We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“OK hotel, really not value for money” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Al Khozama

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Al Khozama
Ranked #38 of 207 Hotels in Riyadh
Pune, India
Level Contributor
106 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“OK hotel, really not value for money”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2012

The hotel feels very dated from the moment you enter. Service is good. check in and out were efficient and the breakfast spread is good. The staff are very efficient. However the rooms are small. The exhaust systems in the bathrooms are not good at all. the bathroom was not clean when we checked in. Location is good but a lot of traffic around the hotel so plan for your visits accordingly. Not worth the 450 riyal we paid per night for the rooms

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SiddharthVasudevan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ErikHuyer, General Manager at Hotel Al Khozama, responded to this review, January 1, 2013
Dear Mr. Vasudevan :

First and foremost, we thank you for choosing Hotel Al Khozama for your recent stay in Riyadh and also for taking the time to write and let us know your concerns.
We fully understand your position in light of your comments and also recognize the positives as well as the shortcomings.

We are pleased to hear that you were satisfied with our services, the efficiency of the staff as well as the breakfast spread etc., and your constructive comments encourages us further in our efforts to upgrade our product, to satisfy the needs of our valued guests.

Regarding your comment on the room facility, we hope for your understanding on the fact that Al Khozama being a 35 year old hotel which was constructed to suit the needs of that era, the rooms are smaller in size compared to the modern hotel rooms. We have been carrying out renovations, from time to time, to upgrade the status of the rooms , although we have not been able to expand the rooms to meet the modern standards due to the prefabricated structure of the building, thus the size of the rooms remained unchanged.

As regards the cleanliness of the bathroom at the time of your arrival, it must have been due to a lapse on the part of the Housekeeping Department and whilst apologizing for any discomfort or inconvenience that it may have caused you, we assure you that there will be no repetition of such shortcomings in the future.

We definitely agree that the hotel is ideally located although the traffic on the road in front is something that is beyond our control. We will be happy to accommodate you in a room on the land side of the hotel, which are away from the hustle and bustle of the main road during your future stays, however depending on the availability.

Whereas, the room rate is concerned we would like to advise you that our hotel room rates are based on the Ministry ranking of the hotels in the area, as per the facilities available.

Whilst assuring your of our best attention at all times, we hope for your understanding and look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back to the Hotel Al Khozama soon again and remain.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

218 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    38
    98
    54
    18
    10
See reviews for
8
4
18
188
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2012 via mobile

Lets face it, it's a $100 a night motel. Yes the staff may be very friendly, but the rooms are dated, very eighties, not especially clean and the Muzak that runs through the place sets the tone. If you are expecting great rosewood things, you may be disappointed...

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bizzy_TravellerUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ErikHuyer, General Manager at Hotel Al Khozama, responded to this review, December 8, 2012
Dear Loyal Guest,

We thank you for choosing Hotel Al Khozama for your recent stay in Riyadh and also for your constructive comments posted on the TripAdvisor web site, as it is due to honest feed back from our valued guests that we learn where we stand and what our guests expect.

Yes, Al Khozama being a 34 year old hotel, your comment that the rooms are old is justified. However, we have been carrying out periodical refurbishments to maintain the all hotel facilities including rooms at an optimum standard to surpass the expectations of our valued guests, though, the rooms are not on the same level that of a modern hotel. Where the cleanliness is concerned, we maintain a very high level of cleaning procedures. Most probably, the room which you occupied is concerned, there must have been a shortcoming on the part of the Room Attendant who cleaned the room. Had you brought the issue regarding the cleanliness, to our notice during your stay, we would have certainly rectified it immediately. However, we hereby extend our sincere apologies for any discomfort or inconvenience that it may have caused you and assure you that there will be no repetition of such shortcomings in the future.

Having noted your opinion on the music played in the hotel and depending on your own preferences in music, it is possible to take steps to replace the frequently played music tapes with some new ones to suit your tastes, for your listening pleasure. We would also like you to know, that the current installed features in the in-room radio/music system, allows you to select between piped in music or local available radio channels, for variety.

While thanking you once again for taking the time to comment about your concerns, we look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back to the Hotel Al Khozama soon and assuring you of our best attention at all times, we remain.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riyadh
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 23, 2012

While the hotel was opened some 30 years ago and the rooms therefore are somewhat dated, they are functional and the quality of the beds is very good. This description applies to all aspects of the hotel, a number of which are actually excellent, i.e. the service, choice of restaurants, food quality and location. Also, because the Al Khozama is much smaller than the more recently opened hotels and has a garden, the atmosphere is very pleasant. Last but not least, I always feel most welcome during my stays, with no request being too much, while the welcome I receive at the beginning of the each visit is invariably absolutely heartwarming.

Room Tip: My own preference is to have a room on the garden side of the hotel as I like the view better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Frank923
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ErikHuyer, Manager at Hotel Al Khozama, responded to this review, November 30, 2012
Dear Loyal Guest,

Thank you for sharing your feedback with us and thank you for staying with us always.

Certainly Al Khozama is home away from home, we are glad to welcoming you again and again, while we look forward to seeing you soon in your second home.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riyadh
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 23, 2012

Had a wonderful Friday brunch with the whole family in the Windrose restaurant. Excellent food, great and very friendly service, and a great set-up for the kids in the garden. Excellent value for money, highly recommended.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Riyadh_NL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 15, 2012

This is how a hotel used to be run! Plenty of attentive staff who work for pride rather than tips; you really feel as though they cannot do enough for you. I would recomend this hotel to anyone needing accommodation in the centre of Riyadh.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 09RGM16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeddah, Saudi Arabia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2012

al khozama ,, is not the hotel where i stay when i have business on Saudi Arabia.
is where my second house is .. ppl there just ready and wanted to help u
i have no other place to stay on ryiadh :)
great hotel ,, great staff ,, fantastic food,, ahmad the manager give a great example and other reason to be back
i would back more and more

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank aldosari_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeddah, Saudi Arabia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2012

Every time I go for a business trip to Riyadh, I always stay in this hotel. A home of convenience for me being away from home. The staffs are very accommodating and courteous. The quality of professional service they render to their guests are really worth. The place is accessible to my meeting destinations and the restaurants are good place to set for a dinner meeting with business partners. It's nice to be here.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Anwar M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Riyadh hotels
1.3 mi away
Executives Olaya Hotel
Executives Olaya Hotel
#20 of 207 in Riyadh
3.5 of 5 bubbles 122 reviews
1.2 mi away
Novotel Al Anoud
Novotel Al Anoud
#23 of 207 in Riyadh
3.5 of 5 bubbles 237 reviews
0.8 mi away
Al Waha Palace Hotel
Al Waha Palace Hotel
#9 of 207 in Riyadh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 365 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Courtyard Riyadh Olaya
Courtyard Riyadh Olaya
#29 of 207 in Riyadh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 17 reviews
0.6 mi away
Rosh Rayhaan by Rotana
Rosh Rayhaan by Rotana
#6 of 207 in Riyadh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 79 reviews
0.7 mi away
Copthorne Riyadh
Copthorne Riyadh
#45 of 207 in Riyadh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 19 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Al Khozama? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Al Khozama

Property: Hotel Al Khozama
Address: Al Olaya St, Riyadh 11491, Saudi Arabia
Phone Number:
Location: Saudi Arabia > Riyadh Province > Riyadh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#32 Luxury Hotel in Riyadh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Al Khozama 4*
Number of rooms: 187
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoying an idyllic location in the heart of Saudi Arabia's vibrant capital city, Hotel Al Khozama is imbued with a philosophy that places utmost importance on providing exceptional service in an atmosphere of comfort and deeply rooted heritage. Charmingly relaxed, Hotel Al Khozama combines the gravitas of tradition with the convenience of modernity. Suffused with warmth, Hotel Al Khozama is the preferred choice for business travellers. This acclaimed property offers a variety of culinary venues, thoughtful facilities, in-house comforts and a pioneering service spirit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your Hotel Al Khozama reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Al Khozama a Rosewood

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing