We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mixed bag - give the airport pick up a miss”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Radisson Blu Hotel, Riyadh
Ranked #14 of 218 Hotels in Riyadh
Rustington, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Mixed bag - give the airport pick up a miss”
Reviewed April 21, 2013

My pre-booked hotel airport pick up at 5am didnt arrive, the hotel didn't deal with this very well and I ended up getting a taxi myself. If you're in this situation there is a firm in Riyadh called 'The London Taxi Company' right outside who offer an excellent fixed price service, ignore the touts in the arrivals hall.

I later discovered that several of my colleagues had also confirmed airport pick up on their arrival and also didn;t get it. This is a pretty terrible record and I wouldn't rely on them for this service as they do not seem able to deliver it.

The hotel itself is a large, plush, and pretty nice property with the facilities you would expect from a Radisson. My room was large and clean, and nice to come back to at the end of the day, where it was always properly cleaned. The mini bar prices arent too bad either and there are a few English channels to watch on the tv. The air con was a bit noisy and never seemed to hit a consistent temperature.

There is a coffee shop and three restaurants, an Italian, Japanese and a buffet, which is good if you are staying for a few days and working from dusk til dawn, as there isn't much nearby. Like most chain hotels I have stayed at around the world, the food quality is hit and miss. Prices are on the high side, you wont see much change from 300 riyals per person after drinks and sundries have been added on.

The restaurant staff were all very nice and they're pleasant places to spend the evening out of your room.

The front desk unfortunately isn't as welcoming, depending on who you are talking to some people are nice, but the overall impression isn't exactly that nothing is too much trouble. It is here you book the hotel limos, which actually aren't badly priced for a hotel limo service, at a little over double a local cab rate.

Bear in mind however that the driver may well have no idea where he is going, I spent an hour in the back of a car while my driver drove round and round the same one way system, racking up increasingly expensive roaming bills on my cell phone which he said he needed to try to get directions from the people I was meeting; who must have been giving up hope of ever seeing me. He didn't offer to use his own local phone and again, there was no recognition from the hotel of the inconvenience.

My last observation is the location. Riyadh doesnt really have a centre of town as such and there is no night life, but what might eventually be called a downtown is developing around the Kingdom Tower area. The Radisson's location is rather peripheral to all this and there is nothing much nearby, so expect a cab ride through Riyadh's congested streets to get to the 'action' (such as it is).

I understand that Riyadh hotels aren't exactly world famous for excellence or value for money, so I guess the Radisson isn't too bad. Next time (if there is a next time) however, I would probably try and find somewhere a bit more central. For this trip it fit my needs well, as I was working for 13 hours a day so the fact there were 3 restaurants right there and the hotel was nice to hang out in for the few hours downtime I got was very welcome.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bubbasmum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

427 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    181
    171
    49
    16
    10
See reviews for
19
10
20
353
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Stockholm, Sweden
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed April 20, 2013

This Radisson is somewhat different from the other Radisson I have stayed at, it is not up to the standard they usually are. Five star it says, to me a low four would be more adequate. You don't feel very welcomed, it needs refurbishment and it lacks a cozy comfortable lounge. I had a huge room but the feeling was that no one really cared when decorating the room, it felt like a whole lot was missing and empty.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PeterGustafssonDubai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riyadh, Saudi Arabia
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed April 20, 2013 via mobile

I was really impressed with their spacious rooms with beautiful designs. Spacious corridors and classy restaurants. Perfect italian restaurant with great food and ambiance. Loved their terrace adjacent to this restaurant. Good variety of breakfast items too. Business or leisure they spacious gym and neat pool. A must stay while in Riyadh. Free wifi with good speed.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hasnraz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Pacific
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed April 17, 2013

The rooms are remarkably large and clean. The decoration is nice and wi good taste. The Italian restaurant is not very good, the pizza was soggy and the risotto was done with normal rice. The gym is reserved for men and they have a disappointed facility for women, in a room without windows, with a bike, treadmill and some weights. It's disappointing, but it's cultural I assume.
The price is high, but it's safe, central and offers 3 restaurants, so we don't need to venture out to a restaurant... Which is great for women.

Room Tip: The junior suite is gorgeous
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Filomena G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2013

I requested limo service from the hotel to be picked up at the airport. I was greeted by a friendly driver and a very nice and clean Mercedes. Upon arrival to the hotel, the staff was very friendly and covered all of my needs. The room was exceptionally large, clean and very comfortable. The hotel had a wonderful Japanese restaurant. The other two...left a little to be desired. I was disappointed that the gym was for male use only. They did not advertise that on the website. When I requested the limo service back to the airport, it was as if their good service was done because they put me in a beat up and rusty clunker of a car. Not the best way to leave an impression.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelGirl2126
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Italy
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 21, 2013

I was mostly dissapointed by the Aircon, it was very harsh with no respite from it drying me out. I soaked towels and left them in the room over night, although this helped, it was only for several hours(having the AC off, meant the heat was 26deg in 4hrs) Mostly I got four hours sleep each night.
I spent the whole time feeling poorly.
Breakfast was good, room was clean and tidy.

(history, used to AC, lived in HK for 3 years, outside on this trip was only 27-30deg in the day)
I cant see me staying here again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nelson F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2013 via mobile

This is a big hotel in the governmental part of Riyhad. I got upgraded, so my room was really spacious and comfortable. Free WiFi is advantage (good speed). Very friendly and helpful personnel. Very good food that you can eat in three different restaurants. Very good general impression is spoiled a little bit by the fact that you can see that room is not really the newest and there are some small details that need repair, like electrical sockets. Summarizing - I definitely would not go there with my family but for business trip it is ideal.

Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Bartlomiej S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Riyadh hotels
1.1 mi away
Riyadh Marriott Hotel
Riyadh Marriott Hotel
#12 of 218 in Riyadh
304 reviews
5.6 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, Riyadh
3.1 mi away
Rosh Rayhaan by Rotana
Rosh Rayhaan by Rotana
#2 of 218 in Riyadh
167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Riyadh Olaya
10.0 mi away
Burj Rafal Hotel Kempinski
4.0 mi away
Four Seasons Hotel Riyadh at Kingdom Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radisson Blu Hotel, Riyadh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Hotel, Riyadh

Property: Radisson Blu Hotel, Riyadh
Address: Al Mubarakiah Plaza, King Abdulaziz St, Riyadh 11415, Saudi Arabia
Phone Number:
Location: Saudi Arabia > Riyadh Province > Riyadh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Riyadh
#10 Best Value Hotel in Riyadh
#13 Luxury Hotel in Riyadh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Radisson Blu Hotel, Riyadh 5*
Number of rooms: 294
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Explore the city from centrally located Riyadh hotel. Featuring iconic Arabian architecture, lavish Scandinavian interior and beautifully landscaped grounds, the Radisson Blu Hotel, Riyadh, is ideally located 40 kilometres from the King Khalid International Airport. This Riyadh hotel also affords easy access to the cultural and shopping area of the city, such as the Masmak fortress and famous Kingdom Centre. Guests at this luxurious hotel may relax and unwind with five-star amenities including concierge service, 24-hour room service, health club with sauna, Jacuzzi and massage facilities, and on-site fine dining restaurants Shogun and Olivio's.- The hotel is situated 40 kilometres from King Khalid International Airport. - The hotel offers 234 elegant rooms and suites, all equipped with Free high-speed, wireless Internet access, mini bar and hair dryer. - The hotel offers a variety of dining options including Japanese cuisine at Shogun, fusion delicacies at Brasserie on Four, Italian cuisine at Olivio's and hot coffee and select snacks at Café Vienna. - Off-site hotel catering services offered for up to 1,000 guests. - On-site fitness centre is equipped with outdoor swimming pool, sauna, steam room, whirlpool and massage facilities. - For the convenience of this Riyadh hotel's guests, a barber shop is located on site. - This Riyadh hotel also features an on-site gift store. - This luxurious Riyadh hotel offers 12 meeting rooms, available in various floor plans that can accommodate a maximum of 600 guests. - Free valet parking is available for guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Rezidor, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Radisson Blu Hotel, Riyadh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Blu Hotel, Riyadh Hotel Riyadh
Radisson Riyadh
Riyadh Radisson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing