafood restaurant - were adequate. Both were mainly buffet style with some fresh-cooked grilled dishes available in the Seafood Restaurant. I'd recommend dishes fresh from the grill if you can get them as we found many of the buffet pans to cool too quickly. Most dishes were Mediterranean or south-Asian in style, and that wears a bit thin if you eat most of your meals in the hotel. Wait staff was usually good, but the language problem cropped up on occasion.

You can eat outdoors around the pool at the Seafood Restaurant if the weather is warm enough.

If you are asking the hotel to make tourist arrangements for you, be patient and expect to have to be forceful to get just what you want. Few taxi drivers seem to speak English, and many don't seem to know the city as well as you'd hope. Before you get in, make sure they know where you want to go.

All things said, I wouldn't object to staying there again on my next visit to Riyadh.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the pool/courtyard are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ChuckL4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2013

This hotel is favoured predominantly by Saudis; indeed, my in-country corporate host must get some discount for putting their international visitors here. It's in the middle of a light-industry, housing district with absolutely nothing to do outside the complex walls. The rooms are adequate but the curtains have clearly not been laundered in a long time since they are redolent of dust. Good range of tv channels. No laundry line in the bathroom. very friendly staff, though limited english. courtesy arabian coffee in the lobby....nice. the breakfast/lunch restaurant tropicana is a very ordinary buffet style--though halva for breakfast was nice. the red coral sea food restaurant did an all right grilled fish. the punjabi sitar restaurant was good. both restaurants only open at 7pm. smokers abound within the public spaces. a perfectly adequate pre-flight hotel if you get a good price.

Room Tip: ask for Level 5 away from the road
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DocBrown55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2012

I stayed at Madareem Crown Hotel for 24 hours in the month of December 2012.
Rooms- clean and spacious. Some are available next to the pond.
Service- Polite, courteous and efficient.
Food- 4/5. great food.
Good lounge with a nice bar.
Fitness center with nice jacuzzi, sauna and steam bath.
Plus point-ATM is present right at the entry of the hotel.
Would like to recommend and stay again.
Cheers!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank iSabahat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2012

i stayed here for 3 days in december. i read the comments here before making the move. and mostly the comments were negative. so i went there with really low expectations. however, it was much better than expected.

it is close to the airport. and the building is very nice. the staff were helpful. i had a large room with the usual facilities. they offer free internet. i had problems connecting. i informed the front desk and in 5 minutes the problem was solved.

they had a nice restaurant outside the hotel at the backyard. if i am not mistaken the name was red coral. they offer nice dinner buffet.

there are no shops around. but if you tell the front desk what you need, they send a driver to buy the things for you. the only below average thing was the breakfast. i think they can do much better if they want to.

if i travel to riyadh again, i'll stay again in this hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank prof_dumbledore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 22, 2012

I stayed here for 10 days and it was ok. It definitely not a 5* hotel as they claimed. It is good if you are in Riyadh for business and don't need anything more than good size, clean room and Internet. Food was below average.

Stayed: May 2012, traveled on business
Thank Abdein
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Riyadh hotels
0 mi away
Rand by Wandalus
Rand by Wandalus
#37 of 226 in Riyadh
64 reviews
0.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Riyadh Izdihar
2.1 mi away
Shada Hotel
Shada Hotel
#49 of 226 in Riyadh
6 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.9 mi away
Novotel Suites Riyadh Dyar
Novotel Suites Riyadh Dyar
#30 of 226 in Riyadh
40 reviews
1.6 mi away
Melissa Hotel Riyadh
Melissa Hotel Riyadh
#58 of 226 in Riyadh
3 reviews
7.9 mi away
Riyadh Marriott Hotel
Riyadh Marriott Hotel
#12 of 226 in Riyadh
329 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Madareem Crown Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Madareem Crown Hotel

Address: Al Zaid | on highway road King Khaled International Airport, Riyadh 11695, Saudi Arabia
Location: Saudi Arabia > Riyadh Province > Riyadh
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #66 of 226 Hotels in Riyadh
Price Range: $155 - $225 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Madareem Crown Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Madareem Crown Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing