We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Atmosphere.......” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Trader Vic's

Trader Vic's
Ranked #41 of 628 Restaurants in Riyadh
Price range: $17 - $70
Cuisines: Italian, Asian, Bar, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Kids, Business meetings, Special occasions, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Drinks, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Buffet, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Street Parking, Takeout, Television, Valet Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Riyadh, Saudi Arabia
Level Contributor
370 reviews
204 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 329 helpful votes
“Great Atmosphere.......”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2012

This little eating spot in located on the outer of Panarama Mall and we found accessible parking.It's a great restaurant to walk into as you are quickly transformed to another place - not quite too sure what/where but something Islandish I thought but in fact it serves American food.....still not too sure if that was North American or what. Needless to say the food, whatever it's origin, was very nice. We ordered a BBQ fish dish which was served on a bed of mashed potato, steamed brocculi and carrots and a dipping sauce - presentation was nice. The other meal was curried chicken and I must say this was a hit with us especially the accompaniments. A lovely atmosphere and as the evening wore on it became a very busy little spot with people waiting for a table. Service was friendly and efficient. They serve a variety of interesting beverages and the restaurant hosts a long bar - we also noticed a wood fire where some of the cooking took place. There is also a laarge banquet area. Worth a visit.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Charmaine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    51
    37
    19
    7
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Lund, Sweden
Level Contributor
80 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Not worth the money.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2012

Have visited other Trader Vic's restaurants before but this one does not come close in standard to the others. The waiter was very friendly and attentive and that was the best part of our visit. Our starters were the best part of the meal as they were tasty and well cooked but the presentation had room for much improvement to make it a fine dining experience. The main courses were all tasteless and on top of it, overcooked and dried out. Considering the amount you have to pay this restaurant is quite close to a rip off.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Hakan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
65 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Beautiful, though without alcohol or live music”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2012 via mobile

Everything was superb, except for not having alcohol or music. Its a place you shouldn't miss... It has the same atmosphere of any other trader vics. We really enjoyed a good business lunch.

Helpful?
1 Thank khachig1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riyadh, Saudi Arabia
Level Contributor
128 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
“simplistic”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2012

nothing like trader vicks anywhere else in the world,,, the food is good but not great the atmosphere is nice but boring once you sit down ... but then again maybe it the geographic location of the place...

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank kalrasheed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Red Deer, Canada
Level Contributor
217 reviews
117 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“Good selection of non alcoholic drinks”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2012

Nice decor - very Polynesian. The restaurant is quite big but seems a bit empty. I've gone two times and both times there were more staff than patrons.

The drink menu is extensive and you can order some pretty unique drinks - kinda makes up for the lack of alcohol.

The food is hit and miss. I had duck one time and it was above average and hubby had a fish dish with veggies that he really enjoyed. Second time going, I had the coconut shrimp and was disappointed as the batter encasing the shrimp was very hard and thick.

This is an expensive restaurant as well.

I would give it another try.

  • Visited November 2011
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank CarinaInRedDeer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Trader Vic's also viewed

Riyadh, Riyadh Province
Riyadh, Riyadh Province
 
Riyadh, Riyadh Province
 
Riyadh, Riyadh Province
 

Been to Trader Vic's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing