We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Another excellent example of how to deliver outstanding service” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Al Khozama

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Al Khozama
Ranked #38 of 207 Hotels in Riyadh
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Another excellent example of how to deliver outstanding service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2014

This was my second stay at the Al Khozama. As before, the level of service is outstanding. I lost my luggage and the hotel arranged for a member of their staff to go to the airport at 4am the following day to collect by suitcase. They popped a note under my door to say that the bag had been collected and when I came down for breakfast, the excellent door staff took my key and put my case into my room. To me, as a solo business traveler, this level of care cannot be beaten. The Al Khozama really has old world charm and I would heartily recommend a visit. Ok, it's not the most plush or modern but it is conveniently located in Olaya, right next to Al Faisaliyah Mall. I have stayed in many hotels whilst on business and I always feel at home when visiting the Al Khozama. Keep up the good work!

Room Tip: If a non smoker, make sure you get a non smoking room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank moochYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

218 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    38
    98
    54
    18
    10
See reviews for
8
4
18
188
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Galax, Virginia
Level Contributor
118 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2014

A lovely old hotel with great service and staff but it should be due for a remodel/upgrade/renovation.

Very convenient location for shopping and dining with a lovely lobby coffee service -- if you can stand all the smoke.

The garden buffet is lovely and worth a visit.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WendyNairobi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2014

Have stayed in the hotel twice now over the last 2 years and nothing has changed. I believe the hotel was built in the 80's and it hasn't changed since. The rooms are old and dated but functional and clean.

The telephone in the bathroom as previously mentioned is quite comical. On the plus side there was always hot water and the shower was good.

Down side to the rooms are that you cannot open the windows and considering most of the rooms are smoking room this would have been appreciated as on some floors you can smell cigarette smoke as soon as you get out of the lift.

The breakfast is of a reasonable standard the the outdoor BBQ is great of an evening.

Service is reasonable too though as i wanted a kettle and coffee in my room and within a couple of hours this had been provided.

I have little experience of hotels in Riyadh but all in all this is an ok little hotel just that its a throwback to the 80's

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DynamicAV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riyadh, Saudi Arabia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2014

We have been staying at the service apartment of Al-Khozama, Riyadh for 2-months (Jan to Mar) and would like to mention that the hotel service staff are very friendly, polite and helpful. The service staff carry out their work from their hearts. :)

Annie and Andrew

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2014

I have grown unexpectedly fond of the Rosewood Al-Khozama. Pug ugly - a prefabricated metal box - it nonetheless boasts one of the nicest locations in downtown Riyadh, with a cute outdoor pool terrace, beautiful shady garden and barbecue, and easy walking access to malls and cafes. The rooms are undeniably small, and would not look out of place in "The Spy Who Loved Me" or "Live and Let Die". Bathroom telephones are hilarious. Huge, antique contraptions with rotary dials. In spite of this, everything works. You are provided with all that you need - high speed internet, flowers and fruit, cold bottled water, a fridge filled with drinks and snacks, nice bathroom products, good towels and excellent bedding. Best of all are the staff, who have Rosewood training and - in my experience - go the extra mile to offer courteous and professional service. Food here is delicious, with the executive chefs of the neighbouring and plush Rosewood Faisaliah overseeing the menus and service. Breakfast bakery and patisserie are especially nice. The lobby is a little dark, but comfortable. Weekend rates are usually good value, and weekday rates can vary sharply, depending on what's happening in the city. If you want your hotel to be Angelina Jolie or Jennifer Lawrence, better look to the Four Seasons or the Rosewood Faisaliah. If you want your hotel to be Cleopatra or Marie Antoinette, try the Ritz-Carlton. If you appreciate Dame Maggie Smith in "Downton Abbey" or Dame Judi Dench as M, then you might just appreciate the qualities of the Al Khozama. It is a bit of a legend in Riyadh - mainly for the garden grill and weekend brunch - and they probably feel that closing or refurbishing would somehow deprive regular visitors of the cosiness, warmth and character. I'm not saying it is the best hotel in the world. Not at all. However, some of the reviewers here have been downright brutal, which is absolutely their prerogative; but in my experience Riyadh can be a rather stern, traffic-filled, demanding capital city to navigate, and the Khozama usually makes it all much slower and more pleasant in its wise and quirky way.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank EngliShisha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riyadh, Saudi Arabia
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2014

Garden restaurant in Al-Khozama is one of the best and my favourites restaurant in Riyadh. If you like grill items , it is THE place in Riyadh. The best part is you can have dinner in a beautiful and peaceful ambience with your friends or families. Service is excellent and staff/crew serving you are polite and upto a good standard.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank stauqueer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
montreal
Level Contributor
41 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2014

First contact, the hotel is located in the center of Riyadh, close to the Al Faisaliah tower and mall. From the lobby you can tell that the hotel has been somewhat left to slowly age. Dark lobby, rooms are small, furniture is functional at best. bathrooms are in need of a major face-lift. It is pretty cold at night in Riyadh in February, the rooms are not heated. Yes, there are some electric heaters that you can request, but you have to know about this. When the concierge knows it is below 10C outside, why not offer it automatically to your clients. Why also hold an outdoor buffet in such weather...
The staff is courteous, the wifi really works, breakfast is of good quality. Not a bad choice, but again, you expect more from a 4 star particularly in the middle-east.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank voyageurbear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Riyadh hotels
1.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Riyadh Olaya
1.3 mi away
Executives Olaya Hotel
Executives Olaya Hotel
#20 of 207 in Riyadh
3.5 of 5 bubbles 121 reviews
1.2 mi away
Novotel Al Anoud
Novotel Al Anoud
#23 of 207 in Riyadh
3.5 of 5 bubbles 236 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Ibis Riyadh Olaya Street
Ibis Riyadh Olaya Street
#17 of 207 in Riyadh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 266 reviews
0.6 mi away
Novotel Suites Riyadh Dyar
Novotel Suites Riyadh Dyar
#37 of 207 in Riyadh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 22 reviews
0.0 mi away
Carawan Al Fahad Hotel
Carawan Al Fahad Hotel
#29 of 207 in Riyadh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 32 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Al Khozama? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Al Khozama

Property: Hotel Al Khozama
Address: Al Olaya St, Riyadh 11491, Saudi Arabia
Phone Number:
Location: Saudi Arabia > Riyadh Province > Riyadh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#32 Luxury Hotel in Riyadh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Al Khozama 4*
Number of rooms: 187
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoying an idyllic location in the heart of Saudi Arabia's vibrant capital city, Hotel Al Khozama is imbued with a philosophy that places utmost importance on providing exceptional service in an atmosphere of comfort and deeply rooted heritage. Charmingly relaxed, Hotel Al Khozama combines the gravitas of tradition with the convenience of modernity. Suffused with warmth, Hotel Al Khozama is the preferred choice for business travellers. This acclaimed property offers a variety of culinary venues, thoughtful facilities, in-house comforts and a pioneering service spirit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Al Khozama reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Al Khozama a Rosewood

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing