We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Up to standard” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Riyadh Marriott Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Riyadh Marriott Hotel
Ranked #12 of 207 Hotels in Riyadh
Abu Dhabi
Level Contributor
224 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 154 helpful votes
“Up to standard”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 13, 2014

I visited Riyadh on business and was booked into the Marriott for my overnight stay.

This is a business hotel and everything was up to standard - courteous and competant staff, a fair size room, comfortable bed etc. The Executive Lounge on the 7th floor is pleasant and a nice benefit although it is a little tricky to find first time as the signage is not great.

Wifi connection was good throughout the hotel but is only free in the Executive Lounge. For access elsewhere it is 80 ryals per 24 hours which I regard as somewhat expensive.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Phil W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JebbBC, Manager at Riyadh Marriott Hotel, responded to this review, March 15, 2014
Dear Philip_Ward:

Thank you for sharing your comments with us on Tripadvisor. We are pleased to read that you were satisfied with your experience with us and we would also like to take the opportunity to share our corrective actions for some of the issues which you have been kind enough to share with us.
We apologize for the lack of signage to direct people to the Executive Lounge. As you correctly pointed out, it is not yet sufficient to direct people to the lounge easily. As this is a newly constructed Executive Lounge, the new signage has been ordered, but not yet received and will be installed as soon as it arrives.
With regard to the free WiFi, it is also available in the Lobby, however, must be accessed through a code available from one of our servers. We are now in the process of re-training our staff to mention this during the guest interaction and have also just ordered new cards for the codes to be written on so that they may be easily handed to the guest upon request.

Thank you once again for sharing your comments with us and for your loyalty and patronage to our brand. We appreciate your comments and value your opinion of our products and services highly as a top contributor on Tripadvisor.

Regards, Jebb C.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

277 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    96
    106
    53
    13
    9
See reviews for
7
7
18
229
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nashua, New Hampshire, United States
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2014

Very much a western hotel not far from most everything in Riyadh.
Staff was most helpful and friendly and made things like hiring a car extremely easy.
The rooms are spacious and clean. The executive lounge is well worth the upgrade. Breakfast is great as is late snack/dinner. room enough for a meeting.
Restaurants are good but nothing to write home about and very western

Room Tip: South side is good, no noise from AF base.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dadsmgb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JebbBC, Director of Food & Beverage at Riyadh Marriott Hotel, responded to this review, March 12, 2014
Dear Dadsmgb:

Thank you for sharing your comments with us on Tripadvisor. We are delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and will share your comments with our associates. We appreciate your feedback and your loyalty to our brand. We hope that we may be of service to you again in the future and please do contact us if we may be of any assistance with your lodging needs.

Regards, Ed M.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2014

I was staying at the Intercontinental in Riyadh and decided to switch over to the Marriott and was I glad I did. The cost was $90US cheaper a night and the service was way better. The newly renovated rooms and Executive Lounge are far better at the Marriott and now the "dated" rooms are at the Intercontinental.

The gym/spa was excellent and provided everything I needed to get a workout in. My rate included breakfast at the Mosaic restaurant which had whatever you wanted including omelettes and freshly squeezed OJ (very cool machine).

Just around the corner was a street with tons of shops and I just had the hotel empty my fridge to make room for some of the stuff I purchased much cheaper. You can find restaurants along that street as well which is a much better alternative than the expense of the hotel. There were also always taxi's out front of the Marriott to take you wherever you needed to go, you could even say you were walking if it was close and they would "haggle" with you to give you a deal. Be aware of the prayer times if you are going out shopping as things will close during those times.

If you have status this hotel is a no-brainer. Free WiFi, room upgrades, Executive Lounge access, which may I say has the best "appetizers" I've see at a hotel thus far, I mean sliced roast as an "appetizer" was an awesome surprise, and more provide the perfect companions to an already pleasant experience. If you don't have status see if you can find a room rate which includes breakfast and WiFi at least.

If you have stayed at this hotel during or prior to the renovation give it another chance, if you are never stayed here before I suggest giving it a try. The fresh look and amazing service will be well worth it.

Room Tip: If you have status with Marriott (don't forget about United Airline status being linked to Marri...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mxzlot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JebbBC, Manager at Riyadh Marriott Hotel, responded to this review, March 1, 2014
Dear mxzlot:

Thank you for sharing your comments with us on Tripadvisor. We are delighted to read that you decided to give us another opportunity and very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us. We will share your feedback with our associates. We would like to thank you for your loyalty to our brand and look forward to being of service to you again in the future for all your lodging requirements in Riyadh.

Regards, Ed M.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Egypt
Level Contributor
185 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 171 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2014

I have stayed there last week for 1 night, one of the main reasons is that our company had a good rate there as the prices of Riyadh hotels are really crazy, they have made a lot of renovation, so the rooms are really better with a good space, as i said it is good for business stay .... Nothing more

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Islam F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JebbBC, Manager at Riyadh Marriott Hotel, responded to this review, March 1, 2014
Dear Islam_Fathy74:

Thank you for sharing your comments with us on Tripadvisor. We are pleased to read that our services and products met your expectations and will share your feedback with our associates. We hope that we may continue to be your choice for your lodging requirements in Riyadh and look forward to being of service to you again upon your next visit.

Regards, Ed M.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Al Khobar, Saudi Arabia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2014

AFter the renovation the hotel rooms are great. The bed and pillow standards are very good. The breakfats is standard and decent. The rooms lacks certain amenitties like hotel slippers, which would have been convenient considring that the floors are tiled

Room Tip: There are shops or restaurants at close vicinity, so plan accordingly
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sujit G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JebbBC, Manager at Riyadh Marriott Hotel, responded to this review, February 28, 2014
Dear Sujit G:

Thank you for sharing your comments with us on Tripadvisor! We are delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and will share your comments with our associates and managers. We hope that we may be of service to you again in the future should your travel plans bring you back to Riyadh.

Cheers, Ed M.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
44 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2014

The hotel does not offer free wifi unless you know to ask for a free voucher at the coffee shop downstairs. They do not tell you this when you book in. The WiFi is slow and variable in the hotel and expensive in the rooms.

Take note that they try to charge you for a full breakfast at SAR 145 - a continental is SAR 95. On more than one occasion, they tried to bring me the bill before serving the coffee I ordered!

I ordered a car to the airport the night before I left and they denied receiving the booking in the morning. Then they said that the had no cars available at the time I wanted and checking out took twenty minutes.

The hotel needs upgrading with fast free WiFi, better food and service to bring in up to an acceptable business standard.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ALD2355
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JebbBC, Manager at Riyadh Marriott Hotel, responded to this review, February 25, 2014
Dear ALD2355:

Thank you for sharing your comments with us on Tripadvisor. We are disappointed to read that we did not meet your expectations during your last stay, but we thank you for taking the time and effort to let us know where we may improve. We will share your feedback with our team and take corrective actions where necessary. We hope that you will allow us an opportunity to demonstrate our commitment to quality improvement should your travel plans bring you back to Riyadh in the future.

Regards Ed M.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Porto, Portugal
Level Contributor
90 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2014

Very good hotel, very well located. But, for a Marriott in Riyadh, I was expecting more - better breakfast, free wi-fi, faster wi-fi, bigger room, bigger toilet.
Nevertheless, I repeat, very good hotel, with nice service, clean, enjoyable. But, that little bit of charmis missing...

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eng_Pepi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JebbBC, Manager at Riyadh Marriott Hotel, responded to this review, February 24, 2014
Dear Eng_Pepi:

Thank you so much for sharing your feedback with us on Tripadvisor. We appreciate your time and effort taken to provide us with your comments and will use your comments to improve our services.
With regard to the WiFi, we apologize for not pointing out upon your check-in that the WiFi in the lobby is free for guests and will re-train our associates to mention this in the future. With regard to the breakfast buffet, we would gladly welcome any suggestions for items which you might desire on the buffet. We hope that we may have the opportunity to speak with you should you be returning to Riyadh and would be interested in any suggestions for improvements you would be willing to share with us. Thank you again for sharing your comments with us

Regards, Ed M.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Riyadh hotels
5.4 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, Riyadh
2.0 mi away
Narcissus Hotel & Residence, Riyadh
1.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Riyadh Olaya
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Riyadh
6.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Riyadh - Al Muroj Business Gate
3.0 mi away
Four Seasons Hotel Riyadh at Kingdom Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riyadh Marriott Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riyadh Marriott Hotel

Property: Riyadh Marriott Hotel
Address: King Saud Road | Al Wazarat District, Riyadh 11464, Saudi Arabia
Phone Number:
Location: Saudi Arabia > Riyadh Province > Riyadh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Riyadh
#11 Luxury Hotel in Riyadh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Riyadh Marriott Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 418
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riyadh Marriott Hotel stands majestically in the center of Riyadh City's corporate, financial and governmental agencies. This luxurious Marriott hotel in Riyadh is just minutes-drive from major shopping malls and downtown districts with easy access to King Khalid International Airport. The hotel offers excellent services in our Makarim Convention Center, Atrium Cafe, Mosaic Mediterranean Restaurant and Terrace Grill Restaurant. After business meetings and Riyadh attractions, relax in our indoor swimming pool and spa at Bodyline Health Club & Spa. You may just want the serenity and comfort in any of the 391 business-friendly rooms and suites with new beds from Marriott, down comforters, designer duvets and fluffier pillows. This multi-awarded, convenient hotel is perfect for business, conferences, events, weekend getaways, family travel and wedding. It has also 20 flexible meeting rooms, state-of-the-art space that includes Grand Ballroom and breakout rooms. Come and experience our unique Arabian hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Marriott and IHG so you can book your Riyadh Marriott Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Riyadh Hotel Riyadh
Riyadh Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing