We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sushi gone wrong... very wrong”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Radisson Blu Hotel, Riyadh
Ranked #14 of 224 Hotels in Riyadh
Reviewed November 9, 2009

stayed there recently in nov 09.
first impressions were quite positive. front desk staff was friendly.
room was lavishly large, spread out quite nicely. found the working desk / chair to be awkwardly positioned behind the bed, so watching the telly while working was a tad bit bothersome.
toilet / bathroom was nicely laid out too, but i did find a curious yellow stain on the toilet seat, and the 'quality checked' seal on the seat was most definitely inaccurately placed.
ordered bento box on second night from Shogun... horrible mistake. sashimi slices were thicker than my finger, "i dont think this is japanese rice" crossed my mind while having the maki, the beef chunks could have chipped my teeth, the steamed vegetables was way too salty, white rice was missing so had to be called in. Only thing that seemed somewhat right was the miso soup.

Raised the concern with room service manager, went safe with a pasta dish.

Was my first stay with them, would most likely try again.

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Adnan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (435)
There are newer reviews for Radisson Blu Hotel, Riyadh
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

375 - 381 of 436 reviews

Reviewed September 18, 2009

Upmarket Riyadh hotel, with 3 restaurants - Italian, Japanese, and International (usually a buffet). Nice "cooled" swimming pool, good gym. Very customer-focussed staff. Not a cheap place to stay.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank robwks7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2009

Compared to other business hotels, this is actually a really good choice in Riyadh.

The rooms are large and spacious (the bed was larger than a king size!), with plenty of space and large bathrooms (although the only drawback was the lack of a bathtub, but not a big issue for me).

The hotel provides free internet access which is great - all hotels should do this!

Room service on the night I ordered was a little slow - depending on what you order determines which kitchen the food comes from. I ordered a combination of things from the Japanese restaurant as well as the standard local/Arabic room service menu, and so it took a little longer than i expected. In the meantime, I kept my hunger at bay with the fruits (apples, bananas, plums etc) in the room - a nice touch, I thought.

The outdoor pool is rather small, but adequate to do a few lengths. They also have an outdoor hot tub as well as steam/sauna rooms. The gym is well kitted out and seems rarely busy.

All in all, if you want a comfortable room with decent amenities, this is the place. I think it's a better overall proposition compared to some of Riyadh's other 4/5 star hotels.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Neil G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2009

The Radisson SAS Riyadh hotel is one of my favorite hotels, the room I stayed in was a standard room which was very spacious, with good choice of TV channels (discovery is my favorite), comfortable bed, excellent bathroom design and amenities. The room also has free internet service.
The hotel has three restaurants, the main one, an Italian, and a Japanese restaurant. Both the Italian and Japanese restaurants offer a nice variety of cousins. The food quality is amazing.
The hotel has an amazing fitness club with helpful and friendly staff. the fitness center has everything you need to have a great work out. It also has an outdoor swimming pool and jaquzi.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Travellution
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2008

The Radisson SAS in Riyadh might not meet the standard found at other Radisson SAS hotels over the world, but in comparison with other hotels in Riyadh and in the same price range, this one is quite OK.

The Standard Room has a modern touch with a newly renovated bathroom, flat screen TV (although 4:3 size) and a comfy bed. Free internet access is included, but don't expect any high speeds or availability.

The room cleanliness is overall good when arriving, but the daily room cleaning is poor and only the bathroom is cleaned and bed is made. Even though if the litter bins are full.

The room service is quick and on-time, but the in-room breakfast is very bad and expensive with slices of watermelon tasting like onions, hot chocolate without chocolate, missing plates on the tray etc.

There are three restaurants inside the hotel, but I only tried the Italian one which was OK. Avoid the very greasy pizzas though.

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Jonah O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2008

Chose Radisson due to location near client's offices. Well-maintained and spacious rooms though with a bit of a '70s decor. Staff uniformly friendly and service generally good though with an occassional slip -- e.g. one day I came back after midnight to discover that my room had not been serviced, but a phone call produced a quick response. Hotel restaurants were unremarkable (though I didn't have time to try the Lebanese place). Would not object to staying here again.

  • Stayed: March 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank DFHoppin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2008

The Radisson SAS is a very good quality business hotel located in a district surrounded by military headquarters with nothing to see or anywhere of interest to walk to (not even a shopping mall!). The staff though were incredibly helpful and as venue for general appointments it was perfectly adequate and probably better than the Al-Failsaliah which has a much busier lobby (and where you'd probably have problems having meetings with women). The hotel itself though isn’t a patch on the Al-Failsaliah, but just as expensive. Do bring ear plugs for a decent night’s sleep – the call to prays in this area is louder than anywhere else I’ve stayed and woke me up at 4.00 during my first night!

  • Stayed: March 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank espressoHE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Riyadh hotels
1.1 mi away
Riyadh Marriott Hotel
Riyadh Marriott Hotel
#15 of 224 in Riyadh
313 reviews
5.6 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, Riyadh
2.8 mi away
Narcissus Hotel & Residence, Riyadh
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Riyadh Olaya
1.7 mi away
InterContinental Riyadh
InterContinental Riyadh
#20 of 224 in Riyadh
351 reviews
10.0 mi away
Burj Rafal Hotel Kempinski
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radisson Blu Hotel, Riyadh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Hotel, Riyadh

Address: Al Mubarakiah Plaza, King Abdulaziz St, Riyadh 11415, Saudi Arabia
Phone Number:
Location: Saudi Arabia > Riyadh Province > Riyadh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Riyadh
#13 Luxury Hotel in Riyadh
#15 Best Value Hotel in Riyadh
Price Range: $97 - $174 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Radisson Blu Hotel, Riyadh 5*
Number of rooms: 294
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Explore the city from centrally located Riyadh hotel. Featuring iconic Arabian architecture, lavish Scandinavian interior and beautifully landscaped grounds, the Radisson Blu Hotel, Riyadh, is ideally located 40 kilometres from the King Khalid International Airport. This Riyadh hotel also affords easy access to the cultural and shopping area of the city, such as the Masmak fortress and famous Kingdom Centre. Guests at this luxurious hotel may relax and unwind with five-star amenities including concierge service, 24-hour room service, health club with sauna, Jacuzzi and massage facilities, and on-site fine dining restaurants Shogun and Olivio's.- The hotel is situated 40 kilometres from King Khalid International Airport. - The hotel offers 234 elegant rooms and suites, all equipped with Free high-speed, wireless Internet access, mini bar and hair dryer. - The hotel offers a variety of dining options including Japanese cuisine at Shogun, fusion delicacies at Brasserie on Four, Italian cuisine at Olivio's and hot coffee and select snacks at Café Vienna. - Off-site hotel catering services offered for up to 1,000 guests. - On-site fitness centre is equipped with outdoor swimming pool, sauna, steam room, whirlpool and massage facilities. - For the convenience of this Riyadh hotel's guests, a barber shop is located on site. - This Riyadh hotel also features an on-site gift store. - This luxurious Riyadh hotel offers 12 meeting rooms, available in various floor plans that can accommodate a maximum of 600 guests. - Free valet parking is available for guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Rezidor, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Radisson Blu Hotel, Riyadh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Blu Hotel, Riyadh Hotel Riyadh
Radisson Riyadh
Riyadh Radisson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing